BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

In the Matter of the Application of Union Electric)	
Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri for Approval)	File No. ET-2016-0246
Of a Tariff Setting a Rate for Electric Vehicle)	Tariff No. YE-2017-0052
Charging Stations)	

ORDER DIRECTING FILING

Issue Date: October 18, 2016 Effective Date: October 18, 2016

On October 7, 2016, Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri ("Ameren Missouri") filed a revised tariff authorizing a rate structure for a pilot program to install and operate electric vehicle charging stations at locations within Ameren Missouri's service territory. On October 13, 2016, the Office of the Public Counsel and Consumers Council of Missouri filed motions to reject the tariff, alleging, among other things, that the Commission lacks jurisdiction to approve the proposed tariff because Ameren Missouri's proposal to install and operate electric vehicle charging stations is not a public utility service. The Commission will provide an opportunity for other parties to respond or comment on the question of the Commission's jurisdiction. Because of the limited time for the Commission to reach a decision on the tariff, the Commission will shorten the time for parties to respond.

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

- 1. Ameren Missouri and the Commission's Staff shall, and any other party may, respond to the jurisdictional arguments of Public Counsel and Consumers Council of Missouri, and also to the questions listed below, no later than October 21, 2016.
 - (A) What is the statutory authority under which the Commission may approve the tariff filed by Ameren Missouri in this case?
 - (B) Are there any factual questions that must be addressed in determining the Commission's jurisdiction over electric vehicle charging stations?
 - (C) Is a certificate of convenience and necessity required for Ameren Missouri to build, install, and operate the electric vehicle charging stations?
 - 2. This order shall be effective when issued.

BY THE COMMISSION

STATE OF THE OF

Morris L. Woodruff

Secretary

Michael Bushmann, Senior Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2000.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 18th day of October, 2016.

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 18th day of October 2016.

SION OF THE OF T

Morris L. Woodruff

Secretary

MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION October 18, 2016

File/Case No. ET-2016-0246

Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

Office of the Public Counsel

James Owen 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@ded.mo.gov

Brightergy, LLC

Andrew Zellers 1712 Main Street, 6th Floor Kansas City, MO 64108 andyzellers@brightergy.com

ChargePoint, Inc.

Mark W. Comley 601 Monroe Street., Suite 301 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0537 comleym@ncrpc.com

Consumers Council of Missouri

John B Coffman 871 Tuxedo Blvd. St. Louis, MO 63119-2044 john@johncoffman.net

Midwest Energy Consumers Group

David Woodsmall 807 Winston Court Jefferson City, MO 65101 david.woodsmall@woodsmalllaw.com

Missouri Division of Energy

Alexander Antal 301 West High St. P.O. Box 1157 Jefferson City, MO 65102 Alexander.Antal@ded.mo.gov

Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Edward F Downey 221 Bolivar Street, Suite 101 Jefferson City, MO 65101 efdowney@bryancave.com

Missouri Industrial Energy **Consumers (MIEC)**

Diana M Vuylsteke 211 N. Broadway, Suite 3600 St. Louis, MO 63102 dmvuylsteke@bryancave.com

Missouri Public Service Commission

Nathan Williams 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 Nathan.Williams@psc.mo.gov

Natural Resources Defense Council

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

Sierra Club

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

Union Electric Company

Paula Johnson 1901 Chouteau Ave St Louis, MO 63103 AmerenMOService@ameren.com Jefferson City, MO 65102

Union Electric Company

Russ Mitten 312 E. Capitol Ave P.O. Box 456 rmitten@brydonlaw.com

Union Electric Company

Wendy Tatro 1901 Chouteau Avenue St. Louis, MO 63103-6149 AmerenMOService@ameren.com

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Morris L. Woodruff

Porris I Woodry

Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.