
BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI 

 
Keith Edwards,                                 
                                Complainant, 
 
          v. 
 
Missouri-American Water Company, 
                                Respondent. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 
 
 
File No. SC-2024-0379 

 
ORDER GIVING NOTICE OF CASE FILING, DIRECTING AN ANSWER,  

AND DIRECTING A STAFF INVESTIGATION 
 
Issue Date: June 28, 2024          Effective Date: June 28, 2024 

 On June 28, 2024, Keith Edwards filed a complaint with the Missouri Public Service 

Commission against Missouri-American Water Company (MAWC), pursuant to Commission 

Rule 20 CSR 4240-2.070. A copy of the complaint accompanies this notice.  

As required by Section 536.067(2)(f), RSMo, the Commission informs the parties that 

the Commission’s provisions governing procedures before the Commission are found at 

Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-2. Specific provisions relating to discovery, are found at 

Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-2.090. Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-2.070(15)(A) 

provides MAWC 30 days to file an answer to this complaint. 

In the alternative, MAWC may file a written request that the complaint be referred to 

a neutral third-party mediator for voluntary mediation of the complaint. Upon receipt of a 

request for mediation, the 30-day time period shall be tolled while the Commission 

ascertains whether Mr. Edwards is also willing to submit to voluntary mediation. If he agrees 

to mediation, the time period within which an answer is due shall be suspended pending the 

resolution of the mediation process. Additional information regarding the mediation process 

is enclosed. If Mr. Edwards declines the opportunity to seek mediation, MAWC will be 
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notified in writing that the tolling has ceased and will also be notified of the date by which an 

answer or notice of satisfaction must be filed. That period will usually be the remainder of 

the original 30-day period. 

The Commission will also direct the Staff of the Commission (Staff) to investigate this 

complaint and file a report and recommendation by August 12, 2024 pursuant to 

Commission Rule 20 CSR 4240-2.070(11). 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT: 

1. The Commission’s Data Center shall send, by certified mail, a copy of this 

notice and order and a copy of the complaint to the respondent at: 

Missouri-American Water Company 
Legal Department 
727 Craig Road 
St. Louis MO 63141 

 
2. MAWC shall file its answer to this complaint, a notice of satisfaction of 

complaint, or a request for mediation no later than July 29, 2024, and serve a copy upon the 

Complainant, Keith Edwards. All pleadings (the answer, the notice of satisfaction of 

complaint, or request for mediation) should be filed using the Commission’s electronic filing 

and information service (EFIS). 

3. Staff shall investigate this complaint and file a report with the Commission no 

later than August 12, 2024.  

4. The Commission’s Data Center shall send a copy of this notice, the 

Commission’s procedural rules, 20 CSR 4240-2, a copy of the handbook titled “How to 

Present Your Formal Complaint Before the Missouri Public Service Commission”, and a 

copy of the Commission’s information sheet regarding mediation to the Complainant, Keith 

Edwards. 
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5. This order is effective when issued. 

        
      BY THE COMMISSION  

   
Nancy Dippell  

         Secretary  
  
 
Riley G. Fewell, Regulatory Law Judge,  
by delegation of authority pursuant to  
Section 386.240, RSMo 2016. 
 
Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, 
on this 28th day of June, 2024. 
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF 
COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

Division 4240—Public Service 
Commission 

Chapter 2—Practice and Procedure 

20 CSR 4240-2.010 Definitions 

PURPOSE: This rule defines terms used in 
the rules comprising Chapter 2, Practice and 
Procedure, and supplements those definitions 
found in Chapter 386 of the Missouri Revised 
Statutes. 

(1) Applicant means any person, as defined 
herein, or public utility on whose behalf an 
application is made. 

(2) Certificate of service means a document 
or page of a document showing the caption of 
the case, attorney of record served or the  
name of the party served, the date and man-
ner of service, and the signature of the serv-
ing party or attorney. 

(3) Commission means the Missouri Public 
Service Commission as created by Chapter 
386 of the Missouri Revised Statutes. 

(4) Commissioner means one (1) of the mem-
bers of the commission. 

(5) Commission staff means all personnel 
employed by the commission whether on a 
permanent or contractual basis except com-
missioners; commissioner support staff, 
including technical advisory staff; personnel 
in the secretary’s office; and personnel in the 
general counsel’s office, including personnel 
in the adjudication department. Employees in 
the staff counsel’s office are members of the 
commission staff. 

(6) Complainant means the commission, any 
person, corporation, municipality, political 
subdivision, the Office of the Public Coun-
sel, the commission staff through the staff 
counsel’s office, or public utility who files a 
complaint with the commission. 

(7) Corporation includes a corporation, com-
pany, association, or joint stock company or 
association, or any other entity created by 
statute which is allowed to conduct business 
in the state of Missouri. 

(8) General counsel means the attorney who 
serves as counsel to the commission and 
includes the general counsel and all other 
attorneys who serve in the office of the gen-
eral counsel, but does not include attorneys 
employed in the staff counsel’s office. The 
general counsel appears for the commission 

and performs all duties and services as attor-
ney and counsel to the commission which the 
commission may reasonably require. 

(9) Oath means attestation by a person signi-
fying that he or she is bound in conscience 
and by the laws regarding perjury, either by 
swearing or affirmation to tell the truth. 

(10) Party includes any applicant, com-
plainant, petitioner, respondent, intervenor, 
or public utility in proceedings before the 
commission. Commission staff and the public 
counsel are also parties unless they file a 
notice of their intention not to participate 
within the period of time established for 
interventions by commission rule or order. 

(11) Person includes a natural person, corpo-
ration, municipality, political subdivision, 
state or federal agency, and a partnership. 

(12) Pleading means any written document, 
including any exhibits or other attachments, 
filed with the commission that seeks a specif-
ic action or remedy, except that briefs and 
tariffs are not pleadings under this definition. 

(13) Political subdivision means any town-
ship, city, town, village, and any school, 
road, drainage, sewer, and levee district, or 
any other public subdivision, public corpora-
tion, or public quasi-corporation having the 
power to tax. 

(14) Presiding officer means a commissioner, 
or a law judge licensed to practice law in the 
state of Missouri and appointed by the com-
mission to preside over a case or any portion 
of a case. 

(15) Public counsel means the Office of the 
Public Counsel as created by the Omnibus 
State Reorganization Act of 1974 and 
includes the assistants who represent the pub-
lic before the commission. 

(16) Public utility includes every pipeline 
corporation, gas corporation, electrical cor-
poration, telecommunications corporation, 
water corporation, heat or refrigeration cor-
poration, sewer corporation, any joint munic-
ipal utility commission pursuant to section 
386.020, RSMo, which is regulated by the 
commission, or any other entity described by 
statute as a public utility which is to be regu-
lated by the commission. 

(17) Respondent means any person as defined 
herein or public utility subject to regulation 
by the commission against whom any com-
plaint is filed. 

(18) Rule means all of these rules as a whole 
or the individual rule in which the word 
appears, whichever interpretation is consis-
tent with the rational application of this chap-
ter. 

(19) Settlement officer means a presiding 
officer who has been delegated to facilitate 
the settlement of a case. 

(20) Schedule means any attachment, table, 
supplement, list, output, or any other docu-
ment affixed to an exhibit. 

(21) Staff counsel means any attorney 
employed to represent the commission staff 
in proceedings before the commission.  

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.010. 
Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective 
Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 1984, 
effective June 15, 1985. Amended: Filed June 
9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed Aug. 17, 
1998, effective March 30, 1999. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective 
April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed March 2, 
2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Amended: Filed 
Nov. 7, 2018, effective July 30, 2019. Moved 
to 20 CSR 4240-2.010, effective Aug. 28, 
2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.015 Waiver of Rules 

PURPOSE: This rule defines when the rules 
in this chapter may be waived. 

(1) A rule in this chapter may be waived by 
the commission for good cause. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo Supp. 
1998.* This rule originally filed as 4 CR 240-
2.015. Original rule filed Aug. 24, 1999, 
effective April 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 
4240-2.015, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.025 Commission Address 
and Business Hours  

PURPOSE: This rule provides the physical 
and mailing address, as well as the hours of 
business for the Public Service Commission.  



(1) The Public Service Commission’s princi-
pal office is located in the Governor Office 
Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, 
Missouri 65102. 

(2) The public may obtain information, make 
requests, or make submissions by mail 
addressed to the Secretary of the Commis-
sion, Missouri Public Service Commission, 
PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102, 
electronically at the commission’s Internet 
website, or in person at the commission’s 
principal office during regular business 
hours. 

(3) The regular business hours of the Mis-
souri Public Service Commission are Mon-
day through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., 
except on state holidays when the offices are 
closed. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.025. Original rule filed March 2, 2011, 
effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 
4240-2.025, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.030 Records of the Com-
mission 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the record-
keeping requirements of the commission and 
the availability of these records to the public.  
Charges for copies are subject to statutory 
limitations. 

(1) The secretary of the commission shall 
keep a full and true record of all the proceed-
ings of the commission, of all books, maps, 
documents, and papers ordered filed by the 
commission, of all orders made by each of 
the commissioners, and of all orders made by 
the commission or approved and confirmed 
by it and ordered filed. In addition, the sec-
retary of the commission shall maintain a 
docket of all cases filed and cases set for 
hearing and shall assign each matter an 
appropriate case number. These records shall 
be available for public inspection in the office 
of the secretary of the commission, during 
regular business hours, Monday through Fri-
day, except for legal holidays. The specific 
hours the records are available shall be posted 
at the principal office of the commission.  

(2) Copies of public records (for example, 
official documents, pleadings, transcripts, 
briefs, and orders) may be requested from the 
secretary of the commission. Any such 

request shall be made in writing. 

(3) The fees for copying public records shall 
not exceed ten cents ($.10) per page for a 
paper copy not larger than nine inches by 
fourteen inches (9" × 14"), with the hourly 
fee for duplicating time not to exceed the 
average hourly rate of pay for the clerical 
staff of the commission fulfilling the request 
and the actual cost of research time. The 
commission shall utilize employees to make 
copies and conduct the research so that the 
lowest amount of charges are incurred based 
on the scope of the request. 

(4) Fees for providing access to public 
records maintained on computer facilities, 
recording tapes or disks, videotapes or films, 
pictures, maps, slides, graphics, illustrations, 
or similar audio or visual items or devices, 
and for paper copies larger than nine inches 
by fourteen inches (9" × 14") shall include 
only the cost of copies, staff time, which 
shall not exceed the average hourly rate of 
pay for staff of the public governmental body 
required for making copies and program-
ming, if necessary, and the cost of the disk, 
tape, or other medium used for the duplica-
tion. Fees for maps, blueprints, or plats that 
require special expertise to duplicate may 
include the actual rate of compensation for 
the trained personnel required to duplicate 
such maps, blueprints, or plats. If program-
ming is required beyond the customary and 
usual level to comply with a request from 
records or information, the fees for compli-
ance may include the actual costs of such pro-
gramming. 

(5) Copies may be provided without charge or 
at a reduced charge to public officers for use 
in their official capacity, or in any other situ-
ation where the Public Service Commission 
determines that waiver or reduction of the fee 
is in the public interest because it is likely to 
contribute significantly to public understand-
ing of the operations or activities of the Pub-
lic Service Commission and is not primarily 
in the commercial interest of the requester. 

AUTHORITY: sections 386.300 and 386.410, 
RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 
CSR 240-2.030. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 
1975, effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. 
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 10, 
1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Amended: 
Filed July 26, 1999, effective Jan. 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.030, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.300, RSMo 1939, amended 
1947, 1984, 1995 and 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 
1947, 1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.040 Practice Before the 
Commission 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth who may 
practice as an attorney before the commis-
sion. 

(1) The staff counsel represents the commis-
sion staff in investigations, contested cases, 
and other proceedings before the commis-
sion. 

(2) The public counsel represents the inter-
ests of the public before the commission. 

(3) Attorneys who wish to practice before the 
commission shall fully comply with its rules 
and also comply with one (1) of the following 
criteria: 

(A) An attorney who is licensed to practice 
law in the state of Missouri, and in good 
standing, may practice before the commis-
sion;  

(B) A nonresident attorney who is a mem-
ber of the Missouri Bar in good standing, but 
who does not maintain an office for the prac-
tice of law within the state of Missouri, may 
appear as in the case of a resident attorney; 

(C) Any attorney who is not a member of 
the Missouri Bar, but who is a member in 
good standing of the bar of any court of 
record, may petition the commission for leave 
to be permitted to appear and participate in a 
particular case under all of the following con-
ditions: 

1. The visiting attorney shall file in a 
separate pleading a statement identifying 
each court of which that attorney is a member 
and certifying that neither the visiting attor-
ney nor any member of the attorney’s firm is 
disqualified to appear in any of these courts; 

2. The statement shall designate some 
member in good standing of the Missouri Bar 
having an office within Missouri as associate 
counsel;  

3. The designated Missouri attorney 
shall simultaneously enter an appearance as 
an attorney of record; and 

4. The visiting attorney shall provide a 
receipt or a statement showing that he or she 
has complied with the requirement of Mis-
souri Supreme Court Rule 6.01(m). 

(4) An eligible law student certified under 
Missouri Supreme Court Rule 13 may appear 
before the commission as an attorney. The 
student must comply with any applicable 
rules or statutes. 
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(5) Practice by Nonattorneys. A natural per-
son may represent himself or herself. Such 
practice is strictly limited to the appearance 
of a natural person on his or her own behalf 
and shall not be made for any other person or 
entity. 

