STATE OF MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

At a session of the Public Service Commission held at its office in Jefferson City on the 28th day of August, 2019.

In the Matter of the Application of Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri for Approval of Efficient Electrification Program

File No. ET-2018-0132 Tariff No. YE-2020-0025

ORDER SUSPENDING TARIFFS AND SETTING AN ON-THE-RECORD PRESENTATION

)

)

Issue Date: August 28, 2019

Effective Date: August 28, 2019

On February 22, 2018, Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri (Ameren Missouri) filed an application and accompanying tariff sheets seeking approval of two new tariffed programs that were collectively referred to as the "Charge Ahead" program. The Charge Ahead program included, among other things, proposed tariffs to implement four subprograms of an electric vehicle charging station incentives program. The four sub-programs were: corridor charging; multi-family charging; public charging (also known as "around town charging"); and workplace charging. Of the four sub-programs, only the corridor charging program was approved by the Commission in its Report and Order issued in this case on February 6, 2019. The Commission also opened a working group file to continue to examine potential mechanisms for the facilitation of electric vehicle charging station installations. That working group, File No. EW-2019-0229, is ongoing and a Staff Report is expected to be filed in that case no later than September 30, 2019.

On August 8, 2019, Ameren Missouri, the Commission's Staff (Staff), and the Office of the Public Counsel (Public Counsel) filed a stipulation and agreement with

attached tariffs designed to allow Ameren Missouri to pursue multifamily, public, and workplace electric vehicle charging station incentive options, but as modified by the terms of the stipulation and agreement. The major terms of the stipulation and agreement and the attached tariffs, include a \$6.6 million budget for the three sub-programs, with allocations, incentive caps, power limits, and other program-related rules as detailed in the tariffs (Attachment A) and program process document (Attachment B). The program would begin on January 1, 2020, and continue for three calendar years with renewal of the sub-programs for an additional two years if Ameren Missouri demonstrated positive results from the sub-programs' implementations. The tariffs bear an effective date of September 7, 2019.

Commission rule 4 CSR 240-2.115(2)(B) allows nonsignatory parties seven days to object to a nonunanimous stipulation and agreement. More than seven days have passed and no objections were received. Renew Missouri Advocates, d/b/a Renew Missouri, ChargePoint, Inc., Sierra Club, and Natural Resources Defense Council each filed statements in support of the stipulation and agreement.

Given the size and significance of the electric vehicle charging station incentive programs, the Commission will set a time for an on-the-record presentation of the stipulation and agreement and tariffs so that it may ask questions about the programs. Additionally, since the Staff Report from the working group case is due to be filed by September 30, 2019, the Commission will set the presentation after the report is filed. Therefore, the Commission will suspend the tariff effective date for 60 days in order to examine the programs more thoroughly.

2

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. The tariff filed by Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri on August 8, 2019, and assigned tariff tracking number YE-2020-0025, is suspended until November 6, 2019.

2. The parties shall appear at an on-the-record presentation of the stipulation and agreement and tariff sheets to be held on October 9, 2019, at 9:00 a.m.

3. The on-the-record presentation will convene in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. The building meets accessibility standards required by the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any person who needs additional accommodations to participate in the proceeding shall contact the Commission, not later than the day before the presentation. Such contact shall be through the Commission's Hotline at 1-800-392-4211 (voice) or Relay Missouri at 711.

4. This order shall be effective when issued.



BY THE COMMISSION

2 Woodraff

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Silvey, Chm., Kenney, Hall, Rupp, and Coleman, CC., concur.

Dippell, Senior Regulatory Law Judge

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 28th day of August 2019.



Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

August 28, 2019

File/Case No. ET-2018-0132

Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

Office of the Public Counsel

Marc Poston 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@ded.mo.gov ChargePoint, Inc. Mark W Comley 601 Monroe Street., Suite 301 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0537 comleym@ncrpc.com

Empire District Electric Company, The Diana C Carter

428 E. Capitol Avenue, Suite 303 Jefferson City, MO 65101 Diana.Carter@LibertyUtilities.com

KCP&L Greater Missouri

Operations Company Robert Hack 1200 Main, 19th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64141-9679 rob.hack@kcpl.com

Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Lewis Mills 221 Bolivar Street, Suite 101 Jefferson City, MO 65101-1574 lewis.mills@bclplaw.com

Natural Resources Defense Council

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

Sierra Club

Joe Halso 1536 Wynkoop Street, Suite 200 Denver, CO 80202 joe.halso@sierraclub.org Kansas City Power & Light Company Robert Hack 1200 Main, 19th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64141-9679 rob.hack@kcpl.com

KCP&L Greater Missouri Operations Company

Roger W Steiner 1200 Main Street, 16th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64105-9679 roger.steiner@kcpl.com

Missouri Industrial Energy

Consumers (MIEC) Diana M Vuylsteke 211 N. Broadway, Suite 3600 St. Louis, MO 63102 dmvuylsteke@bclplaw.com

Renew Missouri

Andrew J Linhares 3115 S. Grand Ave Suite 600 St. Louis, MO 63118 Andrew@renewmo.org

Sierra Club Henry B Robertson

319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

Kansas City Power & Light Company

Roger W Steiner 1200 Main Street, 16th Floor P.O. Box 418679 Kansas City, MO 64105-9679 roger.steiner@kcpl.com

Missouri Division of Energy

Michael B Lanahan 301 W. High Street Jefferson City, MO 65102 mlanahan.DEenergycases@ded.mo.gov

Missouri Public Service Commission

Nicole Mers 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 nicole.mers@psc.mo.gov

Renew Missouri

Tim Opitz 409 Vandiver Dr Building 5, Suite 205 Columbia, MO 65202 tim@renewmo.org

Spire

Michael C Pendergast 423 Main Street St. Charles, MO 63301 mcp2015law@icloud.com **Spire** Rick E Zucker 14412 White Pine Ridge Ln Chesterfield, MO 63017-6301 zuckerlaw21@gmail.com Union Electric Company Paula Johnson 1901 Chouteau Avenue St Louis, MO 63103 AmerenMOService@ameren.com **Union Electric Company**

James B Lowery 111 South Ninth St., Suite 200 P.O. Box 918 Columbia, MO 65205-0918 lowery@smithlewis.com

Union Electric Company Wendy Tatro 1901 Chouteau Ave St. Louis, MO 63103-6149 AmerenMOService@ameren.com

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

orris I Woodul

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.