## STATE OF MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

At a session of the Public Service Commission held at its office in Jefferson City on the 23rd day of December, 1997.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

In the Matter of the Application of Comm South Companies, Inc. (formerly known as Onyx Distributing Company, Inc.) d/b/a Missouri Comm South, Inc., for a Certificate of Authority to Resell Basic Exchange and Local Exchange Intrastate Telecommunications Services Within the State of Missouri.

Case No. TA-97-203

 $\cap \times$ 

# **ORDER APPROVING TARIFF**

The Commission granted to Missouri Comm South, Inc. (Mo Comm South) a certificate of service authority to provide basic local and local exchange telecommunications services in Missouri by Report and Order issued on October 8, 1997. The order, which took effect on October 21, directed the company to file tariff sheets reflecting the rates, rules, regulations it will use and the services it will offer, and provided that Mo Comm South's certificate would become effective concurrent with the effective date of the company's proposed tariffs. The order temporarily waived the filing of a 45-day tariff as required by 4 CSR 240-2.060(4)(H) until Mo Comm South entered into a Commission-approved interconnection agreement that enabled it to provide basic local services, and ordered Mo Comm South to file tariff sheets for approval no later than 30 days after the Commission approved the required interconnection agreement(s).

Mo Comm South filed the required tariff sheets on November 14, with an effective date of December 29. On December 17 the company extended

4.5-

the effective date to January 5, 1998. Mo Comm South filed substitute sheets on November 18, December 5, 9, 10, 15, 16, and 18.

The Commission's Staff reviewed the tariff sheets and filed a memorandum on December 19 recommending that the Commission approve them as amended by the substitute sheets. Staff stated that Mo Comm South will be providing resold telecommunications services on a prepaid basis. The company will provide a voice-grade single communications channel including a telephone number and a directory listing. The service will not permit direct dialing of 1+ or 0+ toll services or caller-paid information services such as 900 number calling. Mo Comm South will require each customer to sign a service order/application form before service is provided (this document is included as Attachment 1 to this order).

Mo Comm South will charge customers a one-time processing fee of \$40.00 and a monthly rate of \$40.50. Each customer will receive a Customer Information Bulletin (Tariff, page 37) setting out the rates, billing and payment arrangements, disconnection or suspension procedures, and reconnection procedures. The bulletin also explains what toll services are blocked, and describes how a customer can file a complaint with the Commission. The company's policy provides for a refund of fees if service is canceled within ten business days after mailing or delivery of the Customer Information Bulletin. Mo Comm South will provide 911 and E-911 service but will not provide operator services or local directory assistance. (Tariff, pages 31, 27, and 35).

Staff stated that the notice and settlement agreement provisions of the tariff are in accordance with Commission rules. Mo Comm South allows customers 21 days to pay their bills as required by Commission rule.

2

The billing items as described in the tariff and the separate listing of taxes and surcharges also comply with Commission rule.

The Commission has reviewed Mo Comm South's proposed tariff and Staff's recommendation and finds that the tariff details the services, equipment, and pricing it proposes to offer, and is similar to tariffs approved for other Missouri certificated basic local service providers. The Commission finds that the proposed tariff should be approved as amended to become effective on January 5, 1998.

## **THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:**

 That the tariff filed by Missouri Comm South, Inc. on November 14, 1997, is approved as amended to become effective on January 5, 1998. The tariff approved is:

## MO. P.S.C. No. 1.

2. That the certificate of service authority to provide basic local and local exchange telecommunications service granted to Missouri Comm South, Inc. on October 8, 1997, shall become effective on January 5, 1998.

3. That this order shall become effective on January 5, 1998.

4. That this case will be closed on January 6, 1998.

BY THE COMMISSION

Hole Hardy Bobsts

(SEAL)

Dale Hardy Roberts Secretary/Chief Regulatory Law Judge

< ₽

Lumpe, Ch., Crumpton, Drainer and Murray, CC., concur.