(6) After an attorney has entered an appear-
ance for any party, the attorney may withdraw 
only by leave of the commission. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.040. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 
7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.040, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

Smith v. Public Service Commission, 336 
S.W.2d 491 (Mo. 1960). Com mission Rule 
12.07 allowing individual party before com-
mission held not to authorize non-lawyer 
individual to act as attorney for twenty-five 
other individuals. See also Reed v. Labor and 
Industrial Relations, 789 S.W.2d 19 (Mo. 
banc 1990) and Clark v. Austin, 340 Mo. 
647, 101 S.W.2d 977 (Mo. 1937). 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.050 Computation of Time 

PURPOSE: This rule sets standards for com-
putation of effective dates of any order or 
time prescribed by the commission when no 
specific date is set by commission order. 

(1) In computing any period of time pre-
scribed or allowed by the commission, the 
day of the act, event, or default shall not be 
included. The last day of the period so com-
puted shall be included, unless it is a Satur-
day, Sunday, or legal holiday, in which case 
the period runs until the end of the next day 
which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal hol-
iday. This rule does not apply when the com-
mission establishes a specific date by which 
an action must occur, nor does it operate to 
extend effective dates which are established 
by statute. 

(2) Except when the issuance and effective 
date are the same, in computing the effective 
date of any order of the commission, the day 
the order was issued shall not be included, 
and the order is considered effective at 12:00 
a.m. on the effective date designated in the 

order, whether or not the date is a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday. If the effective date 
and the issuance date are the same, the order 
shall be effective at the date and time the 
order is issued by the commission. 

(3) When an act is required or allowed to be 
done by order or rule of the commission at or 
within a specified time, the commission 
may— 

(A) Order the period enlarged before the 
expiration of the period originally prescribed 
or as extended by a previous order; or 

(B) After the expiration of the specified 
period, permit the act to be done where the 
failure to act was the result of excusable 
neglect or for other good cause shown. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.050. 
Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective 
Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 1984, 
effective June 15, 1985. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Nov. 
30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: Filed 
Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.050, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

State ex rel. Alton R. Co. v. Public Service 
Commission, 536 S.W.2d 766 (Mo. 1941). 
The effective date of an order is at the begin-
ning of that date, rather than at its close. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.060 Applications 

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission 
requesting relief under statutory or other 
authority must meet the requirements set forth 
in this rule. 

(1) All applications shall comply with the 
requirements of these rules and shall include 
the following information: 

(A) The legal name of each applicant, a 
brief description of the legal organization of 
each applicant, whether a Missouri corpora-
tion, foreign corporation, partnership, pro-
prietorship, or other business organization, 
the street and mailing address of the principal 
office or place of business of each applicant 
and each applicant’s electronic mail address, 
fax number and telephone number, if any; 

(B) If any applicant is a Missouri corpora-
tion, a Certificate of Good Standing from the 
secretary of state; 

(C) If any applicant is a foreign corpora-
tion, a certificate from the secretary of state 

that it is authorized to do business in Mis-
souri; 

(D) If any applicant is a partnership, a 
copy of the partnership agreement;    

(E) If any applicant does business under a 
fictitious name, a copy of the registration of 
the fictitious name with the secretary of state; 

(F) If any applicant is a political subdivi-
sion, a specific reference to the statutory pro-
vision and a specific reference to any other 
authority, if any, under which it operates; 

(G) If any applicant has submitted the 
applicable information as set forth in subsec-
tions (1)(B)–(F) of this rule in a previous 
application, the same may be incorporated by 
reference to the case number in which the 
information was furnished, so long as such 
applicable information is current and correct; 

(H) A brief statement of the character of 
business performed by each applicant; 

(I) Name, title, address, and telephone 
number of the person to whom correspon-
dence, communications, and orders and deci-
sion of the commission are to be sent, if other 
than to the applicant’s legal counsel; 

(J) If any applicant is an association, other 
than an incorporated association or other 
entity created by statute, a list of all of its 
members; 

(K) A statement indicating whether the 
applicant has any pending action or final 
unsatisfied judgments or decisions against it 
from any state or federal agency or court 
which involve customer service or rates, 
which action, judgment, or decision has 
occurred within three (3) years of the date of 
the application;  

(L) A statement that no annual report or 
assessment fees are overdue; and 

(M) All applications shall be subscribed 
and verified by affidavit under oath by one (1) 
of the following methods: if an individual, by 
that individual; if a partnership, by an autho-
rized member of the partnership; if a corpo-
ration, by an authorized officer of the corpo-
ration; if a municipality or political 
subdivision, by an authorized officer of the 
municipality or political subdivision; or by 
the attorney for the applicant if the applica-
tion includes or is accompanied by a verified 
statement that the attorney is so authorized. 

(2) If any of the items required under this rule 
are unavailable at the time the application is 
filed, they shall be furnished prior to the 
granting of the authority sought. 

(3) If the purchaser or any other necessary 
party to a transaction for which approval is 
sought under the provisions of 4 CSR 240-
3.110, 4 CSR 240-3.115, 4 CSR 240-3.210, 
4 CSR 240-3.215, 4 CSR 240-3.310, 4 CSR 
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240-3.315, 4 CSR 240-3.405, 4 CSR 240-
3.410, 4 CSR 240-3.520, 4 CSR 240-3.525, 
4 CSR 240-3.605, or 4 CSR 240-3.610 is not 
subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, 
but will be subject to the commission’s juris-
diction after the transaction, the purchaser or 
other necessary party must comply with these 
rules. 

(4) In addition to the requirements of section 
(1), applications for variances or waivers 
from commission rules and tariff provisions, 
as well as those statutory provisions which 
may be waived, shall contain information as 
follows: 

(A) Specific indication of the statute, rule, 
or tariff from which the variance or waiver is 
sought; 

(B) The reasons for the proposed variance 
or waiver and a complete justification setting 
out the good cause for granting the variance 
or waiver; and 

(C) The name of any public utility affected 
by the variance or waiver. 

(5) Except for telecommunications companies 
and providers of video services or intercon-
nected voice over Internet protocol (IVoIP) 
services, a name change may be accom-
plished by filing the items below with a cover 
letter requesting a change of name. Notwith-
standing any other provision of these rules, 
the items required herein may be filed by a 
nonattorney. Applications for approval of a 
change of name shall include: 

(A) A statement, clearly setting out both 
the old name and the new name; 

(B) Evidence of registration of the name 
change with the Missouri secretary of state; 
and 

(C) Either an adoption notice and revised 
tariff title sheet with an effective date which 
is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the fil-
ing date of the application, or revised tariff 
sheets with an effective date which is not 
fewer than thirty (30) days after the filing 
date of the application. 

(6) In addition to the general requirements set 
forth above, the requirements found in Chap-
ter 3 of the commission’s rules pertaining to 
the filing of various types of applications 
must also be met. 

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 386.410, 
RSMo 2000.* This rule originally filed as 4 
CSR 240-2.060. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 
1975, effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. 
Amended: Filed Sept. 6, 1985, effective Dec. 
15, 1985. Amended: Filed Feb. 3, 1987, 
effective May 1, 1987. Amended: Filed May 
11, 1988, effective Aug. 11, 1988. Amended: 

Filed Feb. 5, 1993, effective Oct. 10, 1993. 
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 10, 
1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and 
readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective 
April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 
2002, effective April 30, 2003. Amended: 
Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. 
Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.060, effective Aug. 
28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.250, RSMo 1939, amended 
1963, 1967, 1977, 1980, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1995, 
1996 and  386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 1977, 
1996. 

State ex rel. Kansas City Transit, Inc. v. 
Public Service Commission, 406 S.W.2d 5 
(Mo. banc 1966). Commission is an adminis-
trative body of powers limited to those 
expressly granted by statute or necessary or 
proper to effectuate statutory purpose. Com-
mission’s authority to regulate does not 
include right to dictate manner in which com-
pany conducts its business. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.065 Tariff Filings Which 
Create Cases 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes when a case 
shall be opened for a tariff. 

(1) A general rate increase request is one 
where the company or utility files for an 
overall increase in revenues through a compa-
ny-wide increase in rates for the utility ser-
vice it provides, but shall not include requests 
for changes in rates made pursuant to an 
adjustment clause or other similar provisions 
contained in a utility’s tariffs. When a public 
utility submits a tariff which constitutes a 
general rate increase request, the commission 
shall establish a case file for the tariff. The 
tariff and all pleadings, orders, briefs, and 
correspondence regarding the tariff shall be 
filed in the case file established for the tariff. 
The tariff submitted shall be in compliance 
with the provisions of the rules relating to the 
separate utilities. A tariff filed which propos-
es a general rate increase request shall also 
comply with the minimum filing require-
ments of these rules for general rate increase 
requests. Any public utility which submits a 
general rate increase request shall simultane-
ously submit its direct testimony with the tar-
iff. 

(2) Except when the Commission orders the 
filing of a tariff, when a public utility submits 
a tariff for commission approval but requests 
the tariff become effective in fewer than thir-
ty (30) days, the commission shall establish a 
case file for the tariff. In addition, the public 

utility shall file a Motion for Expedited Treat-
ment and comply with the expedited treat-
ment portion of these rules. The tariff and all 
pleadings, orders, briefs, and correspondence 
shall be filed in the case file established for 
the tariff. 

(3) When a pleading, which objects to a tariff 
or requests the suspension of a tariff, is filed, 
the commission shall establish a case file for 
the tariff and shall file the tariff and pleading 
in that case file. All subsequent pleadings, 
orders, briefs, and correspondence concern-
ing the tariff shall be filed in the case file 
established for the tariff. Any pleading to 
suspend a tariff shall attach a copy of the tar-
iff and include a certificate of service to con-
firm that the party who submitted the tariff 
has been served with the pleading. 

(4) A case file shall be established for a tariff 
filing in which the commission is required by 
law or requested by the party filing the tariff 
to specifically approve the tariff. 

(5) A case file will not be established to con-
sider tariff sheets submitted by a regulated 
utility which do not meet the circumstances 
of sections (1)–(4) of this rule, except that a 
case file shall be established when tariff 
sheets are suspended by the commission on 
its own motion or when suspended upon the 
recommendation of staff. 

(6) When a public utility extends the effective 
date of a tariff, it shall file a letter extending 
the tariff effective date in the official case 
file. Notwithstanding any other provision of 
these rules, this letter may be filed by a 
nonattorney. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.065. Original rule filed March 10, 1995, 
effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 
30, 2000. Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, 
effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 
4240-2.065, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.070 Complaints 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the proce-
dures for filing formal and informal com-
plaints with the commission. 

(1) Any person or public utility who feels 
aggrieved by an alleged violation of any tar-
iff, statute, rule, order, or decision within the 
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commission’s jurisdiction may file a com-
plaint. A complaint may also be filed by the 
commission on its own motion, the commis-
sion staff through the staff counsel, or the 
Office of the Public Counsel. 

(2) A person who feels aggrieved by an 
alleged violation of any tariff, statute, rule, 
order, or decision within the commission’s 
jurisdiction may file an informal complaint 
with the commission’s consumer services 
department or file either a formal complaint 
or small formal complaint with the commis-
sion. Filing an informal complaint is not a 
prerequisite to filing a formal or small formal 
complaint; however, the presiding officer may 
direct that a pro se complainant be required 
to go through the informal complaint proce-
dure before the formal complaint will be 
heard by the commission. If an allegedly 
aggrieved person initially files an informal 
complaint and is not satisfied with the out-
come, such person may also file a formal or 
small formal complaint. 

(3) Informal Complaints. The protections and 
processes of an informal complaint regarding 
service or billing practices are set out in 4 
CSR 240-13. To file an informal complaint, 
the complainant shall state, either in writing, 
by telephone (consumer services hotline 1-
800-392-4211 or Relay Missouri at 711), or 
in person at the commission’s offices— 

(A) The name, street address, and tele-
phone number of each complainant and, if 
one (1) person asserts authority to act on 
behalf of the others, the source of that author-
ity; 

(B) The address where the utility service 
was rendered; 

(C) The name and address of the party 
against whom the complaint is filed; 

(D) The nature of the complaint and the 
complainant’s interest therein; 

(E) The relief requested; and 
(F) The measures taken by the complainant 

to resolve the complaint. 

(4) Formal Complaints. A formal complaint 
may be made by petition or complaint in writ-
ing, setting forth any act or thing done or 
omitted to be done by any person, corpora-
tion, or public utility, including any rule or 
charge established or fixed by or for any per-
son, corporation, or public utility, in viola-
tion or claimed to be in violation of any pro-
vision of law or of any rule or order or 
decision of the commission. The formal com-
plaint shall contain the following information: 

(A) The name and street address of each 
complainant and, if different, the address 

where the subject utility service was ren-
dered; 

(B) The signature, telephone number, fac-
simile number, and email address of each 
complainant or their legal representative, 
where applicable; 

(C) The name and address of the person, 
corporation, or public utility against whom 
the complaint is being filed; 

(D) The nature of the complaint and the 
complainant’s interest in the complaint, in a 
clear and concise manner; 

(E) The relief requested; 
(F) A statement as to whether the com-

plainant has directly contacted the person, 
corporation, or public utility about which 
complaint is being made; 

(G) The jurisdiction of the commission 
over the subject matter of the complaint; and 

(H) If the complainant is an association, 
other than an incorporated association or 
other entity created by statute, a list of all its 
members. 

(5) No complaint shall be entertained by the 
commission, except upon its own motion, as 
to the reasonableness of any rates or charges 
of any public utility unless the complaint is 
signed by the public counsel, the mayor or 
the president or chairman of the board of 
aldermen or a majority of the council or other 
legislative body of any town, village, county, 
or other political subdivision, within which 
the alleged violation occurred, or not fewer 
than twenty-five (25) consumers or pur-
chasers or prospective consumers or pur-
chasers of public utility gas, electricity, 
water, sewer, or telephone service as provid-
ed by law. Any public utility has the right to 
file a formal complaint on any of the grounds 
upon which complaints are allowed to be 
filed by other persons and the same proce-
dure shall be followed as in other cases. 

