## **BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION**

### **OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI**

)

)

3

١

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

ł

)

In the Matter of the Joint Application of GTE Midwest Incorporated and Spectra Communications Group LLC for Authority to Transfer and Acquire Part of GTE Midwest Incorporated's Franchise, Facilities or System Located in the State of Missouri and for Issuance of Certificates of Service Authority to Spectra Communications Group LLC and for Authority for Spectra Communications Group LLC to Borrow an Amount not to Exceed \$250,000,000 from CenturyTel, Inc., and in Connection Therewith to Execute a Telephone Loan Contract, Promissory Notes, and a Mortgage, Security Agreement and Financing Statement.

Case No. TM-2000-182

# **ORDER DIRECTING NOTICE**

On August 24, 1999, GTE Midwest Incorporated (GTE) and Spectra Communications Group, LLC (SCG), filed their joint application seeking authority for GTE to sell a portion of its Missouri network to SCG, certificates of service authority for SCG so that it can operate the purchased network, and authority for SCG to borrow no more than \$250,000,000 to finance the proposed acquisition. If the joint application is approved, GTE will no longer be responsible for providing basic local and interexchange telecommunications services in the affected exchanges and SCG will assume that responsibility. According to the joint application, the exchanges affected are: Amazonia, Annapolis, Arcola, Aurora, Avenue City, Avilla, Belgrade, Belleview, Birch Tree, Bolckow, Boss, Braymer, Bronaugh, Brunswick-Triplett, Bunker, Caledonia, Cameron, Canton, Centerville, Clarence,

Clarksdale, Collins, Concordia, Cosby, Dadeville, Dalton, Easton, Edgar Springs, Eldorado Springs, Ellsinore, Elmer, Eminence, Everton, Ewing, Fillmore, Freemont, Golden City, Gorin, Gower, Greenfield, Grove Spring, Hamilton, Hartville, Helena, Houston, Humansville, Hunnewell, Irondale, Ironton, Jericho Springs, Kahoka, Keytesville, Kidder, Kingston, La Belle, La Plata, Laddonia, Lagrange, Lawson, Lesterville, Lewistown, Licking, Lowry City, Macon, Manes, Maysville, Milo, Monroe City, Montauk, Monticello, Mount Vernon, Mountain Grove, Nebo, Norwood, Oates, Osborn, Osceola, Palmyra, Paris, Perry, Plattsburg, Potosi, Raymondville, Revere, Roby, Rockville, Rosendale, Santa Fe, Sarcoxie, Savannah, Schell City, Shelbina, Shelbyville, Stewartsville, Stoutsville, Timbers, Trimble, Sheldon, Turney, Van Buren, Vanzant, Walker, Wayland, Weaubleau, West Quincy, Whitesville, and Winona.

The Commission finds that proper persons should be allowed 30 days from the issuance of this order to file a motion for leave to intervene or to file comments addressing whether or not the proposed transfer of assets, financing, and grant of service authority are in the public interest. The Commission finds that notice of this application should be sent to the county clerk of each Missouri county containing all or part of any affected exchange, to each newspaper serving the affected counties, as listed in the newspaper directory of the current Official Manual of the State of Missouri, and to the members of the Missouri General Assembly representing persons residing within the affected exchanges. Additionally, a copy of this notice should be sent to every telecommunications carrier certificated to

2

provide basic local or interexchange telecommunications services in the State of Missouri.

The requirement of a hearing is met when an opportunity to be heard has been provided and no proper party has requested the opportunity to present evidence. <u>State ex rel. Rex Deffenderfer</u> <u>Enterprises, Inc. v. Public Service Commission</u>, 776 S.W.2d, 494, 496 (Mo. App. 1989). If there are no requests for a hearing, the requested relief may be granted based on the verified petition.

### **IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED:**

1. That the Records Department of the Commission shall send a copy of this notice to the county clerk of each Missouri county containing all or part of any affected exchange and to every telecommunications carrier certificated to provide basic local or interexchange telecommunications services in the State of Missouri.

2. That the Public Information Officer of the Commission shall give notice of this application to every newspaper serving each county affected by the application, as listed in the newspaper directory of the current Official Manual of the State of Missouri, and to the members of the Missouri General Assembly representing persons residing within the affected exchanges.

3. That any party wishing to intervene, request a hearing, or to file comments in this matter shall file an application, or shall file their written comments, no later than October 4, 1999, with:

> Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary Missouri Public Service Commission Post Office Box 360 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

> > 3

Byron E. Francis, Esq. Armstrong Teasdale One Metropolitan Square St. Louis, MO 63102-2740

Carolyn Little, Esq. Dave Evans, Esq. GTE Midwest Incorporated 601 Monroe Street, Suite 304 Jefferson City, MO 65101

W.R. England, III, Esq. Sondra B. Morgan, Esq. Brydon, Swearengen & England, P.C. 312 East Capitol Avenue P.O. Box 456 Jefferson City, MO 65102

G. Clay Bailey CenturyTel Service Group, LLC 100 Century Park Drive P.O. Box 4065 Monroe, LA 71211-4065

Kenneth Matzdorff Spectra Communications Group, LLC P.O. Box 647 Peculiar, MO 64078

and:

Office of the Public Counsel Post Office Box 7800 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

4. That the intervention dates established in the Notice of Applications issued by the Commission on August 31, 1999, are modified as set out in ordered paragraph 2 of this Order. The intervention date for all purposes in this matter shall be October 4, 1999.

4

1999.

#### BY THE COMMISSION

Adde Hardy Roberts

Dale Hardy Roberts Secretary/Chief Regulatory Law Judge

(SEAL)

Kevin A. Thompson, Deputy Chief Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to 4 CSR 240-2.120(1) (November 30, 1995) and Section 386.240, RSMo 1994.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 2nd day of September, 1999.



COMMISSION COUNSEL PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION