# BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

)

In the Matter of the Application of The Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty to Implement Robust and Mutually-Beneficial Energy Efficiency Offerings Under the Framework Prescribed by MEEIA

File No. EO-2022-0078

# ORDER DIRECTING NOTICE AND ESTABLISHING INTERVENTION DATE

Issue Date: September 17, 2021

Effective Date: September 17, 2021

On September 15, 2021, the Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty filed tariff sheets and an application seeking the Commission's approval to establish a Demand Site Investment Mechanism (DSIM). Liberty's tariff sheets bear a November 14, 2021, effective date. The tariff sheets include projected program costs and projected throughput disincentives associated with its Missouri Energy Efficiency Investment Act Cycle 1 programs. Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-20.093(4), requires the Commission's Staff (Staff) to perform an examination of the information provided by Liberty within 30 days of filing and determine if the proposed adjustments are in accordance with Section 393.1075, RSMo and applicable regulations.

Liberty's application also contains a request for a waiver of the 60-day notice requirement of Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-4.017(1).

The Commission will establish a deadline for the filing of applications to intervene and direct its Data Center to serve a copy of this order upon the county commission of each county in Liberty's service area. In addition, the Commission's Public Policy and Outreach Department shall make notice of this order available to the media serving Liberty's service area and to the members of the Missouri General Assembly representing the residents of Liberty's service area.

# THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. Any person or entity wishing to intervene in this matter shall file an application to intervene no later than October 10, 2021.

2. The Commission's Data Center shall serve a copy of this order upon the county commission of each county in Liberty's service area.

3. The Commission's Public Policy and Outreach Department shall make notice of this order available to the members of the Missouri General Assembly representing the residents of Liberty's service area and to the news media serving the residents of Liberty's service area.

4. The Commission's Staff shall file its recommendation no later than October 15, 2021.

5. Any responses to Staff's recommendation or Liberty's tariff sheets and application are due no later than October 22, 2021.

6. This order is effective when issued.



John T. Clark, Senior Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2016.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 17<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2021.

# BY THE COMMISSION

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

# STATE OF MISSOURI

# OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 17<sup>th</sup> day of September, 2021.



annis Z Woodu

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

# MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION September 17, 2021

### File/Case No. EO-2022-0078

issouri Public Service Commission Office of the Public Counsel Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

#### County of Atchison, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 400 S. Washington - Atchison County Courthouse P.O. Box 280 Rock Port, MO 64482 acclerk@atcomo.org

#### County of Grundy, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 700 Main, 2nd Floor Grundy County Courthouse Trenton, MO 64683 grundyclerk@grundycountymo.com

#### County of Howard, Missouri

**County Commission Clerk** 1 Courthouse Sq. Howard County Courthouse Fayette, MO 65248 howard@sos.mo.gov

#### County of Linn, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 108 N High, Rm 102 PO Box 92 Linneus, MO 64653 linn@sos.mo.gov

#### County of Nodaway, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 403 N. Market St. Ste. 105 Maryville, MO 64468-1614 nodclerk@gmail.com

# Marc Poston 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@opc.mo.gov

County of Chariton, Missouri

**County Commission Clerk** 306 S. Cherry Chariton County Courthouse Keytesville, MO 65261 countyclerk@charitonco.com

#### County of Andrew, Missouri

County Commission Clerk Andrew County Courthouse P.O. Box 206 Savannah, MO 64485 clerk@andrewcounty.org

#### County of Cooper, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 200 Main Street, Room 23 **Cooper County Courthouse** Boonville, MO 65233 Sarah.Herman@coopercountymo.gov

### County of Henry, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 100 W. Franklin Street Henry County Courthouse Clinton, MO 64735 henrycoclerk1@yahoo.com

### County of Johnson, Missouri

**County Commission Clerk** 300 N. Holden Johnson County Courthouse Warrensburg, MO 64093 dthompson@jococourthouse.com

### County of Livingston, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 700 Webster St., Ste, 10 Livingston County Courthouse Chillicothe, MO 64601 countyclerk@livingstoncountymo.com morgan@sos.mo.gov

County of Pettis, Missouri **County Commission Clerk** 415 S. Ohio Pettis County Courthouse Sedalia, MO 65301 nick@pettiscomo.com

# County of Holt, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 102 Nodaway, Holt County Courthouse P.O. Box 437 Oregon, MO 64473 holtcoclerk@ofmlive.net

#### County of Lafayette, Missouri

**County Commission Clerk** 1001 Main St., Rm. 103 Lafayette County Courthouse Lexington, MO 64067 j.middleton@lafayettecountymo.com

### County of Morgan, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 100 E Newton St.` Morgan County Courthouse Versailles, MO 65075

## County of Platte, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 415 Third St., Ste, 30 Platte County Administration Bldg. Platte City, MO 64079 CountyClerk@CO.Platte.MO.US

County of Ray, Missouri County Commission Clerk 100 W Main Ray County Courthouse Richmond, MO 64085 ray@sos.mo.gov

## Liberty (Empire)

Diana C Carter 428 E. Capitol Avenue, Suite 303 Jefferson City, MO 65101 Diana.Carter@LibertyUtilities.com

#### County of Saline, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 19 East Arrow Saline County Courthouse Marshall, MO 65340 salcoclerk@mmuonline.net

#### County of Vernon, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 100 W. Cherry, Suite 6 Vernon County Courthouse Nevada, MO 64772 clerk@vernoncountymo.org

Missouri Public Service Commission Nicole Mers 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 nicole.mers@psc.mo.gov

### Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

orris I Woodruff

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.