(6) The commission shall not be required to 
dismiss any complaint because of the absence 
of direct damage to the complainant. 

(7) The commission, on its own motion or on 
the motion of a party, may after notice dis-
miss a complaint for failure to state a claim 
on which relief may be granted or failure to 
comply with any provision of these rules or 
an order of the commission, or may strike 
irrelevant allegations. 

(8) Upon the filing of a complaint in compli-
ance with these rules, the secretary of the 
commission shall serve by certified mail, 
postage prepaid, a copy of the complaint 
upon the person, corporation, or public utili-
ty against whom the complaint has been 
filed, which shall be accompanied by a notice 

that the matter complained of be satisfied or 
that the complaint be answered by the respon-
dent, unless otherwise ordered, within thirty 
(30) days of the date of the notice. Addition-
ally, the complainant may accomplish service 
of the complaint upon the respondent(s) by 
any method authorized by Supreme Court 
Rule 54, having first obtained authorization 
from the commission for use of a special pro-
cess server.  Any person eligible to serve pro-
cess under Supreme Court Rule 54 may be 
nominated as a special process server. A 
return of service shall be promptly filed with 
the commission as in the circuit courts of this 
state. 

(9) The respondent shall file an answer to the 
complaint within the time provided. All 
grounds of defense, both of law and of fact, 
shall be raised in the answer. If the respon-
dent has no information or belief upon the 
subject sufficient to enable the respondent to 
answer an allegation of the complaint, the 
respondent may so state in the answer and 
assert a denial upon that ground. 

(10) If the respondent in a complaint case 
fails to file a timely answer, the com-
plainant’s averments may be deemed admitted 
and an order granting default entered. The 
respondent has seven (7) days from the issue 
date of the order granting default to file a 
motion to set aside the order of default and 
extend the filing date of the answer. The com-
mission may grant the motion to set aside the 
order of default and grant the respondent 
additional time to answer if it finds good 
cause. 

(11) The commission may order, at any time 
after the filing of a complaint, an investiga-
tion by its staff as to the cause of the com-
plaint. The staff shall file a report of its find-
ings with the commission and all parties to 
the complaint case. The investigative report 
shall not be made public unless released in 
accordance with section 386.480, 
392.210(2), or 393.140(3), RSMo, or during 
the course of the hearing involving the com-
plaint. 

(12) When the commission determines that a 
hearing should be held, the commission shall 
fix the time and place of the hearing. The 
commission shall serve notice upon the 
affected person, corporation, or public utility 
not fewer than ten (10) days before the time 
set for the hearing, unless the commission 
finds the public necessity requires that the 
hearing be held at an earlier date. 
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(13) All matters upon which a complaint may 
be founded may be joined in one (1) hearing 
and no motion for dismissal shall be enter-
tained against a complainant for misjoinder of 
causes of action or grievances or misjoinder 
or nonjoinder of parties. 

(14) When an order is rendered disposing of 
a case, the regulatory law judge shall cause 
the parties to be notified that the order will be 
final unless an application for rehearing is 
filed within the allotted number of days and 
provide information regarding the rehearing 
and appeal process. 

(15) Small Formal Complaint Case. If a cus-
tomer of a utility files a formal complaint 
regarding any dispute involving less than 
three thousand dollars ($3,000), the process 
set forth in this section shall be followed for 
such complaints. The provisions of sections 
(1)–(14) of this rule shall also apply to small 
formal complaints. 

(A) When a complaint is filed that qualifies 
for handling as a small formal complaint, the 
assigned regulatory law judge shall direct the 
secretary of the commission to serve, by certi-
fied mail, postage prepaid, a copy of the com-
plaint upon the person, corporation, or public 
utility against whom the complaint has been 
filed. At the same time, the regulatory law 
judge shall notify all parties that the complaint 
will proceed under the small formal complaint 
process. The person, corporation, or public 
utility against whom the complaint has been 
filed is allowed thirty (30) days after the date 
of notice to satisfy the complaint or file an 
answer. If the person, corporation, or public 
utility does not satisfy the complaint or file 
an answer within thirty (30) days, the regula-
tory law judge may issue an order granting 
default and deeming the allegations of the 
complaint to have been admitted by the 
respondent. A party in default has seven (7) 
days from the issue date of the order granting 
default to file a motion to set aside the order 
of default. The regulatory law judge may 
grant the motion to set aside the order of 
default and allow the respondent additional 
time to answer upon a showing of good 
cause.    

(B) If any party believes that a complaint 
should or should not be handled as a small 
formal complaint, that party may file a motion 
with the commission requesting that the status 
of the complaint be changed. In response to 
such motion, or acting on its own motion, the 
commission shall, at its discretion, decide 
how the complaint shall be handled.  

(C) Upon the filing of a complaint that 

qualifies under this section, the chief regula-
tory law judge shall assign the case to a reg-
ulatory law judge. To process small complaint 
cases in the timeliest manner and in the most 
convenient location for the customers, the 
commission hereby delegates the commis-
sion’s authority to hear the case, make rul-
ings, and issue a recommended report and 
order or other appropriate order disposing of 
the case to such regulatory law judge.   

(D) The commission’s staff shall, within 
forty-five (45) days after the complaint is 
filed, investigate the complaint and file a 
report detailing staff’s findings and recom-
mendations. The regulatory law judge may 
allow staff additional time to complete its 
investigation for good cause shown. The 
member or members of the commission’s 
staff who investigate the complaint shall be 
available as a witness at the hearing if the 
regulatory law judge or any party wishes to 
call them to testify.   

(E) Any hearing, unless otherwise agreed 
to by the parties, shall be held in the county, 
or a city not within a county, where the sub-
ject utility service was rendered or within 
thirty (30) miles of where the service was 
rendered. The regulatory law judge may 
allow any party, witness, or attorney to par-
ticipate in the hearing by telephone. 

(F) Small formal complaint case hearings 
shall be conducted in an informal summary 
manner whenever possible, without affecting 
the rights of the parties—  

1. The technical rules of evidence shall 
not apply; 

2. The regulatory law judge shall have 
the authority to dispense with pre-filed writ-
ten testimony; and  

3. The regulatory law judge shall 
assume an affirmative duty to determine the 
merits of the claims and defenses of the par-
ties and may question parties and witnesses.  

(G) The regulatory law judge, after afford-
ing the parties reasonable opportunity for dis-
covery and a fair hearing, shall issue a rec-
ommended report and order within one 
hundred (100) days following the filing of the 
complaint, unless the regulatory law judge 
finds good cause to extend that time or the 
extension is otherwise agreed to by the par-
ties.  

(H) Any party subject to a recommended 
order disposing of the case or a recommend-
ed report and order issued by a regulatory 
law judge under this section may file with the 
commission, within ten (10) days of the 
issuance of the recommended order, com-
ments supporting or opposing the recom-
mended order. Any comments opposing the 

recommended order shall contain specific 
detailed grounds upon which it claims the 
order is unlawful, unjust, or unreasonable.  
The commission may approve or reject the 
recommended order based on the existing 
record without further hearing. If the com-
mission rejects the recommended order, the 
commission shall issue its own order based 
on the evidence previously submitted, or 
upon such additional evidence, as the com-
mission shall choose to receive.  

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.070. 
Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective 
Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 1984, 
effective June 15, 1985. Amended: Filed June 
9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 24, 2010, effective 
Oct. 30, 2010. Amended: Filed March 2, 
2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Amended: Filed 
Nov. 7, 2018, effective July 30, 2019. Moved 
to 20 CSR 4240-2.070, effective Aug. 28, 
2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.075 Intervention 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dures by which an individual or entity may 
intervene in a case and allows for the filing of 
briefs by amicus curiae. 

(1) A motion to intervene or add new mem-
ber(s) shall be filed within thirty (30) days 
after the commission issues its order giving 
notice of the case, unless otherwise ordered 
by the commission. 

(2) A motion to intervene or add new mem-
ber(s) shall include: 

(A) The legal name of each association, 
person, or entity seeking intervention or to be 
added;  

(B) The street and mailing address of the 
principal office or place of business of each 
association, person, or entity seeking inter-
vention or to be added, or of their attorney;   

(C) The email address, fax number, and 
telephone number, if any, of each association, 
person, or entity seeking intervention or to be 
added, or their attorney; 

(D) If any applicant is an association, other 
than an incorporated association or other 
entity created by statute, a list of all of its 
members; 
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(E) A statement of the proposed inter-
venor’s or new member’s interest in the case 
and reasons for seeking intervention or to be 
added; and  

(F) A statement as to whether the proposed 
intervenor or new member supports or 
opposes the relief sought or that the proposed 
intervenor or new member is unsure of the 
position it will take. 

(3) The commission may grant a motion to 
intervene or add new member(s) if—  

(A) The proposed intervenor or new mem-
ber(s) has an interest which is different from 
that of the general public and which may be 
adversely affected by a final order arising 
from the case; or 

(B) Granting the proposed intervention 
would serve the public interest. 

(4) If the commission grants intervention to 
an association, other than an incorporated 
association or other entity created by statute, 
the commission is not granting intervention 
to the “association,” but is granting interven-
tion to the individual members of the associ-
ation.   

(5) For purposes of 4 CSR 240-2.080(16), 
service upon counsel for an association satis-
fies the requirement for service upon the indi-
vidual members of the association. 

(6) If any member(s) of an association, other 
than an incorporated association or other 
entity created by statute, that is a party to any 
case before the commission withdraws from 
the association during the pendency of a case, 
the association must file a notice of the mem-
ber’s(s’) withdrawal in the official case file 
within five (5) days of the member’s(s’) with-
drawal. 

(7) If an association, other than an incorpo-
rated association or other entity created by 
statute, that is a party to any case before the 
commission wants to add an additional mem-
ber(s) during the pendency of that case, the 
association must file a motion to add new 
member(s). 

(8) If the commission finds that the name of 
any association, other than an incorporated 
association or other entity created by statute, 
seeking intervention in a case before the com-
mission could lead to confusion or misidenti-
fication of that association or its members, 
the commission may order that the associa-
tion be identified by an alternate name in that 
case. 

(9) The commission may limit an intervention 
to particular issues or interests in a case. 

(10) Motions to intervene or add new mem-
ber(s) filed after the intervention date may be 
granted upon a showing of good cause. Any 
motion so filed must include a definitive 
statement whether or not the entity seeking 
intervention or to be added as a new member 
accepts the record established in that case, 
including the requirements of any orders of 
the commission, as of the date the motion is 
filed.  

(11) Any person not a party to a case may 
petition the commission for leave to file a 
brief as an amicus curiae. The petition for 
leave must state the petitioner’s interest in the 
matter and explain why an amicus brief is 
desirable and how the matters asserted are 
relevant to the determination of the case. The 
brief may be submitted simultaneously with 
the petition. Unless otherwise ordered by the 
commission, the brief must be filed no later 
than the initial briefs of the parties and com-
ply with all applicable briefing requirements. 
If leave to file a brief as an amicus curiae is 
granted, the brief shall be deemed filed on 
the date submitted. An amicus curiae may 
not file a reply brief. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.075. 
Original rule filed March 10, 1995, effective 
Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 26, 2002, effective 
Nov. 30, 2002. Amended: Filed March 2, 
2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 
CSR 4240-2.075, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.080 Pleadings, Filing, and 
Service 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the content 
and procedure for filing pleadings before the 
commission and for service thereof. 

(1) Every pleading or brief shall be signed by 
an attorney of record with the attorney’s indi-
vidual name or, if a natural person is not rep-
resented by an attorney, shall be signed by the 
natural person. 

(2) By signing a pleading, the signer repre-
sents that he or she is authorized to so act. 

(3) Pleadings or briefs shall  include the sign-
er’s address, state bar number(s), email 
address, fax number, and telephone number, 
if any.  

(4) Each pleading shall include a clear and 
concise statement of the relief requested, a 
specific reference to the statutory provision 
or other authority under which relief is 
requested, and a concise statement of the 
facts entitling the party to relief. 

(5) An unsigned pleading or brief may be 
rejected. 

(6) By presenting or maintaining a claim, 
defense, request, demand, objection, con-
tention, or argument in a pleading, motion, 
brief, or other document filed with or sub-
mitted to the commission, an attorney or 
party is certifying to the best of the signer’s 
knowledge, information, and belief, formed 
after an inquiry reasonable under the circum-
stances, that— 

(A) The claim, defense, request, demand, 
objection, contention, or argument is not pre-
sented or maintained for any improper pur-
pose, such as to harass or to cause unneces-
sary delay or needless increase in the cost of 
litigation; 

(B) The claims, defenses, and other legal 
contentions therein are warranted by existing 
law or by a nonfrivolous argument for the 
extension, modification, or reversal of exist-
ing law or the establishment of new law; 

(C) The allegations and other factual con-
tentions have evidentiary support or, if 
specifically so identified, are likely to have 
evidentiary support after a reasonable oppor-
tunity for further investigation or discovery; 
and 

(D) The denials of factual contentions are 
warranted on the evidence or, if specifically 
so identified, are reasonably based on a lack 
of information or belief. 

(7) Any person filing a pleading or a brief 
shall file with the secretary of the commis-
sion either— 

(A) The original; or  
(B) An electronic copy. 

(8) Each pleading may be accompanied by a 
cover letter which states the subject matter. 
This cover letter shall contain no matter for 
commission decision. 

