

Commissioners

ROBERT M. CLAYTON III Chairman

JEFF DAVIS

TERRY M. JARRETT
KEVIN GUNN

ROBERT S. KENNEY

Missouri Public Service Commission

POST OFFICE BOX 360 JEFFERSON CITY MISSOURI 65102 573-751-3234 573-751-1847 (Fax Number) http://www.psc.mo.gov WESS A. HENDERSON Executive Director

DANA K. JOYCE Director, Administration and Regulatory Policy

ROBERT SCHALLENBERG Director, Utility Services

NATELLE DIETRICH Director, Utility Operations

STEVEN C. REED Secretary/General Counsel

KEVIN A. THOMPSON Chief Staff Counsel

August 25, 2009

Cindy Kadlec, Director Joint Committee on Administrative Rules State Capitol, Room B8 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Kelvin L. Simmons Commissioner Office of Administration Commissioner's Office Capitol Building, Room 125 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Dear Ms. Kadlec and Mr. Simmons:

Re: Notice of Receipt of Petition to Promulgate Rules

As required by Section 536.041, RSMo 2000, the Commission is sending you this letter to inform you that on August 20, 2009, the Office of the Public Counsel filed a petition asking the Public Service Commission to promulgate rules to protect Missouri utility customers from having to pay fees for bills and payment of bills, and to restrict the use of pay-day loan businesses as utility pay stations. The Commission will consider Public Counsel's petition and may take further action as appropriate. In compliance with the statute, I have attached a copy of the rulemaking petition.

Sincerely,

/S/

Morris L. Woodruff Chief Regulatory Law Judge