## STATE OF MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

|  | At a | Commission held at its office in Jefferson City on the 26 <sup>th</sup> day of October, 2016. |
|--|------|---|
| In the Matter of the Application of Union Electric<br>Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri for Approval<br>Of a Tariff Setting a Rate for Electric Vehicle<br>Charging Stations | ) )  | File No. ET-2016-0246<br>Tariff No. YE-2017-0052  |

## ORDER REGARDING TARIFF

Issue Date: October 26, 2016 Effective Date: October 26, 2016

On August 15, 2016, Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri ("Ameren Missouri") filed an application requesting that the Missouri Public Service Commission approve a tariff authorizing a pilot program to install and operate electric vehicle ("EV") charging stations at locations within Ameren Missouri's service area along the Interstate 70 corridor between St. Louis and Boonville, Missouri, and in Jefferson City, Missouri. The Commission granted timely requests to intervene filed by the Midwest Energy Consumers Group; the Missouri Department of Economic Development – Division of Energy ("Division of Energy"); Natural Resources Defense Council; Brightergy, LLC; ChargePoint, Inc.; Sierra Club; Consumers Council of Missouri; and the Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers.

On October 6, 2016, after considering the recommendations of the parties, the Commission found that the original tariff filed by Ameren Missouri was not adequate because its rate structure, based on 15-minute intervals of time, discriminated against electric vehicle drivers with less powerful onboard charging devices. The Commission

rejected that tariff, but authorized Ameren Missouri to file a new tariff to correct that problem.

On October 7, 2016, Ameren Missouri filed a revised tariff under Tariff Tracking No. YE-2017-0052 that proposes a hybrid rate structure, with standard speed charges based on the amount of energy consumed and fast speed charges based on 1-minute intervals of time. In response to the revised tariff, the Missouri Division of Energy, Sierra Club, and Natural Resources Defense Council recommend that the Commission approve the revised tariff. Staff recommends that the revised tariff be modified so that either the volumetric charge or the time-based per minute charge be applied, but not both, and that if the per minute rate is chosen that it be based on the total charging time as opposed to the total connection time.

The Office of the Public Counsel ("OPC") and Consumers Council of Missouri ("CCM") recommend that the Commission reject the revised tariff. OPC and CCM state that the Commission lacks jurisdiction to approve the proposed tariff because Ameren Missouri's proposal to install and operate EV charging stations is not a public utility service. They argue that EV charging stations do not meet the definition of "electric plant" in Section 386.020(14), RSMo (Cum.Supp. 2013) and are designed to serve the general public, not Ameren Missouri's ratepayers. In addition, OPC and CCM argue that the costs of EV charging stations should be borne by the electric vehicle owners using that service and not subsidized by Ameren Missouri customers.

The revised tariff filed by Ameren Missouri under Tariff Tracking No. YE-2017-0052 will become effective on November 6, 2016, unless the Commission acts to suspend that tariff. The Commission has the authority to suspend a tariff proposing a new rate or charge,

such as Ameren Missouri's revised tariff, for up to 120 days beyond when that tariff would otherwise go into effect in order to conduct a hearing concerning the propriety of the rate or charge. In order for the Commission to have adequate time to consider the arguments of the parties regarding the revised tariff, the revised tariff sheet will be suspended for 120 days.

## THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. The proposed tariff sheets submitted under Tariff No. YE-2017-0052 by Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri is suspended until March 6, 2017. The specific tariff sheets suspended are:

# MO. P.S.C. Schedule No. 6

1<sup>st</sup> Revised Sheet No. 166, Canceling Original Sheet No. 166 Original Sheet No. 166.1

2. This order shall be effective when issued.

BY THE COMMISSION

prise L Wooding

Morris L. Woodruff

Secretary

Hall, Chm., Stoll, Kenney, Rupp, and Coleman, CC., concur.

Bushmann, Senior Regulatory Law Judge

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 393.150.1, RSMo 2000. This suspension period may be further extended for up to six months.

# STATE OF MISSOURI

## OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 26<sup>th</sup> day of October 2016.

SION OF THE OF T

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

# MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION October 26, 2016

#### File/Case No. ET-2016-0246

#### Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

#### Office of the Public Counsel

James Owen 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@ded.mo.gov

## Brightergy, LLC

Andrew Zellers 1712 Main Street, 6th Floor Kansas City, MO 64108 andyzellers@brightergy.com

# ChargePoint, Inc.

Mark W Comley 601 Monroe Street., Suite 301 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0537 comleym@ncrpc.com

#### **Consumers Council of** Missouri

John B Coffman 871 Tuxedo Blvd. St. Louis, MO 63119-2044 john@johncoffman.net

### **Midwest Energy Consumers Group**

David Woodsmall 807 Winston Court Jefferson City, MO 65101 david.woodsmall@woodsmalllaw.com

### Missouri Division of Energy

Alexander Antal 301 West High St. P.O. Box 1157 Jefferson City, MO 65102 Alexander.Antal@ded.mo.gov

## Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Edward F Downey 221 Bolivar Street, Suite 101 Jefferson City, MO 65101 efdowney@bryancave.com

## Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Diana M Vuylsteke 211 N. Broadway, Suite 3600 St. Louis. MO 63102 dmvuylsteke@bryancave.com

## **Missouri Public Service** Commission

Nathan Williams 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 nathan.williams@psc.mo.gov

#### **Natural Resources Defense** Council

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

## Sierra Club

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

#### **Union Electric Company**

Paula Johnson 1901 Chouteau Ave St Louis, MO 63103 AmerenMOService@ameren.com Jefferson City, MO 65102

#### **Union Electric Company**

Russ Mitten 312 E. Capitol Ave P.O. Box 456 rmitten@brydonlaw.com

#### **Union Electric Company**

Wendy Tatro 1901 Chouteau Avenue St. Louis. MO 63103-6149 AmerenMOService@ameren.com

## Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Morris I Woodry

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.