(9) Any document’s filing date shall be the 
date and time the document is physically or 
electronically stamped as filed by the secre-
tary of the commission. Documents physical-
ly received in the commission’s data center 
during regular business hours shall be 
stamped on the date received. Documents 
physically received in the commission’s data 
center after regular business hours shall be 
stamped the next day that the commission has 
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regular business hours. Documents submitted 
electronically to the commission’s electronic 
filing and information system (EFIS) will be 
stamped filed on the date and time the docu-
ment is received in EFIS and will be deemed 
filed on that date and time. 

(10) Pleadings and briefs in every instance 
shall display on the cover or first page the 
case number and the title of the case. In the 
event the title of a case contains more than 
one (1) name as applicants, complainants, or 
respondents, it shall be sufficient to show 
only the first of these names as it appears in 
the first document commencing the case, fol-
lowed by an appropriate abbreviation (et al.) 
indicating the existence of other parties.  

(11) Pleadings and briefs that are not elec-
tronically filed shall be bound at the top or at 
an edge, shall be typewritten or printed upon 
white, eight and one-half by eleven-inch (8 
1/2" × 11") paper. Attachments to pleadings 
or briefs shall be annexed and folded to eight 
and one-half by eleven-inch (8 1/2" × 11") 
size whenever practicable. Printing on both 
sides of the page is encouraged. Lines shall 
be double-spaced, except that footnotes and 
quotations in excess of three (3) lines may be 
single-spaced. Reproduction of any of these 
documents may be by any process provided 
all copies are clear and permanently legible.  
Electronically filed pleadings or briefs shall 
be formatted in the same manner as paper fil-
ings. 

(12) Pleadings and briefs which are not in 
substantial compliance with this rule, appli-
cable statutes, or commission orders may not 
be accepted for filing. In addition, filings will 
be scanned for computer viruses before being 
uploaded into the commission’s electronic 
system and may not be accepted if the filing 
is infected. The secretary of the commission 
may return these pleadings or briefs with a 
concise explanation of the deficiencies and 
the reasons for not accepting them for filing. 
Tendered filings which have been rejected 
may not be entered on the commission’s 
docket. The mere fact of filing shall not con-
stitute a waiver of any noncompliance with 
these rules, and the commission may require 
amendment of a pleading or entertain appro-
priate motions in connection with the plead-
ing. 

(13) Parties shall be allowed ten (10) days 
from the date of filing in which to respond to 
any pleading unless otherwise ordered by the 
commission. 

(14) Any request for expedited treatment 
shall include the words “Motion for Expedit-
ed Treatment” in the title of the pleading. 
The pleading shall also set out with particu-
larity the following: 

(A) The date by which the party desires the 
commission to act; 

(B) The harm that will be avoided, or the 
benefit that will accrue, including a statement 
of the negative effect, or that there will be no 
negative effect, on the party’s customers or 
the general public, if the commission acts by 
the date desired by the party; and 

(C) That the pleading was filed as soon as 
it could have been or an explanation why it 
was not. 

(15) Unless otherwise provided by these rules 
or by other law, the party filing a pleading or 
brief shall serve every other party, including 
the staff counsel and the public counsel, a 
copy of the pleading or brief and cover letter.  
Any party may contact the secretary of the 
commission for the names and addresses of 
the parties in a case.  

(16) Methods of Service. 
(A) Any person entitled by law may serve 

a document on a represented party by— 
1. Delivering it to the party’s attorney; 
2. Leaving it at the office of the party’s 

attorney with a secretary, clerk, or attorney 
associated with or employed by the attorney 
served; 

3. Mailing it to the last known address 
of the party’s attorney; 

4. Transmitting it by facsimile machine 
to the party’s attorney; or 

5. Transmitting it to the email address of 
the party’s attorney. 

(B) Any person entitled by law may serve a 
document on an unrepresented party by— 

1. Delivering it to the party; or 
2. Mailing it to the party’s last known 

address. 
(C) Completion of Service. 

1. Service by mail is complete upon 
mailing. 

2. Service by facsimile transmission is 
complete upon actual receipt. 

3. Service by email is complete upon 
actual receipt. 

(17) Every pleading or brief shall include a 
certificate of service. Such certificate of ser-
vice shall be adequate proof of service. 

(18) Any pleading may be amended within 
ten (10) days of filing, unless a responsive 
pleading has already been filed, or at any 
time by leave of the commission. Parties shall 
be allowed ten (10) days from the date of fil-
ing in which to respond to an amended plead-
ing unless otherwise ordered by the commis-
sion. 

(19) Any list of issues ordered by the com-
mission must set out each question presented 
for decision. Each question presented should 
be clear and concise. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.*  
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.080. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed May 
15, 1980, effective Sept. 12, 1980. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. 
Amended: Filed Sept. 6, 1985, effective Dec. 
15, 1985. Amended: Filed Feb. 23, 1990, 
effective May 24, 1990. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Nov. 
30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: Filed 
Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed Sept. 11, 2001, effective April 
30, 2002. Amended: Filed May 21, 2002, 
effective Dec. 30, 2002. Amended: Filed 
March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved 
to 20 CSR 4240-2.080, effective Aug. 28, 
2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.090 Discovery and Prehear-
ings 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dures for depositions, written interrogatories, 
data requests, and prehearing conferences. 

(1) Discovery may be obtained by the same 
means and under the same conditions as in 
civil actions in the circuit court. Sanctions for 
abuse of the discovery process or failure to 
comply with commission orders regarding 
discovery shall be the same as those provided 
for in the rules of civil procedure. 

(2) Parties may use data requests as a means 
for discovery.  

(A) Data request means an informal writ-
ten request for documents or information that 
may be transmitted directly between attor-
neys, agents, or employees of the commis-
sion, public counsel, or other parties.  

(B) Answers to data requests need not be 
under oath or be in any particular format, but 
shall be signed by a person who is able to 
attest to the truthfulness and correctness of 
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the answers.  
(C) The party to whom data requests are 

presented shall answer the requests within 
twenty (20) days after receipt unless otherwise 
agreed to by the parties to the data requests, or 
otherwise ordered by the commission.  

(D) If the recipient objects to data requests 
or is unable to answer within twenty (20) 
days, the recipient shall serve all of the objec-
tions or reasons for its inability to answer in 
writing upon the requesting party within ten 
(10) days after receipt of the data requests, 
unless otherwise ordered by the commission.  

(E) If the recipient asserts an inability to 
answer the data requests within the twenty 
(20)-day time limit, the recipient shall 
include the date it will be able to answer the 
data requests simultaneously with its reasons 
for its inability to answer.  

(F) The responding party shall promptly 
notify the requesting party of any changes to 
the answers previously given to a data request. 

(G) Upon agreement by the parties or as 
ordered by the commission for good cause 
shown, the time limits for serving or answer-
ing data requests may be modified.  

(H) Any data request issued to or by the 
staff of the commission shall be submitted 
and responded to in the commission’s Elec-
tronic Filing and Information System (EFIS). 
However, if the technical limitations of EFIS 
make such submission or response difficult, 
the parties to the data requests may agree 
upon an alternative method of submission and 
response, or an alternative method of submis-
sion and response may be ordered by the 
commission. 

(I) Sanctions for failure to answer data 
requests may include any of those provided 
for abuse of the discovery process in section 
(1) of this rule. 

(3) All prehearing conferences shall be held 
as directed by the commission or presiding 
officer, and reasonable notice of the prehear-
ing conference time shall be given to the par-
ties involved. 

(4) Any party may petition the commission to 
hold a prehearing conference at any time 
prior to the hearing. 

(5) Failure to appear at a prehearing confer-
ence without previously having secured a 
continuance shall constitute grounds for dis-
missal of the party or the party’s complaint, 
application or other action unless good cause 
for the failure to appear is shown. 

(6) Parties may consider procedural and sub-
stantive matters at the prehearing conference 
which may aid in the disposition of the issues. 

Matters which require a decision may be pre-
sented to the presiding officer during the con-
ference. 

(7) Facts disclosed in the course of a prehear-
ing conference and settlement offers are priv-
ileged and, except by agreement, shall not be 
used against participating parties unless fully 
substantiated by other evidence. 

(8) Except when authorized by an order of the 
commission, the commission will not enter-
tain any discovery motions, until the follow-
ing requirements have been satisfied: 

(A) Counsel for the moving party has in 
good faith conferred or attempted to confer 
by telephone or in person with opposing 
counsel concerning the matter prior to the fil-
ing of the motion. Merely writing a demand  
letter is not sufficient. Counsel for the mov-
ing party shall certify compliance with this 
rule in any discovery motion; and 

(B) If the issues remain unresolved after 
the attorneys have conferred in person or by 
telephone, counsel shall arrange with the 
commission for an immediate telephone con-
ference with the presiding officer and oppos-
ing counsel. No written discovery motion 
shall be filed until this telephone conference 
has been held. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.090. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 
7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. Amended: 
Filed June 9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. 
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 10, 
1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and 
readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective 
April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed Jan. 22, 
2014, effective Aug. 30, 2014. Moved to 20 
CSR 4240-2.090, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.100 Subpoenas 

PURPOSE: The commission may issue sub-
poenas for the production of witnesses and 
records. This rule prescribes the procedures 
for requesting and issuing subpoenas. 

(1) A request for a subpoena or a subpoena 
duces tecum requiring a person to appear and 
testify at the taking of a deposition or at a 
hearing, or for production of documents or 
records shall be filed on the form provided by 
the commission and shall be directed to the 
secretary of the commission. A request for a 
subpoena duces tecum shall specify the par-

ticular document or record to be produced, 
and shall state the reasons why the production 
is believed to be material and relevant. 

(2) Except for a showing of good cause, a 
subpoena or subpoena duces tecum shall not 
be issued fewer than twenty (20) days before 
a hearing. 

(3) Objections to a subpoena or subpoena 
duces tecum or motions to quash a subpoena  
or subpoena duces tecum shall be made with-
in ten (10) days from the date the subpoena or 
subpoena duces tecum is served. 

(4) Subpoenas or subpoenas duces tecum 
shall be signed and issued by the secretary of 
the commission, a commissioner or by a law 
judge pursuant to statutory delegation author-
ity. The name and address of the witness shall 
be inserted in the original subpoena or sub-
poena duces tecum and a copy of the return 
shall be filed with the secretary of the com-
mission. Subpoenas or subpoenas duces 
tecum shall show at whose instance the sub-
poena or subpoena duces tecum is issued. 
Blank subpoenas shall not be issued. 

(5) If there is a failure to comply with a sub-
poena or a subpoena duces tecum after objec-
tions or a motion to quash have been deter-
mined by the commission, the commission by 
its counsel or the party seeking enforcement 
may apply to a judge of the circuit court of 
the county in which—the hearing has been 
held, is being held, or is scheduled to be 
held, or where the witness resides or may be 
found—for an order enforcing the subpoena 
or subpoena duces tecum. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo Supp. 
1998.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 
240-2.100. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 
7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.100, effective Aug. 
28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939 amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.110 Hearings 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dures for the setting, notices, and conduct of 
hearings. 

(1) The commission shall set the time and 
place for all hearings and serve notice as 
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required by law.  Additional notice may be 
served when the commission deems it to be 
appropriate. 

(2) The presiding officer may order continu-
ance of a hearing date for good cause. 

(A) When a continuance has been granted 
at the request of the applicant or complainant, 
the commission may dismiss the case for fail-
ure to prosecute if it has not received a 
request from the applicant or complainant 
that the matter be again continued or set for 
hearing within ninety (90) days from the date 
of the order granting the continuance. 

(B) Failure to appear at a hearing without 
previously having secured a continuance shall 
constitute grounds for dismissal of the party 
or the party’s complaint, application or other 
action unless good cause for the failure to 
appear is shown. 

(3) When pending actions involve related 
questions of law or fact, the commission may 
order a joint hearing of any or all the matters 
at issue, and may make other orders concern-
ing cases before it to avoid unnecessary costs 
or delay. 

(4) The presiding officer shall establish a pro-
cedural schedule through one (1) or more 
procedural orders in which the hearing and 
conference dates are set, date for filing testi-
mony and pleadings are set, and any other 
applicable procedural parameters are estab-
lished as determined necessary by the presid-
ing officer or agreed to by the parties. 

(5) The order of procedure in hearings shall 
be as follows, unless otherwise agreed to by 
the parties or ordered by the presiding offi-
cer: 

(A) In all cases except investigation cases, 
the applicant or complainant shall open and 
close, with intervenors following the staff 
counsel, or his designee, and the public coun-
sel in introducing evidence; and 

(B) In investigation cases, the staff coun-
sel, or his designee, shall open and close. 

(6) A reporter appointed by the commission 
shall make a full and complete record of the 
entire proceeding in any formal hearing, or of 
any other hearing or proceeding at which the 
commission determines reporting is appropri-
ate. 

(7) Suggested corrections to the transcript of 
record shall be offered within ten (10) days 
after the transcript is filed, except for good 
cause shown. The suggestions shall be in 
writing and shall be filed in the official com-
mission file. Objections to proposed correc-
tions shall be made in writing within ten (10) 
days after the filing of the suggestions. The 

commission shall determine what changes, if 
any, shall be made in the record after a 
review of the suggested corrections and any 
objections. 