Wickliffe, Deputy Chief Regulatory Law Judge

3

# Missouri Comm South

P.O. Box 821269 · Dallas, Texas 75382-1269

ſ

#### **APPLICATION FOR SERVICE**

NAME	MIDDLE	LAST		
ADDRESS		APARTMENT NUMBER		
CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE		
YOUR PHONE BILLS WILL BE SENT PLEASE CONNECT MY TELEPHONE SERVICE A	TO THE ADDRESS LISTED ABOVE UNLESS YOU INFORM US IN T THE ADDRESS ABOVE BUT SEND MY TELEPHONE BILL TO T	WRITING, THE ADDRESS BELOW:		
ADDRESS		APARTMENT NUMB	ĒA	
CITY	STATE Z		ZIP CODE	
	CALCULATE YOUR FIRST MONTH'S PAYMENT			
PHONE NUMBER WHERE YOU MAY BE REACHED. "YOU MAY CALL US IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A NUMBER". PLEASE PROVIDE PREVIOUS PHONE NUMBER AND NAME OF THE PHONE COMPANY AT THE ADDRESS WHERE SERVICE IS TO BE INSTALLED.	FIRST MONTH'S PREPAID SERVICE CHARGE		\$ 49.00	
	PROCESSING FEE		\$ 40.00	
	SUBTOTAL		\$ 89.00	
	SERVICES LISTED BELOW ARE OPTIONAL — \$5.00 EACH OR \$20.00 FOR ALL SIX — DOES NOT INCLUDE CALLER ID.			
PROVIDE ANY SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS OR DIRECTIONS IN THE SPACE BELOW FOR REACHING THE ADDRESS WHERE SERVICE IS TO BE INSTALLED.	PLACE A CHECK MARK ( ) IN THE BOX TO THE LEFT IF YOU WANT THE OPTION. ADD THE COST IN THE SPACE TO THE RIGHT;			
	1. CALL WAITING	\$ 5.00	\$	
	2. CALL FORWARDING	\$ 5.00	\$	
	3. CONFERENCE CALLING	\$ 5.00	\$	
	4. UNPUBLISHED NUMBER	\$ 5.00		
	5. SPEED DIAL	\$ 5.00	<b>s</b>	
	6. CALL RETURN	\$ 5.00	\$	
	7. ALL OPTIONS ABOVE	\$ 20.00	\$	
	8. OTHER OPTIONS	\$	\$	
	THE CALLER ID OPTION REQUIRES A \$10.00 SETUP FEE - CALLER ID BOX IS NOT PROVIDED BY COMM SOUTH COMPANIES			
	9. CALLER ID (\$10.00) + CALLER ID SETUP FEE (	\$10.00) = \$ 20.00	\$	
AGENT STAMP HERE	TOTAL:		\$	

4. Lunderstand that if my phone service terminates due to MCS's fault, MCS will refund a pro rata amount of my monthly service payment for the period of time in which services as such time period is reflected in the telephone company's records. Lagree, however, that no additional claim may be made against MCS for any damages reing from terminated service, even if 1 am likely to rely on phone service for emergency call to 911 and the like. If my phone service terminates for reason beyond MCS's consuch as storms, strikes, broken wires, etc., I am not entitled to any rotund except as may be required by applicable law or regulation.

5. I agree to indomnify and hold MCS and any of its representatives harmless and free of any legal action for any claims other than for negligence of MCS that may occur a result of assisting me with my telephone service. If MCS must resort to legal action to collect on my account, I will be responsible for all legal fees and court costs. Any dispute controversies arising out of the subject matter of this Agreement, where the injured parties chaim damages individually or in the aggregate in excess of \$3,000, shal decided by arbitration. The parties will select a mutually agreeable arbitrator or, if one cannot be agreed upon, then the party with the claim may request the district court in county in which the claimant resides to appoint an arbitrator in accordance with Missouri law. The decision of the arbitrator will be final.

6. Return this completed application along with your Initial Payment to any authorized agent of MCS (money order only, please). Under normal circumstances, your telephone vice will be connected in 7 to 14 business days from the time that we receive the above material.

7. I understand I am entering Into a contractual agreement with MCS to act as our communications representative for all negotiations with the applicable primary local exchaporder of tolecommunications services. Under the terms of this agreement I do hereby authorize MCS to handle all negotiations for service requests, and the issuance of or on our telephone service at the address I have provided on this agreement and on the phone number issued me by MCS until further notice. This authorization does not precour ability to act in our own behall to change service provides.

