BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

)

)

)

In the Matter of the Application of Ameren Transmission Company of Illinois for a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity Under Section 393.170.1, RSMo Relating to Transmission Investments in North Central Missouri

File No. EA-2025-0087

ORDER DIRECTING NOTICE, SETTING INTERVENTION DEADLINE, AND SETTING TIME FOR RESPONSES

Issue Date: December 13, 2024 Effective Date: December 13, 2024 On December 11, 2024, Ameren Transmission Company of Illinois (ATXI) filed an application with the Commission seeking an order granting a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity (CCN) pursuant to Section 393.170.1, RSMo. The CCN would authorize ATXI to construct, install, own, operate, control, manage, and maintain slightly over 200 miles of 345 kV transmission lines across the Missouri counties of DeKalb, Daviess, Grundy, Sullivan, Adair, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Macon, and Randolph – referred to as the Denny-Zachary-Thomas Hill-Maywood Project, or DZTM Project. ATXI also requests permission and authority to transfer an undivided 49% interest in certain transmission facilities for the DZTM Project to the Missouri Joint Municipal Electric Utility Commission shortly before applicable portions of the DZTM Project are placed into service.

The application states that the DZTM Project constitutes the second phase (Phase 2) of the Northern Missouri Grid Transformation Program (the Program), which represents the Missouri jurisdictional portion of three of the 18 Multi-Value Projects (MVPs) approved by the Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc. (MISO) as part of its Long Range Transmission Planning (LRTP) Tranche 1 Portfolio incorporated into the 2021 MISO Transmission Expansion Plan (MTEP21). Phase 2 is designed to be operated in

conjunction with the entire LRTP Tranche 1 Portfolio, including the other two LRTP Tranche 1 projects in Missouri, the Fairport-Denny-Iowa/Missouri Border (FDIM) Project and the Maywood-Mississippi River Crossing (MMRX) Project, which constitute Phase 1 of the Program and are the subject of pending Commission File No. EA-2024-0302.

Subsequent to ATXI filing its application, on December 12, 2024, MISO filed an application to intervene and also a motion requesting permission to submit early-filed, direct testimony of its witness in support of AXTI's application.

The Commission will provide notice of the application to the general public, interested parties, and the parties to File No. EA-2024-0302. The Commission will also set a deadline for intervention requests and a deadline for responses to MISO's motion.

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. The Commission's Data Center shall provide a copy of this order to the County Commissions of DeKalb, Daviess, Grundy, Sullivan, Adair, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Macon, and Randolph Counties, Missouri.

2. The Commission's Data Center shall provide a copy of this order to each party to Commission File No. EA-2024-0302.

3. The Commission's Public Policy and Outreach Department shall make notice of this order available to the media serving DeKalb, Daviess, Grundy, Sullivan, Adair, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Macon, and Randolph Counties, Missouri.

4. Any person or entity wishing to intervene in this matter shall file an application to intervene no later than January 10, 2025. The application shall be filed in the Commission's Electronic Filing and Information System (EFIS) or with the Secretary of the Commission.

2

5. Responses to any applications to intervene shall be filed no later than January 20, 2025, and may be filed by persons or entities not yet granted intervention.

6. Responses to MISO's motion to submit direct testimony in support of the application shall be filed no later than January 20, 2025, and may be filed by persons or entities not yet granted intervention.

7. This order shall be effective when issued.



BY THE COMMISSION

may Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

Kenneth J. Seyer, Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2016.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri on this 13th day of December, 2024.

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 13th day of December 2024.



wy Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION December 13, 2024

File/Case No. EA-2025-0087

MO PSC Staff

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

Office of the Public Counsel (OPC)

Marc Poston 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@opc.mo.gov

Ameren Missouri

James Lowery 9020 S. Barry Road Columbia, MO 65203 lowery@jbllawllc.com

Ameren Transmission Company **Ameren Transmission** of Illinois Company of Illinois Eric Dearmont Hope Didier 11333 Craqwold Rd. 180 N. LaSalle Street Suite 2020

St. Louis. MO 63162 edearmont@ameren.com

Ameren Transmission Company Ameren Transmission of Illinois Jason Kumar

1901 Chouteau Avenue P.O. Box 66149. MC 1310 St. Louis, MO 63166-6149 jkumar@ameren.com

didier@whitt-sturtevant.com

Chicago, IL 60601

Company of Illinois

Albert Sturtevant 180 North LaSalle St., Ste. 2020 St. Paul, MN 55104 Chicago, IL 60601 sturtevant@whitt-sturtevant.com

Ameren Transmission **Company of Illinois** Carmen Fosco

180 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2020 Chicago, IL 60601 fosco@whitt-sturtevant.com

Clean Grid Alliance

Legal Department 570 Asbury St., Ste. 201

County of Adair, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 106 W. Washington St., 2nd Fl. Kirksville, MO 63501 scollop@adaircomo.com

County of Daviess, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 102 N Main Daviess County Courthouse Gallatin, MO 64640 dallas@sos.mo.gov

County of DeKalb, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 109 W Main St, DeKalb County Courthouse PO Box 248 Maysville, MO 64469 clerk@dekalbcountymo.gov

County of Grundy, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 700 Main, 2nd Floor **Grundy County Courthouse** Trenton, MO 64683 grundyclerk@grundycountymo.com knox@sos.mo.gov

County of Knox, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 107 N Fourth St. Knox County Courthouse Edina, MO 63537

County of Lewis, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 100 E. Lafayette, Lewis County Courthouse PO Box 67 Monticello, MO 63457 lewis@sos.mo.gov

County of Macon, Missouri County Commission Clerk 101 E. Washington Street, Suite 2, 100 S Main **Building 2** Macon, MO 63552 maconcc@cvalley.net

County of Marion, Missouri

County Commission Clerk Marion County Courthouse Palmyra, MO 63461

County of Randolph, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 372 Hwy. JJ, Ste. 2B Randolph County Courthouse Huntsville, MO 65259 mmeyers@marioncounty-mo.gov will.ellis@randolphcounty-mo.gov

County of Sullivan, Missouri County Commission Clerk 109 N Main St Sullivan County Courthouse Milan, MO 63556 eclerk@windstream.net

Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc. (MISO) Legal Department 701 City Center Drive Carmel, IN 46032

Missouri Electric Commission Legal Department 2200 Maguire Blvd. Columbia, MO 65201-7608

MO PSC Staff

Jeff Keevil 200 Madison Street Jefferson City, MO 65101 jeff.keevil@psc.mo.gov

Renew Missouri Legal Department 915 East Ash Columbia, MO 65201 Sierra Club Legal Department 2101 Webster St., Ste. 1300 Oakland, CA 94612

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Tancy Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.