(8) A party may request that the commission 
reopen the record for the taking of additional 
evidence if the request is made after the hear-
ing has been concluded, but before briefs 
have been filed or oral argument presented, 
or before a decision has been issued in the 
absence of briefs or argument. Such a request 
shall be made by filing a motion to reopen the 
record for the taking of additional evidence. 
The motion shall assert the justification for 
taking additional evidence including material 
changes of fact or of law alleged to have 
occurred since the conclusion of the hearing. 
The petition shall also contain a brief state-
ment of the proposed additional evidence, 
and an explanation as to why this evidence 
was not offered during the hearing. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.110. 
Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective 
Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 1984, 
effective June 15, 1985. Amended: Filed 
Sept. 6, 1985, effective Dec. 15, 1985. 
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 10, 
1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and 
readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective 
April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed March 2, 
2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 
CSR 4240-2.110, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.115 Stipulations and 
Agreements 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dure when a nonunanimous stipulation and 
agreement is presented to the commission. 

(1) Stipulations and Agreements. 
(A) The parties may at any time file a stip-

ulation and agreement as a proposed resolu-
tion of all or any part of a contested case. A 
stipulation and agreement shall be filed as a 
pleading. 

(B) The commission may resolve all or any 
part of a contested case on the basis of a stip-
ulation and agreement. 

(2) Nonunanimous Stipulations and Agree-
ments. 

(A) A nonunanimous stipulation and agree-
ment is any stipulation and agreement which 
is entered into by fewer than all of the parties.  

(B) Each party shall have seven (7) days 
from the filing of a nonunanimous stipulation 

and agreement to file an objection to the 
nonunanimous stipulation and agreement. 
Failure to file a timely objection shall consti-
tute a full waiver of that party’s right to a 
hearing.  

(C) If no party timely objects to a nonunan-
imous stipulation and agreement, the commis-
sion may treat the nonunanimous stipulation 
and agreement as a unanimous stipulation 
and agreement. 

(D) A nonunanimous stipulation and 
agreement to which a timely objection has 
been filed shall be considered to be merely a 
position of the signatory parties to the stipu-
lated position, except that no party shall be 
bound by it. All issues shall remain for deter-
mination after hearing.  

(E) A party may indicate that it does not 
oppose all or part of a nonunanimous stipula-
tion and agreement.  

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.115. 
Original rule filed June 9, 1987, effective 
Sept. 15, 1987. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 26, 2002, effective 
Nov. 30, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.115, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.116 Dismissal 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the condi-
tions under which the commission or an initi-
ating party may dismiss a case or by which 
any party may be dismissed. 

(1) An applicant or complainant may volun-
tarily dismiss an application or complaint 
without an order of the commission at any 
time before prepared testimony has been filed 
or oral evidence has been offered by filing a 
notice of dismissal with the commission. 
Once evidence has been offered or prepared 
testimony filed, an applicant or complainant 
may dismiss an action only by leave of the 
commission, or by written consent of all the 
parties. 

(2) Cases may be dismissed for lack of pros-
ecution if no action has occurred in the case 
for ninety (90) days and no party has filed a 
pleading requesting a continuance beyond 
that time. 

(3) A party may be dismissed from a case for 
failure to comply with any order issued by the 
commission, including failure to appear at 
any scheduled proceeding such as a public 
hearing, prehearing conference, hearing, or 
mediation session. 
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(4) A case may be dismissed for good cause 
found by the commission after a minimum of 
ten (10) days notice to all parties involved. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.116. 
Original rule filed March 10, 1995, effective 
Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.116, effec-
tive Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.117 Summary Disposition 

PURPOSE: This rule provides for disposition 
of a contested case by disposition in the 
nature of summary judgment or judgment on 
the pleadings. 

(1) Summary Determination. 
(A) Except in a case seeking a rate increase 

or which is subject to an operation of law 
date, any party may by motion, with or with-
out supporting affidavits, seek disposition of 
all or any part of a case by summary determi-
nation at any time after the filing of a respon-
sive pleading, if there is a respondent, or at 
any time after the close of the intervention 
period. However, a motion for summary 
determination shall not be filed less than 
sixty (60) days prior to the hearing except by 
leave of the commission. 

(B) Motions for summary determination 
shall state with particularity in separately 
numbered paragraphs each material fact as to 
which the movant claims there is no genuine 
issue, with specific references to the plead-
ings, testimony, discovery, or affidavits that 
demonstrate the lack of a genuine issue as to 
such facts. Each motion for summary deter-
mination shall have attached thereto a sepa-
rate legal memorandum explaining why sum-
mary determination should be granted and 
testimony, discovery or affidavits not previ-
ously filed that are relied on in the motion. 
The movant shall serve the motion for sum-
mary determination upon all other parties not 
later than the date upon which the motion is 
filed with the commission. 

(C) Not more than thirty (30) days after a 
motion for summary determination is served, 
any party may file and serve on all parties a 
response in opposition to the motion for sum-
mary determination. Attached thereto shall 
be any testimony, discovery or affidavits not 
previously filed that are relied on in the 
response. The response shall admit or deny 
each of movant’s factual statements in num-
bered paragraphs corresponding to the num-
bered paragraphs in the motion for summary 

determination, shall state the reason for each 
denial, shall set out each additional material 
fact that remains in dispute, and shall support 
each factual assertion with specific references 
to the pleadings, testimony, discovery, or affi-
davits. The response may also have attached 
thereto a legal memorandum explaining why 
summary determination should not be grant-
ed. 

(D) For good cause shown, the commis-
sion may continue the motion for summary 
determination for a reasonable time to allow 
an opposing party to conduct such discovery 
as is necessary to permit a response to the 
motion for summary determination.  

(E) The commission may grant the motion 
for summary determination if the pleadings, 
testimony, discovery, affidavits, and memo-
randa on file show that there is no genuine 
issue as to any material fact, that any party is 
entitled to relief as a matter of law as to all or 
any part of the case, and the commission 
determines that it is in the public interest. An 
order granting summary determination shall 
include findings of fact and conclusions of 
law. 

(F) If the commission grants a motion for 
summary determination, but does not dispose 
thereby of the entire case, it shall hold an evi-
dentiary hearing to resolve the remaining 
issues. Those facts found in the order grant-
ing partial summary determination shall be 
established for purposes of the hearing.  

(G) The commission may hear oral argu-
ment on a motion for summary determina-
tion. 

(2) Determination on the Pleadings—Except 
in a case seeking a rate increase or which is 
subject to an operation of law date, the com-
mission may, on its own motion or on the 
motion of any party, dispose of all or any part 
of a case on the pleadings whenever such dis-
position is not otherwise contrary to law or 
contrary to the public interest. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.117. 
Original rule filed March 26, 2002, effective 
Nov. 30, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.117, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

 
20 CSR 4240-2.120 Presiding Officers 

PURPOSE: This rule states the duties of pre-
siding officers and the procedure for disqual-
ifying them. 

(1) A presiding officer shall have the duty to 
conduct full, fair, and impartial hearings, to 
take appropriate action to avoid unnecessary 

delay in the disposition of cases, and to main-
tain order, and shall possess all powers nec-
essary to that end, including, but not limited 
to, convening discovery conferences as need-
ed and resolving discovery disputes. The pre-
siding officer may take action as may be nec-
essary and appropriate to the discharge of 
duties, consistent with the statutory authority 
or other authorities under which the commis-
sion functions, and with the rules and policies 
of the commission. 

(2) Whenever any party shall deem the pre-
siding officer for any reason to be disquali-
fied to preside, or to continue to preside, in a 
particular case, the party may file with the 
secretary of the commission a motion to dis-
qualify with affidavits setting forth the 
grounds alleged for disqualification. A copy 
of the motion shall be served by the commis-
sion on the presiding officer whose removal is 
sought and the presiding officer shall have 
seven (7) days from the date of service within 
which to reply.  

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.120. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed June 
9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 2018, effective July 
30, 2019. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.120, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

Union Electric Co. v. PSC, 591 SW2d 134 
(Mo. App. 1979). Prohibition will be under 
common law rule to disqualify a PSC com-
missioner who was a party in a case now 
pending before her. 

 
20 CSR 4240-2.125 Procedures for Alter-
native Dispute Resolution 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures 
which will allow parties to utilize alternative 
dispute resolution methods in order to resolve 
issues or the entire matter in dispute. 

(1) Settlement Negotiations. 
(A) When the parties agree that the partic-

ipation of a presiding officer in the settlement 
process would be beneficial, those parties 
shall file a motion for appointment of a set-
tlement officer for that case. The motion shall 
contain— 

1. A statement that all parties agree to 
the procedure; 
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2. A list of the issues to be addressed or 
matters the parties wish the presiding officer 
to aid them in resolving; and 

3. A date by which a settlement will be 
reached or settlement negotiations under this 
procedure will end. 

(B) If the commission grants the motion 
for a settlement officer, it shall issue an order 
scheduling a settlement conference and shall 
appoint a presiding officer to participate in 
settlement negotiations. 

(C) The negotiations and statements of the 
parties or attorneys made at the settlement 
conference shall be off the record and shall 
not be made a part of the official case. 

(D) If a settlement is not reached before 
the date specified by the parties in their 
motion, the procedure shall end unless the 
parties all agree to an extension and the pro-
cedure is extended by order of the commis-
sion. 

(2) Mediation. 
(A) The commission may order mediation 

before any further proceeding in a case. 
(B) As the commission deems appropriate, 

or upon a request for mediation, the commis-
sion may appoint a presiding officer or other 
neutral third party other than the presiding 
officer assigned to the case to mediate the 
dispute. 

(C) All other actions on the case shall 
cease and all time limitations shall be tolled 
pending the completion of mediation process, 
except as otherwise provided by law. 

(D) The mediator shall be disqualified 
from conducting an evidentiary hearing relat-
ing to that particular case and shall not make 
any communication regarding the settlement 
or mediation discussions in the case to any 
commissioner or the presiding officer 
appointed to preside over the case. 

(E) Failure to appear and participate in 
good faith in commission ordered mediation 
shall be grounds for sanctions including dis-
missal or default of the noncompliant party. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.125. Original rule filed March 10, 1995, 
effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 
30, 2000. Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, 
effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 
4240-2.125, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.130 Evidence 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the rules of 
evidence in any hearing before the commis-
sion. 

(1) In any hearing, these rules supplement 
section 536.070, RSMo. 

(2) If any information contained in a docu-
ment on file as a public record with the com-
mission is offered in evidence, the document 
need not be produced as an exhibit unless 
directed otherwise by the presiding officer, 
but may be received in evidence by reference, 
provided that the particular portions of the 
document shall be specifically identified and 
are relevant and material. The information 
may be assigned an exhibit number for iden-
tification. 

(3) The presiding officer shall rule on the 
admissibility of all evidence. Evidence to 
which an objection is sustained, at the request 
of the party seeking to introduce the same or 
at the instance of the commission, neverthe-
less may be heard and preserved in the 
record, together with any cross-examination 
with respect to the evidence and any rebuttal 
of the evidence, unless it is wholly irrelevant, 
repetitious, privileged or unduly long. When 
objections are made to the admission or 
exclusion of evidence, the grounds relied 
upon shall be stated briefly. Formal excep-
tions to rulings shall be unnecessary and need 
not be taken. 

(4) In extraordinary circumstances where 
prompt decision by the commission is neces-
sary to promote substantial justice, the pre-
siding officer may refer a matter to the com-
mission for determination during the progress 
of the hearing. 

(5) The rules of privilege are effective to the 
same extent that they are in civil actions. 

(6) Format for Prepared Testimony.   
(A) It shall be typed or printed, in black 

type on a white page that is eight and one-half 
inches by eleven inches (8 1/2" × 11").  

(B) It shall be double-spaced and have 
pages numbered consecutively at the bottom 
right-hand corner or bottom center beginning 
with the first page as page 1. 

(C) If not filed electronically, it shall be 
filed unfolded and stapled together at the top 
left-hand margin or bound at an edge in 
booklet form. 

(D) It shall have at least a one-inch (1") 
margin on the top, bottom, and both sides. 

(E) Schedules shall bear the word “sched-
ule,” and the number of the schedule shall be 
typed in the lower right-hand margin of the 
first page of the schedule.  

(F) All prepared testimony and other 
exhibits and schedules shall contain the fol-
lowing information in the following format on 
the upper right-hand corner of a cover sheet: 
 
Exhibit No.:          (To be marked by the hearing reporter) 

Issue:                    (If known at the time of filing) 
Witness:                (Full name of witness) 
Type of Exhibit:    (Specify whether direct, rebuttal, or 
                            other type of exhibit) 
Sponsoring Party: 
Case No.: 
Date Testimony Prepared: 

(G) It shall be filed on line-numbered 
pages.  

(H) Testimony that addresses more than 
one (1) issue shall contain a table of contents.  

(I) Electronically filed prepared testimony 
shall be formatted and labeled in the same 
manner as paper filings.  

(J) Printing on both sides of the page is 
encouraged.  

(7) For the purpose of filing prepared testi-
mony, direct, rebuttal, and surrebuttal testi-
mony are defined as follows: 

(A) Direct testimony shall include all testi-
mony and exhibits asserting and explaining 
that party’s entire case-in-chief; 

(B) Where all parties file direct testimony, 
rebuttal testimony shall include all testimony 
which is responsive to the testimony and 
exhibits contained in any other party’s direct 
case. A party need not file direct testimony to 
be able to file rebuttal testimony; 

(C) Where only the moving party files 
direct testimony, rebuttal testimony shall 
include all testimony which explains why a 
party rejects, disagrees or proposes an alter-
native to the moving party’s direct case; and 

(D) Surrebuttal testimony shall be limited 
to material which is responsive to matters 
raised in another party’s rebuttal testimony. 