8. I understand I will be billed twenty one days prior to my due date and will be billed on the same day each month for the following month's service.

9. There is a \$40,00 processing fee due in addition to the first month's prepaid service charge of \$49,00. Your second month's service will be prorated based on the number of your service was connected the first month. This amount will be reflected on the first statement which will be mailed to you. Example: If your service is connected on Januar and your billing cycle is due on the first, your next payment is due February 1.

Missouri Comm South (MCS) will be responsible for providing telephone service to your dwelling or business. MCS will NOT be responsible for the Internal wiring, i individual provide repair companies. You may also choose any individual or company of your choice to provide flose services at your own expense and risk. Telephone equipme. I any is not provided as part of this agreement. All telephone equipment or the purchase and maintenance of that equipment is the responsibility of the customer. As a customer you NOT required to purchase any equipment from MCS or any authorized agent of MCS. By signing below, I stipulate that I understand the statements and agree to abide by the ditions outlined on both sides of this form:

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE

This form outlines the conditions upon which we will provide service and the conditions under which we will disconnect service. It also briefly explains certs company policies such as late charges and refunds.

1. I request that Missouri Comm South ("MCS") establish telephone service in my residence at the address stated on my Application for Service. I understand that have any questions or problems (including repair) regarding my telephone service I am to contact the MCS office directly. Any work performed on my line which is approved by MCS will be done at my own risk and expense.

2. 1 agree that my monthly rate after the first month is \$40.50 ( excluding optional services, 911 charges, all applicable state and federal taxes and fees ).

3. I understand 1 have certain rights and responsibilities under this service order as set out in the following Customer Information Bulletin:

#### CUSTOMER INFORMATION BULLETIN

Rights and Responsibilities of Missouri Residential Telephone Customers This information is provided in accordance with the rules of the Missouri Public Service Commission and explains your rights and responsibilities as a residential telephone customer.

Your telephone bill

You will receive a telephone bill from us each month. Missouri Comm South provides basic local exchange prepaid services. The Company does not require a deposit for service. Payment for the first month's service is payable in advance and payment in advance for each month of service thereafter is due in full within 21 days of the date of the bill. If we do not receive your payment within 21 days, your service is subject to suspension or disconnection. When paying by mail, please be sure to allow enough time for your payment to reach us by the due date.

Payment Arrangements

Payment must be sent to Missouri Comm South or made at one of our Agent locations. Payment for service may be made by Money Order or cash at an authorized Agent location. Payments for service mailed to Missouri Comm South must be in the form of a Money Order or Certified Check. Credit card payments are accepted by Missouri Comm South by telephone only. If you are temporarily having difficulty paying your telephone bill, please call Missouri Comm South at 1-800-936-5223 between 8 AM and 10 PM Central Time, Monday through Friday or 9 AM and 4 PM Saturday and ask for the billing department. By doing this, you may avoid having your telephone service suspended or disconnected.

Disconnection or Suspension of Telephone Service

Your telephone service is subject to suspension and disconnection for any of the reasons listed below. If you do not resolve the reason for suspension or discon nection, your service will first be suspended. If service is suspended, your telephone number is reserved for five days, and if you are reconnected within that time the charge is only \$20,00. If the reason for suspension has not been resolved within the 5 day period of suspension, your service will be disconnected. If service is disconnected, a new telephone number will be assigned and you will be again required to pay a Processing Fee of \$40,00. Also, in order to be reconnected you must pay any charges required under the "Re-Connection Of Service" section of this information Bulletin.

#### Your service may be suspended or disconnected for any of the following reasons:

- Nonpayment of an undisputed delinquent account. Your service will not be discontinued for nonpayment of a delinquent charge until five days after the charge has become delinquent. Additionally, Missouri Comm South will make reasonable efforts to contact you at least 24 hours in advance prior to disconnecting your telephone service.
- 2. Unauthorized use of telephone utility equipment in a manner which creates an unsafe condition or creates the possibility of damage or destruction to such equipment.
- 3. Refusal after reasonable notice to permit inspection, maintenance, or replacement of telephone utility equipment.
- 4. Misrepresentation of identity in obtaining telephone utility service.

