# BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

In the Matter of Evergy Metro, Inc. d/b/a ) Evergy Missouri Metro's 2023 Integrated ) File Resource Plan Annual Update Filing ) In the Matter of Evergy Missouri West, Inc. ) d/b/a Evergy Missouri West's 2023 ) File Integrated Resource Plan Annual Update )

File No. EO-2023-0212

File No. EO-2023-0213

## ORDER GRANTING EXTENSION OF TIME AND REQUEST FOR EXPEDITED TREATMENT

Issue Date: August 1, 2023

Filing

Effective Date: August 1, 2023

On June 15, 2023, Evergy Metro, Inc. d/b/a Evergy Missouri Metro and Evergy Missouri West, Inc. d/b/a Evergy Missouri West (collectively "Evergy") filed its IRP Annual Updates and on July 14, 2023, Evergy filed its IRP Annual Update Summary Reports. Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-22.080(3)(D), provides that stakeholders may file comments within 30 days of Evergy's filing of its IRP Annual Update Summary Reports.

On July 26, 2023, The Council for New Energy Economics (NEE) filed a request to extend the time for comments about the IRP Annual Update Summary Reports to August 31, 2023. NEE requested expedited treatment of its motion. The Commission set a time for responses. The Office of the Public Counsel filed a response stating that it did not object to an extension. No other responses were received.

Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-22.080(15), permits the Commission to extend any of the time periods in the IRP rules for good cause shown. Good cause exists to extend the time period for comments in this instance because Evergy's 2023 IRP Annual Updates contain significant changes from Evergy's 2022 IRP Annual Updates and will require additional time for stakeholders to analyze prior to filing comments.

The Commission will grant the extension of time and request for expedited treatment.

## THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. NEE's motion and request for expedited treatment are granted.

2. Any comments concerning Evergy's 2023 IRP Annual Update Summary

Reports must be filed no later than August 31, 2023.

3. This order is effective when issued.



BY THE COMMISSION Many Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

John T. Clark, Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2016.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 1st day of August 2023.

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 1<sup>st</sup> day of August, 2023.



wy Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

### MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

#### August 1, 2023

#### File/Case No. EO-2023-0212 and EO-2023-0213

#### Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

### Office of the Public Counsel

Marc Poston 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@opc.mo.gov

Legal Department

3407 S. Jefferson

St. Louis, MO 63118

#### AARP

**Economics** 

Andrew O Schulte

Consumers Council of Missouri Council for the New Energy

Legal Department 601 E Street, NW Washington, DC 20049

## City of Kansas City, Missouri

Stephanie S Bell 308 East High Street, Suite 300 Jefferson City, MO 65101 sbell@ellingerlaw.com

#### **Dogwood Energy, LLC**

Carl J Lumley 130 S. Bemiston, Ste. 200 St. Louis, MO 63105 clumley@chgolaw.com

#### Google LLC

Frank A Caro 900 W. 48th Place, Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64112 fcaro@polsinelli.com

#### Midwest Energy Consumers Group

Legal Department 308 E. High Street, Suite B101 Jefferson City, MO 65101 tim.opitz@opitzlawfirm.com

#### Missouri Electric Commission

Heather H Starnes 12 Perdido Circle Little Rock, AR 72211 heather@healylawoffices.com

#### Evergy Missouri Metro Roger W Steiner 1200 Main Street, 16th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64105-9679 roger.steiner@evergy.com

#### Google LLC

Sean M Pluta 100 S. Fourth St., Suite 1000 St. Louis, MO 63102 spluta@polsinelli.com

#### **Missouri Division of Energy** Legal Department 1101 Riverside Drive, 2nd Floor P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

## Missouri Public Service Commission

Eric Vandergriff 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 Eric.Vandergriff@psc.mo.gov

#### **Evergy Missouri West**

aschulte@polsinelli.com

Roger W Steiner 1200 Main Street, 16th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64105-9679 roger.steiner@evergy.com

900 W. 48th Place, Suite 900

Kansas City, MO 64112-6411

#### **IBEW Local 304**

Legal Department 3906 NW 16th Street Topeka, KS 66615 nolandbrian@gmail.com

## Missouri Electric Commission

Alex C Riley 3010 East Battlefield, Suite A Springfield, MO 65804 alex@healylawoffices.com

#### Natural Resources Defense Council Legal Department

20 North Wacker Drive, Suite 1600 Chicago, IL 60606 Renew Missouri

Alissa Greenwald P.O. Box 413071 Kansas City, MO 64141 alissa@renewmo.org

Renew Missouri Andrew J Linhares 3115 South Grand Blvd Suite 600 St. Louis, MO 63118 Andrew@renewmo.org

Sierra Club Sarah W Rubenstein 319 N. 4th Street, Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 srubenstein@greatriverslaw.org

Sierra Club Ethan Thompson 319 N. Fourth St. Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 ethompson@greatriverslaw.org

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Nancy Dippell Nancy Dippell

Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.