STATE OF MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

At a session of the Public Service Commission held at its office in Jefferson City on the 20th day of November, 2008.

In the Matter of the Empire District Electric)	
Company of Joplin, Missouri for Authority)	
to File Tariffs Increasing Rates for Electric)	Case No. ER-2006-0315
Service Provided to Customers in the)	
Missouri Service Area of the Company.)	

ORDER DENYING APPLICATIONS FOR REHEARING

Issue Date: November 20, 2008 Effective Date: November 20, 2008

On December 21, 2006, the Commission issued its Report and Order in this matter. That Report and Order was amended by an Order Supplementing and Clarifying Report and Order issued on January 9, 2007, and an Order Granting Reconsideration of Report and Order (with attached Report and Order Upon Reconsideration) issued on March 26, 2008 (hereinafter referred to as the "March 26, 2008 Order"). The latter order was effective on April 5, 2008.

Timely applications for rehearing of the original Report and Order as well as the March 26, 2008 Order were filed by Praxair, Inc., and Explorer Pipeline, and by the Office of the Public Counsel. Other applications for rehearing and reconsideration have been filed in this matter and have either been disposed of by previous orders or have been made moot by mandates issued by the Missouri Supreme Court. It is the intent of the Commission, however, to address all applications for rehearing so that the parties may have a final decision.

Section 386.500.1, RSMo 2000, provides that the Commission shall grant an application for rehearing if "in its judgment sufficient reason therefor be made to appear." In the judgment of the Commission, there is not sufficient reason to grant any application for rehearing in this matter. All applications for rehearing are denied.

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

- 1. All pending applications for rehearing in this matter are denied.
- 2. This order shall become effective upon issuance.

BY THE COMMISSION

Colleen M. Dale Secretary

(SEAL)

Davis, Chm., Murray, Jarrett, and Gunn, CC., concur. Clayton, C., dissents.

Dippell, Deputy Chief Regulatory Law Judge