5. Incurs charges and evidences an intent not to pay such charges when due.

Re-Connection of Service

After local telephone service has been shut off, Missouri Comm South will restore your service when the reason for shut off has been remedied. Before restoring your service, the following will be required:

- 1. Payment for all undisputed amounts must be received by Missouri Comm South or its authorized Agent.
- The Processing Fee of \$40.00 must be paid again if your service has been disconnected. The processing fee will NOT be charged if your service has been suspended. If your service has been suspended you will be charged however, a Re-connection fee of \$20.00. Re-connection must be made during the five day suspension period.

Procedures for Handling Inquiries and Complaints

Telephone inquiries may be made directly by calling Missouri Comm South at 1-800-936-5223 between 8 AM and 10 PM Central Time, Monday through Friday or 9 AM and 4 PM Saturday. Written inquiries may be directed toll free by fax to: 1-800-324-5223. Written inquiries may also be directed to:

#### Missouri Comm South P.O. BOX 740068

#### Dallas, Texas 75374-9932

Filing a Complaint with the Missouri Public Service Commission

- If Missouri Comm South cannot resolve your complaint, you may call the Missouri Public Service Commission, located at 301 West High Street, 5th Floor, Jefferson City, Missouri 65101, toll-free at 1-800-392-4211 to file an informal complaint.
- If your complaint cannot be resolved informally, you may file a formal complaint in writing with the Missouri Public Service Commission at their mailing address: P.O. BOX 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102.
- Also, the Missouri Office of the Public Counsel, representing the public before the Public Service Commission, has an office at 301 West High Street, 2nd Floor, Jefferson City, Missouri 65101. The Public Counsel's telephone number is 1-573-751-4857.
   Rates for Service

The following are the rates for the services available from Missouri Comm South. These rates are published in section 4 of the Company's approved tariffs which are available for your regimest.

are available for your review upon request: 4.4 Rates for Resold Local Exchange Services

es for Resold Local Exchange Services			
4.4.1.A Non-Recurring Charges			
Directory Listing	No Charge		
Processing Fee	\$40.00		
4.4.1.B Recurring Charges			
Monthly Prepaid Service	\$40.50 plus charges for 911, and all applicable state and federal taxes and fees		
Directory Listing	No Charge		
4.4.1.C Optional Features			
4.4.1.C.1 Non-Recurring Charges			
Caller ID Set Up Fee	\$10.00		
4.4.1.C.2 Recurring Charges			
Call Waiting	\$5.00	Speed Dial	\$5.00
Call Forwarding	\$5.00	Call Return	\$5.00
Three Way Calling	\$5.00	All Options	\$20.00
Unpublished Number	\$5.00	Caller ID	\$10.00

Operator Services and Directory Assistance

Missouri Comm South DOES NOT provide operator services or access to directory assistance.

Toll Services Are Blocked

- You are ordering <u>Prepaid Service</u> from Missouri Comm South. Prepaid Service is a prepaid, switched, intrastate, telecommunications service which permits Ci
  to establish communications between two locations within the State of Missouri that are within the exchanges (the Local Calling Area) in which Missouri Com
  is authorized to offer and provide service.
- Prepaid Service provides you with a single, voice grade communications channel, including a telephone number and a Directory Listing. Prepaid Service per to:
  - (i) Place calls within The Local Calling Area;
  - (ii) Access 911 Service if available in your Local Calling Area;
  - (iii) place calls to toll-free "800" or "888" telephone numbers.

Prepaid Service does not permit you to originate calls to direct dial (1+) or (0+) toll services; to caller-paid information services (c.g., "900", "976", or to (0-) access or services. Calls to telephone numbers used for toll services and caller-paid information services will be blocked by the Company Refunds of Processing Fee and First Month's Charges

The <u>Processing Fee and First Month's Prepaid Service Charges</u> you paid at the time you signed this Service Order can be refunded to you if you cance: anytime within 10 business days after signing this Service Order.

Missouri Comm South • P.O. BOX 821269 • Dallas, Texas 75382-1269 • Tel: 800-936-5223 • Fax: 800-324-5223