(8) Except as set out in this section, the pre-
pared testimony of each witness shall be filed 
separately and shall be accompanied by an 
affidavit providing the witness’s oath. In lieu 
of prepared direct testimony, any party may 
file a report that presents in narrative form, 
and with complete and comprehensive detail, 
the analysis and conclusions of one (1) or 
more expert witness(es) and the facts and 
information on which they relied. In any 
report, the contributing expert witnesses shall 
be listed together with an indication of the 
portion or portions of the report to which 
each contributed. The qualifications of each 
contributing expert witness shall be attached 
to the report as a schedule. Any such report 
shall comply with the commission’s require-
ments in sections (6) and (7).  

(9) In any case, the commission or presiding 
officer may direct that testimony be taken live 
rather than prepared in advance. 
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(10) No party shall be permitted to supple-
ment prefiled prepared direct, rebuttal, or 
surrebuttal testimony unless ordered by the 
presiding officer or the commission. A party 
shall not be precluded from having a reason-
able opportunity to address matters not previ-
ously disclosed which arise at the hearing. 
This provision does not forbid the filing of 
supplemental direct testimony for the purpose 
of replacing projected financial information 
with actual results. 

(11) Any or all parties may file a stipulation 
as to the facts. This stipulation shall not pre-
clude the offering of additional evidence by 
any party except as specified in the stipula-
tion. 

(12) Exhibits shall be legible and, unless oth-
erwise authorized by the commission, shall 
be prepared on a standard eight and one-half 
by eleven inch (8 1/2" × 11")-size page. The 
pages of each exhibit shall be numbered and 
rate comparisons and other figures shall be 
set forth in tabular form. 

(13) Exhibits shall be tendered to the reporter 
at the time of hearing without being prenum-
bered by the offering party, unless otherwise 
ordered by the presiding officer. 

(14) All exhibits shall be marked at the time 
of hearing, using a single series of numbers, 
unless otherwise ordered by the presiding 
officer. 

(15) Unless the presiding officer directs oth-
erwise, when exhibits that have not previous-
ly been filed are offered in evidence, the orig-
inal shall be furnished to the reporter, and the 
party offering exhibits also shall be prepared 
to furnish a copy to each commissioner, the 
presiding officer, and each party. 

(16) The presiding officer may require the 
production of further evidence upon any 
issue. The presiding officer may authorize the 
filing of specific evidence as a part of the 
record within a fixed time after submission, 
reserving exhibit numbers, and setting other 
conditions for such production. 

(17) Unless otherwise ordered, any objection 
to the admission of a post-hearing exhibit 
must be filed within ten (10) days of the date 
the exhibit was filed. 

(18) Evidence for which a claim of confiden-
tiality is made shall be provided in confor-
mance with 4 CSR 240-2.135 or with any 
protective order specific to that information. 

(19) All testimony shall be taken under oath. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.130. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 
6, 1981, effective Feb. 15, 1982. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. 
Amended: Filed June 9, 1987, effective Nov. 
12, 1987. Amended: Filed Feb. 23, 1990, 
effective May 24, 1990. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Nov. 
30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: Filed 
Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed Sept. 11, 2001, effective April 
30, 2002. Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, 
effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 
4240-2.130, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

State ex rel. Utility Consumers Council v. 
Public Service Commission, 562 S.W.2d 688 
(Mo. App. 1978). At a hearing on the 
issuance of a certificate of convenience and 
necessity, the  commission denied appellant 
consumers council opportunity to cross-exam-
ine electric utility’s witnesses on certain testi-
mony regarding costs. The proprietary nature 
of the cost information involved does not pro-
tect it from cross-examination by consumers 
council, and denial of right to such cross-
examination was improper. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.135 Confidential Informa-
tion 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dures for handling confidential information in 
cases before the commission.  

(1) All items filed in case proceedings before 
the commission shall be open to the public 
unless protected pursuant to this rule or oth-
erwise protected by law.   

(2) Confidential Designation. 
(A) Any person may submit to the commis-

sion, without first obtaining a protective order, 
information designated as confidential if that 
information is— 

1. Customer-specific information;  
2. Employee-sensitive personnel infor-

mation;  
3. Marketing analysis or other market-

specific information relating to services 
offered in competition with others;   

4. Marketing analysis or other market-
specific information relating to goods or ser-
vices purchased or acquired for use by a com-
pany in providing services to customers;  

5. Reports, work papers, or other docu-
mentation related to work produced by inter-

nal or external auditors, consultants, or attor-
neys, except that total amounts billed by each 
external auditor, consultant, or attorney for 
services related to general rate proceedings 
shall always be public; 

6. Strategies employed, to be employed, 
or under consideration in contract negotia-
tions;   

7. Relating to the security of a compa-
ny’s facilities; or   

8. Concerning trade secrets, as defined 
in section 417.453, RSMo. 

(B) Any information designated as confi-
dential shall be submitted with a cover sheet 
or pleading describing how such information 
qualifies as confidential under subsection 
(2)(A) of this rule, including the specific sub-
section relied upon and an explanation of its 
applicability. Only the specific information 
that qualifies as confidential shall be designat-
ed as such. In addition, each document that 
contains confidential information shall bear 
the designation “Confidential” and the para-
graph(s) of 4 CSR 240-2.135(2)(A) through 
which that information is protected. 

(3) Protective Order. 
(A) In addition to information that may be 

designated as confidential as set out in this 
rule, any person may seek a protective order 
from the commission designating specific 
information as confidential. If a protective 
order is granted, the protected information 
shall be considered confidential information. 
A request for a protective order shall be made 
as follows: 

1. By filing a separate pleading denomi-
nated “Motion for Protective Order,” which 
may initiate a new case if a related case is not 
already pending; 

2. The pleading shall state with particu-
larity why the moving party seeks protection 
and what harm may occur if the information 
is made public; 

3. The pleading shall also state whether 
any of the information for which a claim of 
confidentiality is made can be found in any 
other public document;  

(B) The information for which a claim of 
confidentiality is made may be designated as 
confidential while the motion is pending if 
only the specific information at issue is des-
ignated as such.  

(4) The commission may order greater pro-
tection than that provided by a confidential 
designation upon a motion explaining what 
information must be protected, the harm to 
the disclosing entity or the public that might 
result from disclosure of the information, and 
an explanation of how the information may be 
disclosed while protecting the interests of the 
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disclosing entity and the public.  
(A) While such a motion is pending, the 

disclosing party requesting greater protection 
will be afforded the protection sought. Howev-
er, in all circumstances, the disclosing party 
must, at a minimum, provide a detailed sum-
mary of the information at issue.   

(B) Any document that contains such infor-
mation shall bear the designation “Highly 
Confidential,” rather than “Confidential,” but 
shall otherwise follow the formatting delineat-
ed in section (10) of this rule. 

(5) When a party seeks discovery of informa-
tion that the party from whom discovery is 
sought believes to be confidential, the party 
from whom discovery is sought may desig-
nate the information confidential.   

(A) No order from the commission is nec-
essary before a party in any case pending 
before the commission may designate discov-
ery responses confidential, and such informa-
tion shall be protected as provided in this 
rule. 

(B) The party that designates discovery 
information confidential shall inform, in 
writing, the party seeking discovery how that 
information qualifies as confidential under 
subsection (2)(A) of this rule at the same time 
it responds to the discovery request. If the 
party seeking discovery disagrees with the 
designation placed on the information, that 
party shall follow the informal discovery dis-
pute resolution procedures set forth in 4 CSR 
240-2.090(8). If the party seeking discovery 
exhausts these dispute resolution procedures, 
that party may file a motion challenging the 
designation. 

(6) Confidential information may be dis-
closed only to the attorneys of record for a 
party and to employees of a party who are 
working as subject-matter experts for those 
attorneys or who intend to file testimony in 
that case, or to persons designated by a party 
as an outside expert in that case.   

(A) The party disclosing information des-
ignated as confidential shall serve the infor-
mation on the attorney for the requesting 
party. 

(B) If a party wants any employee or out-
side expert to review confidential informa-
tion, the party shall identify that person to the 
disclosing party by name, title, and job clas-
sification before disclosure. The person to 
whom the information is to be disclosed shall 
comply with the certification requirements of 
section (7) of this rule. 

(C) A customer of a utility may view his or 
her own customer-specific information, even 
if that information is otherwise designated as 
confidential. 

(7) Any employee of a party or outside expert 
retained by a party that wishes to review con-
fidential information shall first certify in 
writing that such expert or employee of a 
party will comply with the requirements of 
this rule.  

(A) The certification shall include the sig-
natory’s full name, permanent address, title 
or position, date signed, the case number of 
the case for which the signatory will view the 
information, and the identity of the party for 
whom the signatory is acting.    

(B) The signed certificate shall be filed in 
the case.   

(C) The party seeking disclosure of the 
confidential information shall provide a copy 
of the certificate to the disclosing party 
before disclosure is made.   

(8) If information to be disclosed in response 
to a discovery request is information concern-
ing another entity—whether or not a party to 
the case—that the other entity has indicated is 
confidential, the disclosing party shall notify 
the other entity of its intent to disclose the 
information. If the other entity informs the 
disclosing party that it wishes to protect the 
information, the disclosing party shall desig-
nate the information as confidential under the 
provisions of this rule.   

(9) Any party may use confidential informa-
tion in prefiled testimony, in a pleading, at 
hearing, or in a brief if the same level of con-
fidentiality assigned by the disclosing party, 
or the commission, is maintained. Before 
including nonpublic information that it has 
obtained outside this proceeding in its plead-
ing or testimony, a party shall ascertain from 
the source of the information whether that 
information is claimed to be confidential.  

(10) Any prefiled testimony that contains 
information designated as confidential shall 
be filed with both a public and a nonpublic 
version as follows: 

(A) For the public version, the confidential 
portions shall be removed. The removal of 
confidential information shall be indicated by 
underlining and two (2) asterisks before and 
after the confidential information, e.g., 
**confidential information removed**. The 
designated information shall be removed in 
such a way that the lineation and pagination 
of the public version remains the same as the 
confidential version; 

(B) For the nonpublic version of the pre-
filed testimony, the confidential information 
shall be indicated by underlining and by two 
(2) asterisks before and after the confidential 
information, e.g., **confidential informa-
tion**;  

(C) At the hearing, the party offering the 
prefiled testimony shall present a public ver-
sion of the testimony in which the confiden-
tial portions are removed. The public version 
of the testimony will be marked as Exhibit 
___. The offering party shall also present a 
separate copy of the prefiled testimony con-
taining confidential information, sealed in an 
envelope. The version of the testimony con-
taining confidential information will be 
marked as Exhibit ___C. 

(D) These delineation requirements shall 
also be used when designating confidential 
portions of pleadings and briefs.   

(11) At any time after the filing of discovery, 
testimony, brief, or pleading that contains 
information designated as confidential, the 
commission may challenge the designation of 
the discovery, testimony, brief, or pleading. 
A party may also challenge such a designa-
tion at any time by filing an appropriate 
motion with the commission.  

(12) All live testimony, including cross-exam-
ination and oral argument, which reveals 
information that is designated as confidential 
may be offered only after the hearing room is 
cleared of all persons except those persons to 
whom the confidential information is avail-
able under this rule. The transcript of such 
live testimony or oral argument shall be kept 
under seal and copies shall be provided only 
to the commission and attorneys of record. 
The contents of such transcripts shall not be 
disclosed to anyone other than those permit-
ted access to the designated information 
under this rule. 

(13) All persons who have access to informa-
tion under this rule shall keep the information 
secure and may neither use nor disclose such 
information for any purpose other than prepa-
ration for and conduct of the proceeding for 
which the information was provided. This 
rule shall not prevent the commission’s staff 
or the Office of the Public Counsel from 
using confidential information obtained under 
this rule as the basis for additional investiga-
tions or complaints against any public utility.  

(14) After receiving a notice of appeal, the 
commission will deliver confidential testimo-
ny constituting part of the record before the 
commission to the reviewing court under 
seal, unless otherwise directed by the court.   

(15) Within ninety (90) days after the comple-
tion of a proceeding, including judicial 
review, all copies of all confidential informa-
tion, testi mony, exhibits, transcripts, or briefs 
in the possession of any party shall be 
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returned to the party claiming a confidential 
interest in such information if that party 
requests that the information be returned. 
Otherwise, the information shall be destroyed 
by the party possessing such information. 
Any notes pertaining to such information 
shall be destroyed. 

(16) The provisions of sections (6), (7), 
and (15) of this rule do not apply to officers 
or employees of the commission or to the 
public counsel or employees of the Office of 
the Public Counsel. The officers or employ-
ees of the commission and the public counsel 
and employees of the Office of the Public 
Counsel are subject to the nondisclosure pro-
visions of section 386.480, RSMo. Neither 
the officers or employees of the commission, 
nor the public counsel and the employees of 
the Office of the Public Counsel shall use or 
disclose any information obtained in discov-
ery for any purpose other than in the perfor-
mance of their duties.   

(17) Outside experts of the staff of the com-
mission or the Office of the Public Counsel 
who have been contracted to be witnesses in 
the proceeding shall have access to designat-
ed information and testimony on the same 
basis as the staff of the commission and the 
Office of the Public Counsel except that the 
outside expert shall comply with the provi-
sions of sections (7) and (15). Outside 
experts of the staff of the commission and the 
Office of the Public Counsel who have not 
been contracted to be witnesses in the pro-
ceeding shall be subject to all provisions of 
this rule. 

(18) A claim that information is confidential 
constitutes a representation to the commis-
sion that the claiming party has a reasonable 
and good faith belief that the subject docu-
ment or information is confidential pursuant 
to the section of this rule cited as justification 
for the designation.   

(19) The commission may waive or grant a 
variance from any provision of this rule for 
good cause shown. 

(20) Any reference in any statute or other 
regulation of this commission that refers to 
proprietary or highly confidential informa-
tion shall be interpreted to mean confidential 
information under this rule. 

