## BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

In the Matter of the Application of Summit Natural Gas	)
Of Missouri Inc., for Permission and Approval and a	)
Certificate of Convenience and Necessity to Construct,	) File No. GA-2017-0016
Install, Own, Operate, Maintain, and Otherwise Control	)
And Manage a Natural Gas Distribution System to	)
Provide Gas Service in Various Counties as an	)
Expansion of its Existing Certificated Areas.	•

## ORDER DIRECTING NOTICE AND SETTING INTERVENTION DEADLINE

Issue Date: July 19, 2016 Effective Date: July 19, 2016

On July 15, 2016, Summit Natural Gas of Missouri, Inc. ("Summit" or "Company") filed an application with the Commission requesting approval of a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity ("CCN") to construct, install, own, operate, maintain, and otherwise control and manage a natural gas distribution system. The CCN would be an expansion of the Company's existing certificated area in Barry, Daviess, Laclede, Lawrence, Pettis, Stone, Taney, and Webster Counties, Missouri.

Summit states that natural gas service is currently not offered in any of the areas for which it is seeking a CCN. If the application is granted, the rates for the proposed areas will be the same as those set in Summit's existing tariff. Summit states it will not engage in construction or require any new financing in order to provide natural gas service to most of the requested areas. Summit is therefore requesting a waiver of the feasibility study requirement in 4 CSR 240-3.205(1)(A)(5). Summit also requests a waiver of the notice requirement in 4 CSR 240-4.020(2), stating that it does not anticipate this proceeding will be "contested."

The Commission will direct notice be given and set a deadline for intervention requests. The Commission will also direct its Staff to file a status report on its review of Summit's application.

#### THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

- The Commission's Data Center shall provide a copy of this order to the County Commissions of Barry, Daviess, Laclede, Lawrence, Pettis, Stone, Taney, and Webster Counties, Missouri.
- 2. The Commission's Public Policy and Outreach Department shall make notice of this order available to the media and the representatives in the General Assembly for Barry, Daviess, Laclede, Lawrence, Pettis, Stone, Taney, and Webster Counties, Missouri.
- 3. Any person or entity wishing to intervene shall file an application to intervene no later than August 19, 2016. Such application shall be filed in the Commission's Electronic Filing Information System.
- 4. The Commission's Staff shall file either a status report or a recommendation on Summit's application no later than August 29, 2016.
  - 5. This order shall be effective when issued.

BY THE COMMISSION

Morris L Woodry

STON OF STORY OF STOR

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Kim S. Burton, Senior Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2000.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 19<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2016.

#### STATE OF MISSOURI

#### OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 19<sup>th</sup> day of July 2016.

SION OF THE OF T

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

# MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION July 19, 2016

#### File/Case No. GA-2017-0016

### Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

#### Office of the Public Counsel

James Owen 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@ded.mo.gov

#### **County of Barry, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 700 Main, Suite 2 Barry County Courthouse Cassville, MO 65625

#### **County of Daviess, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 102 N Main Daviess County Courthouse Gallatin, MO 64640

#### **County of Laclede, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 200 N. Adams Ave. Laclede County Government Center Lebanon, MO 65536

#### County of Lawrence, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 1 E Courthouse Sq., Ste. 101 Lawrence Coutny Courthouse Mt. Vernon, MO 65712

#### **County of Pettis, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 415 S. Ohio Pettis County Courthouse Sedalia, MO 65301

#### County of Stone, Missouri

County Commission Clerk PO Box 45 Stone County Courthouse Galena, MO 65656

#### **County of Taney, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 266-A Main Street, Taney County Courthouse Annex PO Box 156 Forsyth, MO 65653

#### **County of Webster, Missouri**

County Commission Clerk 101 S. Crittendon St., Rm. 11 Webster County Courthouse Marshfield, MO 65706

### Summit Natural Gas of Missouri. Inc.

Dean L Cooper 312 East Capitol P.O. Box 456 Jefferson City, MO 65102 dcooper@brydonlaw.com

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Morris L. Woodruff

Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.