AUTHORITY: sections 386.040 and 386.410, 
RSMo 2016.* This rule originally filed as 4 
CSR 240-2.135. Original rule filed May 25, 
2006, effective Jan. 30, 2007. Amended: 
Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. 

Amended: Filed Nov. 21, 2016, effective July 
30, 2017. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.135, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 
 
*Original authority: 386.040, RSMo 1939, amended 
1943, 1965 and 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.140 Briefs and Oral Argu-
ments 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the proce-
dures for filing briefs and presenting oral 
arguments in any hearing. 

(1) In any case, the commission or presiding 
officer shall determine whether the parties 
may file briefs or present oral argument, or 
both, and may establish time and page limits. 

(2) Unless otherwise ordered by the commis-
sion or presiding officer, initial post-hearing 
briefs shall be filed no later than twenty (20) 
days after the date on which the complete 
transcript of the hearing is filed. 

(3) Unless otherwise ordered by the commis-
sion or presiding officer, the parties shall 
have ten (10) days after the filing of the initial 
briefs to file their reply briefs.  

(4) Unless otherwise ordered by the commis-
sion or presiding officer, the time allowed for 
oral argument shall be— 

(A) For an applicant or complainant, thirty 
(30) minutes, which may be divided between 
the initial argument and reply argument, but 
no more than one-third (1/3) of the time shall 
be consumed by the reply argument; and 

(B) For all other parties, a total of fifteen 
(15) minutes each. 

(5) Unless otherwise ordered by the commis-
sion or presiding officer, the parties may file 
pre-hearing briefs, statements of position, 
and proposed findings of fact and conclusions 
of law. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.*  
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.140. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed June 
9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.140, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996.

20 CSR 4240-2.150 Decisions of the Com-
mission 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the method 
of issuing commission orders and the effective 
date of such orders. 

(1) The record of a case shall stand submitted 
for consideration by the commission after the 
recording of all evidence or, if applicable, 
after the filing of briefs or the presentation of 
oral argument. 

(2) The commission’s orders shall be in writ-
ing and shall be issued as soon as practicable 
after the record has been submitted for con-
sideration. 

(3) Every order of the commission shall be 
served by mailing a certified copy, with 
postage prepaid, to all parties of record. 

(4) The commission may, at its discretion, 
issue a preliminary order and allow parties to 
provide responses to the preliminary order. 
The commission may then issue its order 
after reviewing the responses of the parties. 

(5) As technology permits, and where the 
parties have provided their electronic mail 
address, the commission will attempt to issue 
an electronic copy of each order. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo Supp. 
1998.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 
240-2.150. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed June 
9, 1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.150, effective Aug. 
28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 

Am. Petrol. Exchange v. Public Service 
Commission, 172 SW2d 952, transferred 238 
Mo. App. 92, 176 SW2d 533 (Mo. 1943). 
Commission has no power to declare or 
enforce any principle of law or equity. Com-
mission cannot determine damages, award 
pecuniary relief or abate a nuisance. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.160 Rehearings and Recon-
sideration 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the proce-
dure for requesting a rehearing of a final 
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order or a reconsideration of a procedural or 
interlocutory order of the commission and the 
disposition of that request. 

(1) Applications for rehearing may be filed 
pursuant to statute.  

(2) Motions for reconsideration of procedural 
and interlocutory orders may be filed within 
ten (10) days of the date the order is issued, 
unless otherwise ordered by the commission. 
Motions for reconsideration shall set forth 
specifically the ground(s) on which the appli-
cant considers the order to be unlawful, 
unjust, or unreasonable. At any time before a 
final order is issued, the commission may, on 
its own motion, reconsider, correct, or other-
wise amend any order or notice issued in the 
case. 

(3) The filing of a motion for reconsideration 
shall not excuse any party from complying  
with any order of the commission, nor oper-
ate in any manner to stay or postpone the 
enforcement of any order, unless otherwise 
ordered by the commission. 

(4) The commission may correct its own 
orders nunc pro tunc. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2000.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-
2.160. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, 
effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed Nov. 
7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. Rescinded 
and readopted: Filed March 10, 1995, effec-
tive Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. 
Amended: Filed March 2, 2011, effective Oct. 
30, 2011. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.160, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.180 Rulemaking 

PURPOSE: This rule provides a procedure 
for rulemaking, and petitioning for rulemak-
ing, pursuant to Chapter 536, RSMo. 

(1) Promulgation, amendment, or rescission 
of rules may be initiated by the commission 
through an internally-generated rulemaking 
case, or pursuant to a rulemaking petition 
filed with the commission. 

(2) Petitions for promulgation, amendment, 
or rescission of rules shall be filed with the 
secretary of the commission in writing and 
shall include:  

(A) The name, street address, and mailing 
address of the petitioner; 

(B) One (1) of the following: 
1. The full text of the rule sought to be 

promulgated; 
2. The full text of any rule sought to be 

amended, including the suggested amend-
ments clearly marked; or 

3. The full number of any rule sought to 
be rescinded; 

(C) A statement of petitioner’s reasons in 
support of the promulgation, amendment, or 
rescission of the rule, including a statement 
of all facts pertinent to petitioner’s interest in 
the matter; 

(D) Citations of legal authority which 
authorize, support, or require the rulemaking 
action requested by the petition; 

(E) An estimation of the effect of the rule-
making on private persons or entities with 
respect to required expenditures of money or 
reductions in income, sufficient to form the 
basis of a fiscal note as required under Chap-
ter 536, RSMo; and 

(F) A verification of the petition by the 
petitioner by oath. 

(3) The commission shall either deny the 
petition in writing, stating the reasons for its 
decision, or shall initiate rulemaking in 
accordance with Chapter 536, RSMo. 

(4) The commission shall comply with the 
notice provisions of section 536.041, RSMo, 
upon the disposal of any rulemaking petition. 

(5) When the commission decides to promul-
gate, amend, or rescind a rule, it shall com-
ply with the requirements for rulemaking in 
Chapter 536, RSMo. 

(6) Persons filing written comments or testi-
fying or commenting at the hearing need not 
be represented by counsel, but may be repre-
sented if they choose. 

(7) Hearings on rulemakings may be for com-
missioner questions or for the taking of initial 
or reply comments. 

(8) Hearings for the taking of initial or reply 
comments on rulemakings shall proceed as 
follows: 

(A) A commissioner or presiding officer 
shall conduct the hearing, which shall be 
transcribed by a reporter; 

(B) Neither written nor oral comments 
need to be sworn, but testimony shall be 
taken under oath or affirmation; 

(C) Persons testifying or commenting at a 
hearing may give a statement in support of or 
in opposition to a proposed rulemaking. The 

commissioners or the presiding officer may 
question those persons testifying or com-
menting; 

(D) Statements shall first be taken from 
those supporting a proposed rule, followed by 
statements from those opposing the rule, 
unless otherwise directed by the presiding 
officer; 

(E) Persons testifying or commenting may 
offer exhibits in support of their positions; 
and 

(F) The commission may, at the hearing, 
hold the hearing open for a specified period 
if it determines extension is reasonably nec-
essary to elicit material information. 

(9) In compliance with the requirements of 
Chapter 536, RSMo, the commission shall 
either— 

(A) Adopt the proposed rule or proposed 
amendment as set forth in the notice of pro-
posed rulemaking without further change; 

(B) Adopt the proposed rule or proposed 
amendment with further changes; 

(C) Adopt the proposed rescission of the 
existing rule; or 

(D) Withdraw the proposed rule. 

AUTHORITY: sections 386.040, 386.250,  
386.310, 386.410, 392.210, 392.240, 
392.280, 392.290, 392.330, 393.140(3), (4), 
(6), (9), (11), and (12), 393.160, 393.220, 
393.240, 393.290, and 394.160, RSMo 2000 
and sections 392.200, 392.220, and 393.110, 
RSMo Supp. 2010.* This rule originally filed 
as 4 CSR 240-2.180. Original rule filed April 
26, 1976, effective Sept. 11, 1976. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 7, 1984, effective June 15, 1985. 
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 10, 
1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and 
readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective 
April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed March 2, 
2011, effective Oct. 30, 2011. Moved to 20 
CSR 4240-2.180, effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.040, RSMo 1939; 386.250, 
RSMo 1939, amended 1963, 1967, 1977, 1980, 1987, 
1988, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996; 386.310, RSMo 1939, 
amended 1979, 1989, 1996; 386.410, RSMo 1939, amend-
ed 1947, 1977, 1996; 392.200, RSMo 1939, amended 
1987, 1988, 1996; 392.210, RSMo 1939, amended 1984, 
1987, 2008; 392.220, RSMo 1939, amended 1987, 1988, 
1991, 1993, 1996, 2008; 392.240, RSMo 1939, amended 
1987; 392.280, RSMo 1939, amended 1987, 1993; 
392.290, RSMo 1939, amended 1986, 1987; 392.330, 
RSMo 1939, amended 1980, 1987, 1995; 393.110, RSMo 
1939, amended 1967, 2003; 393.140, RSMo 1939, 
amended 1949, 1967; 393.160, RSMo 1939, amended 
1949, 1984; 393.220, RSMo 1939, amended 1967, 1980; 
393.240, RSMo 1939, amended 1967; 393.290, RSMo 
1939, amended 1967; 394.160, RSMo 1939, amended 
1979. 

State ex rel. Southwestern Bell Telephone 
Co. v. PSC, 592 SW2d 184 (Mo. App. 1979). 
A declaratory judgment action under section 
536.050, RSMo is not available to challenge 

18               CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (9/30/19)       JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

20 CSR 4240-2—DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
AND INSURANCE Division 4240—Public Service Commission 
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Chapter 2—Practice and Procedure 20 CSR 4240-2

the validity of a rule of the Public Service 
Commission, since a specific, exclusive statu-
tory scheme for review of commission actions 
is contained in section 386.510, RSMo. 

Jefferson Lines, Inc. v. Missouri Public Ser-
vice Commission, 581 SW2d 124 (Mo. App. 
1979). In 4 CSR 240-2.180 the commission 
provided by rule a method for attack on any 
of its own rules. A record could be made and 
if the commission ruled adversely to the peti-
tion, an appeal would lie under section 
386.510, RSMo. Also, under section 
536.031.5, RSMo this court takes judicial 
notice of the rules printed in the Code of 
State Regulations. 
 
 
20 CSR 4240-2.205 Variance or Waiver  

PURPOSE: This rule consolidates variance 
and waiver into one (1) rule. 

The commission may grant variance from or 
waive any rule or provision of a rule promul-
gated by the commission upon a finding of 
good cause. 

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 240-2.205. 
Original rule filed Nov. 7, 2018, effective July 
30, 2019. Moved to 20 CSR 4240-2.205, 
effective Aug. 28, 2019. 

*Original authority: 386.410, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 
1977, 1996. 
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INTRODUCTION 

 
This guide describes the Missouri Public Service Commission (“PSC”) complaint process 

and how you can present your case to the PSC without a lawyer. In every case, the PSC wants to 

make the best decision possible. Therefore, the PSC wants to hear the best presentation from all 

sides. 

The PSC has a Consumer Hotline to assist you. If you have talked over your problem 

with the utility, and have not reached a satisfactory resolution, you can call the PSC’s Consumer 

Hotline. The number is 800-392-4211. The PSC also has a website. The PSC website has 

information, and links to other sites, addressing a wide range of utility issues. The address is 

http://psc.mo.gov/. The PSC does not discriminate on the basis of disability in the provision of 
 
programs, services, or employment. Anyone with an impairment of speech, hearing or vision, or 

http://psc.mo.gov/
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needing other such assistance, may call 800-392-4211 or TDD hotline 1-800-829-7541. The 
 
Commission will make every effort to get this information to you in a usable form. 

 
All complaints are unique so you will probably have an issue not addressed in this guide. 

This guide therefore references other resources including sources of law. This guide is not law. If 

the law ever conflicts with this guide, the law controls.  Neither this guide nor any other document 

can substitute for hiring your own lawyer. 

THE COMPLAINT PROCESS 
 
WHAT IS A COMPLAINT? 

 
A complaint is a statement that a utility has violated a statute, tariff, or Commission order 

or regulation. The statutes and PSC regulations provide for an informal complaint and a formal 

complaint. PSC regulations provide a small formal complaint process designed to be more 

accessible and easier to use. 

INFORMAL COMPLAINT 
 

An  informal  complaint  addresses  your  dispute  with  the  utility  without  legalistic 

procedures. Staff can explain the statute, tariff, or Commission order or regulation governing 

your complaint. Staff can also serve as an intermediary with the utility. Staff does not speak on 

the Commission’s behalf so, when Staff discusses your informal complaint, that discussion is not 

the Commission’s decision. You have the right to make a formal complaint to the Commission. 

FORMAL COMPLAINT 

A formal complaint starts a proceeding that resembles a trial in circuit court and leads to 

a legally binding decision on whether the utility violated a statute, tariff, or Commission order or 

regulation. That decision is so important that the statutes provide all parties with the right to a 
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hearing. In addition, the PSC’s regulations provide pre-hearing procedures including discovery 

and dispositive motions. A formal complaint is much like a trial in circuit court without a jury. 

SMALL FORMAL COMPLAINT 

A small formal complaint is a formal complaint in which the amount at issue is less than 
 
$3,000. A small formal complaint differs from other formal complaints in that the hearing must 

be near where you live: in St. Louis City if that is where you live, your county seat, or within 30 

miles of where the utility service was provided. Also, the order deciding your complaint on the 

merits can issue within 100 days after you file it, though most complainants need more time than 

that to prepare their case. 

HOW TO START A FORMAL COMPLAINT PROCEEDING 
 

First you must write down your formal complaint. You may use the sample complaint form 

in the back of this guide and fill in the blanks.   Or you may draft your own document. Either 

way, a formal complaint must allege conduct that violates a statute, tariff, or Commission order or 

regulation. If a formal complaint does not allege conduct that violates a statute, tariff, or 

Commission order or regulation, the Commission can do nothing with the formal complaint except 

dismiss it. 

Next, you must file that written formal complaint. Filing means that the Commission 

receives the formal complaint. Send the complaint to: 

Secretary 
Missouri Public Service Commission 
Post Office Box 360 
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0360 

 
Or use the Commission’s Electronic Filing and Information System (“EFIS”) at 

psc.mo.gov. 

https://psc.mo.gov/
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Once you have filed your formal complaint, the Commission will assign it a file number. 

Use the file number when discussing your formal complaint in writing or in person. It helps 

avoid confusion. 

FORMAL COMPLAINT PROCEDURE 
 

Your formal complaint is a type of action called a “contested case,” meaning a formally 

“contested” proceeding before the Commission. It is similar to a trial in circuit court. Formality 

is  reduced  but  the  decision  must  stand  on  the  law  and  evidence  entered  into  the  record. 

Generally, see the following authorities: 

• Chapter 536, RSMo is the chapter of the Missouri Revised Statutes that sets forth 

administrative procedure in general. It sets forth the basics of contested case 

procedure. 

• Chapter 386, RSMo is the chapter of the Missouri Revised Statutes that sets forth 
 

PSC procedure specifically. It contains several provisions regarding PSC hearings 

and formal complaints. 

• 20 CSR 4240-2.070. This is the regulation that applies to PSC formal 

complaint procedure specifically. 

Other laws cited above also apply. 
 

Your formal complaint may proceed through several phases before the Commission’s 

resolution. 

• Pleadings include your formal complaint and responsive documents in which the 
 

parties set forth what they want, the law that allows that relief, and facts relevant 

under that law. 
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• Discovery is the process by which the parties learn about what the other parties 

know and how they know it. It includes devices like data requests, depositions, 

interrogatories, document production requests, and subpoenas. 

• Pre-Hearing Motions ask the Commission to do something in preparation for 
 

hearing, like set a schedule or enforce discovery. 
 

• Dispositive  Motions  ask  the  Commission  to  dispose  of the  formal  complaint 

without a hearing. Dismissal means the Commission has no authority to address the 

formal complaint. Summary determination means that no hearing is necessary to 

decide who wins. Both must have support in the record, like admissions in an 

opponent’s  pleadings,  or  an  affidavit  to  support  an  allegation  outside  the 

pleadings. 

• Hearing  is  where  the  parties  offer  the  Commission  evidence  on  which  the 
 

Commission decides the formal complaint. Though statutes and regulations relax 

the law of evidence, certain fundamentals still apply. Consult the authorities cited 

above. 

• Briefs are written arguments in which parties tell the Commission why they 

should  win  by  citing  the  statute,  tariff,  or  Commission  regulation  or  order 

violated; and citing something in the record, like testimony in the transcript, 

showing that the violation occurred. 

• Report and Order is the Commission’s name for a decision made after a hearing 
 

on a formal complaint. If no hearing occurs, the Commission calls the decision an 

order. The Regulatory Law Judge drafts a recommended decision but the 

Commission is the final decision-maker. 
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The Commission votes on the decision at an open meeting under an agenda posted in advance. 

The Commission webcasts its agenda meetings so you can listen on your computer. 

The Commission’s decision is subject to rehearing until the effective date set forth in the 

decision. This means that you may ask the Commission to look at the formal complaint some more, 

including facts that arose after the Commission voted on the decision. But you must file your 

application for rehearing before the decision’s effective date. An application for rehearing filed 

on the effective date is too late.  If the Commission denies an application for rehearing the party 

who filed it may appeal to a court of law as the statutes provide. If you appeal the Commission’s 

decision, the reviewing court will only look at the issues you set out in an application for rehearing. 

HOW THE PSC WORKS 
 
WHAT IS THE PSC? 

 
The PSC is an executive-branch agency of Missouri government that regulates investor- 

owned utilities and some manufactured houses. The legislative branch of Missouri government 

created the PSC in 1913 and continues  to  set  legal  standards  for  the  PSC  to  follow. The 

judicial branch of Missouri government reviews decisions of the PSC for compliance with the 

law. Subject to those branches of government, the PSC operates its own internal legislative, 

judicial, and executive functions.  

STATUTES, TARIFFS, REGULATIONS AND ORDERS 

The subject of the complaint must be a violation of at least one of the following. 
 

• Statutes: The Missouri Revised Statutes. The statutes are laws made by elected 

officials—your State representatives and State senators—in the Missouri General 

Assembly. Chapters 386, 392, 393, and 536 contain most of the statutes that 
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govern your complaint. You can view the statutes online at 
 

https://revisor.mo.gov/main/Home.aspx . 
 

• Tariffs. Tariffs are schedules of rates, charges, and terms of service that every 

utility must have on file with the PSC. You can view tariffs online through the 

Commission’s Electronic Filing and Information System (“EFIS”) at 
 

https://efis.psc.mo.gov/mpsc/TariffSearch.html . 
 

• Regulations. The Code of State Regulations. Regulations (or “rules”) are laws 

made by officials like the Commissioners of the PSC. The PSC’s regulations are 

at 20 CSR 4240. You can view the regulations online at 
 

http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/csr.asp . 
 

• Orders.  the  PSC  might  also  impose  other  requirements  on  a  utility by  order 

directed   to   that   utility   alone.   You   can   view   orders   online   through   the 

Commission’s Electronic Filing and Information System (“EFIS”) at 
 

https://efis.psc.mo.gov . 
 
OTHER LAW 

 
Other sources of law that determine your complaint are published in hard copy, which might 

be available at a public library or law library, and online. The most important laws include: 

• Case Law. Case law is made by Missouri appellate courts—the Missouri Court of 

Appeals and the Missouri Supreme Court—when they decide an appeal from 

another governmental body.  Missouri appellate court opinions are posted at 
 

http://www.courts.mo.gov/page.jsp?id=1944 . 

https://revisor.mo.gov/main/Home.aspx
https://efis.psc.mo.gov/mpsc/TariffSearch.html
http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/csr.asp
http://www.courts.mo.gov/page.jsp?id=1944
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• Commission Decisions. Decisions in other cases can give you an idea of how the 
 

Commission analyses formal complaints like yours. 
 

• Federal Authorities. These may include federal statutes, regulations, and case law. 
 
You can also consult secondary sources—books and journal articles that generally outline legal 

processes and explore specific legal issues. They include the Missouri Bar’s deskbook series, 

Thomson Reuter’s Missouri Practice Series, and the Journal of the Missouri Bar. Each of those 

bodies of law is available from other hard copy and online sources, but some online sources are 

expensive, and some are not as easy to use as the hard copies of authorities listed here. You may 

find secondary sources at a public library or a law library. 

WHO IS WHO AT THE PSC? 

The PSC consists of five commissioners, each appointed by the governor subject to 

confirmation by the Missouri Senate. The commissioners serve staggered six-year terms. 

Biographies of the commissioners are available online at https://psc.mo.gov/Commissioners/ . 
 
The Commissioners employ the following persons to help them process complaints. 

 
• Data Center. The PSC’s Data Center operates EFIS, receives filings, transmits 

order and notices, and keeps the Commission’s records. 

• Staff. The PSC hires neutral experts in engineering, accountancy, economics, and 
 

others, to help it make the best decisions possible. So that everyone knows what 

Staff is telling the Commission, the Commission’s regulations provide that Staff 

is a party—like you and the utility—to your complaint. Staff will investigate your 

complaint and file a report of its findings in your complaint file. 

• Staff Counsel. Staff Counsel is a group of lawyers that the PSC hires to represent 
 

Staff in actions including your complaint. 

https://psc.mo.gov/Commissioners/
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As in an informal complaint, Staff does not speak on the Commission’s behalf, nor does Staff 

Counsel. Staff reports to the Commission, and sometimes the Commission agrees with Staff, but 

sometimes the Commission does not. So when Staff issues a report or a recommendation, it does 

not determine your complaint. In a formal complaint, you have the right to make your case to the 

Commission. 

You may contact any of those persons about your complaint but none of them is your 

advocate in a formal complaint. Unlike a criminal prosecution, there is no right to appointed 

counsel before the PSC. 

In addition, the Commission assigns to your formal complaint a: 

• Regulatory Law Judge (“RLJ”). An RLJ is a lawyer employed by the PSC to

conduct proceedings in a variety of actions including your formal complaint. The

RLJ  will  manage  your  case,  issue  orders  on  motions  or  on  the  RLJ’s  own

initiative, convene conferences and an evidentiary hearing, and issues orders

addressing your formal complaint. The RLJ’s order may constitute a

recommendation to the Commission for the commissioners to vote on, or an order

may be effective right away.

Do not contact the RLJ about your case except in writing copied to all parties. 

To represent all ratepayers, the statutes also create: 

• The Office of Public Counsel (“OPC”). OPC is an office of Missouri government

independent of the PSC. But OPC represents the public in general and no one

person in particular. PSC regulations make OPC a party to every case.



FORMAL COMPLAINT FORM

Attach extra pages as necessary. 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI 

________________________________, )
(Your name here) ) 

Complainant, ) 
) 

v. ) File No. 
) 

________________________________ ) 
) (PSC fills this in) 

________________________________, ) 
(Utility’s name here) ) 

Respondent, ) 

FORMAL COMPLAINT

1. Complainant resides at:

 _____________________________________________________________________ 
(Address of complainant) 

______________________________________________________________________ 
(City) (State) (Zip Code) 

2. The utility service complained of was received at:

a. Complainant’s address listed in paragraph 1.

b. A different address:

_____________________________________________________________________
(Address where service is provided, if different from Complainant’s address) 

______________________________________________________________________ 
(City) (State) (Zip Code) 
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3. Respondent’s address is:

______________________________________________________________________ 
 (Address of complainant) 

______________________________________________________________________  
(City) (State) (Zip Code) 

4. Respondent is a public utility under the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public

Service Commission. 

5. The amount at issue is: $ _________________________________________
 (If your complaint is about money state how much is in dispute here.) 

6. Complainant now requests the following relief:

(Explain what you want the Commission to do: the specific results you are seeking in this complaint.) 

7. The relief requested is appropriate because Respondent has violated a

statute, tariff, or Commission regulation or order, as follows: 

(Explain why the Commission should grant the relief you seek: the facts that constitute a violation of a statute, tariff, or Commission 

regulation or order.) 

12



8. The Complainant has taken the following steps to present this matter to

the Respondent: 

(Please describe in detail what steps you have already taken to resolve this complaint.) 

_______________________ _____________________________________ 
Date Signature of Complainant 

________________________ _____________________________________ 
Complainant’s Phone Number  Complainant’s Printed Full Name 

_____________________________________ ________________________________________________________ 

Alternate Contact Number Complainant’s E-mail Address 

Attach additional pages, as necessary. Attach copies of any supporting documentation. Do not 
send originals of any supporting documentation.
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Information Sheet Regarding Mediation of Commission Formal Complaint Cases 
 
 

Mediation is a process where the parties work together to try to resolve their dispute 
with the aid of a neutral party, the mediator. The mediator’s role is help the parties talk to 
each other. The mediator may offer suggested solutions, but the mediator has no authority to 
tell the parties what they must do or to determine who “wins.” Instead, the mediator simply 
works with both parties to help them reach an agreement. 
 

Typically, at a mediation session the parties meet for an off-the-record discussion. The 
mediation session is not a formal proceeding like a hearing and no attorney is required to 
participate. The Regulatory Law Judges at the Public Service Commission are trained 
mediators and this service is offered to parties who have formal complaints pending before 
the Public Service Commission at no charge. If mediation is agreed to by the parties, the 
Commission will send notice of who the mediator will be and that person will set up the first 
meeting. 

 
There cannot be a mediation unless both parties to the complaint agree to try in good 

faith to resolve the dispute. If both parties agree to mediate the complaint, the only information 
about the mediation that will be disclosed to the Commission is (a) whether the case has 
been settled and (b) whether the mediation effort was considered to be helpful. The 
Commission will not ask what was discussed during the mediation. 
 

If the dispute is settled at the mediation, the Commission will require a signed release 
from the party filing the complaint before the formal complaint case can be dismissed. If the 
dispute is not resolved through the mediation process, neither party will be penalized for 
having taken part in the mediation and the formal complaint case will simply pick up where it 
left off. 
  

 
 

Nancy Dippell 
                           Secretary 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
STATE OF MISSOURI 

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

 
I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in 

this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom 

and the whole thereof. 

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, 

at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 28th day of June 2024.  

 

 

_____________________________ 
      Nancy Dippell  

Secretary 



MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

June 28, 2024 

 
File/Case No. SC-2024-0379 
 
 
 
MO PSC Staff 
Staff Counsel Department 
200 Madison Street, Suite 800 
P.O. Box 360 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov 

Office of the Public Counsel 
(OPC) 
Marc Poston 
200 Madison Street, Suite 650 
P.O. Box 2230 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
opcservice@opc.mo.gov 

Keith Edwards 
Keith Edwards 
3437 Pine Grove 
St. Louis, MO 63121 

   

Missouri-American Water 
Company 
Rachel Niemeier 
727 Craig Rd. 
St. Louis, MO 63141 
rachel.niemeier@amwater.com 

  

 
 
 
Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s). 
 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
Nancy Dippell 
Secretary1 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                            
1  
Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service.  Recipients without a valid e-mail 
address will receive paper service. 
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