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and [section] 393.130, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original rule
filed June 13, 1984, effective Nov. 15, 1984. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Nov.
7, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service
Commission, Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200
Madison Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360. To
be considered, comments must be received at the commission’s
offices on or before January 18, 2019, and should include a reference
to Commission Case No. AX-2018-0395. Comments may also be
submitted via a filing using the commission’s electronic filing and
information system at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public
hearing is scheduled for January 29, 2019 at 10:00 a.m., in Room
310 of the Governor Olffice Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City,
Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit
additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to com-
mission questions.

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline I-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 13—Service and Billing Practices for Residential
Customers of Electric, Gas, Sewer, and Water Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-13.070 Commission Complaint Procedures. The com-
mission is amending section (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment is to clarify the complaint process.

(4) If the staff is unable to resolve the informal complaint to the sat-
isfaction of the parties, the staff shall call the complainant and utility
and note such conversation into the commission’s electronic file and
information system and send a dated letter or email to that effect to
the complainant and to the utility. Staff shall also advise the customer
of his/her right to file a formal complaint with the commission under
4 CSR 240-2.070.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250(6) and 393.140(11), RSMo [2000]
2016. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective Dec. 30, 1975. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed Nov. 7, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-

ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service
Commission, Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200
Madison Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360. To
be considered, comments must be received at the commission’s
offices on or before January 18, 2019, and should include a reference
to Commission Case No. AX-2018-0395. Comments may also be
submitted via a filing using the commission’s electronic filing and
information system at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public
hearing is scheduled for January 29, 2019 at 10:00 a.m., in Room
310 of the Governor Olffice Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City,
Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit
additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to com-
mission questions.

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline I-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-20.070 Decommissioning Trust Funds. The commis-
sion is adding sections (4), (8), (13), and (14), amending section (7),
and renumbering as needed.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to correct a reference and
consolidate report requirements previously in Chapter 3.

(4) Every three (3) years, utilities with decommissioning trust
funds shall perform and file with the commission cost studies
detailing the utilities’ latest cost estimates for decommissioning
their nuclear generating unit(s) along with the funding levels nec-
essary to defray these decommissioning costs. These studies shall
be filed along with appropriate tariff(s) effectuating the change
in rates necessary to accomplish the funding required. In addi-
tion, the commission, at any time for just cause, may require a
utility to file an updated decommissioning cost study, funding
requirement and associated tariff(s).

[(4)](5) Each utility shall establish a tax-qualified externally man-
aged trust fund for the purpose of collecting funds to pay for decom-
missioning costs. The tax-qualified trust shall be established and
maintained in accordance with the provisions of the Internal Revenue
Code. If the utility has collected funds in excess of the Internal
Revenue Service’s (IRS) tax-qualified amount, a nontax-qualified
externally managed trust fund shall be established and maintained for
all these funds. These trust funds shall be administered pursuant to
the following requirements:

(A) Each utility shall submit a copy of the decommissioning trust
agreement and any other agreement entered into between the utility,
trustee, and investment manager(s) for approval by the commission.
The listing of trustee fees shall be contained in or attached to the
trust agreement itself. Any change in the trust agreement, trustee, or
investment manager(s) also shall be submitted to the commission for
approval;

(B) The commission shall have the authority to require each utility
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to change the trustee or investment manager(s) of a decommissioning
trust for good cause shown. The commission shall be informed of
any significant disputes between the utility, the trustee, or investment
manager(s);

(C) Each utility shall maintain separate tax qualified trusts for
each nuclear generating unit. All decommissioning trusts shall be
maintained to show the amounts contributed annually by Missouri
jurisdictional customers. Amounts to be contributed annually for
Missouri jurisdictional customers shall be computed based on the
jurisdictional allocator used in the company’s last general rate pro-
ceeding unless otherwise ordered by the commission;

(D) The decommissioning trust shall be funded through no less
than quarterly payments by the utility. The tax-qualified trust shall be
funded with the lesser of the utility’s decommissioning costs reflect-
ed in its cost of service or the maximum amount allowable by the
IRS. All funds in excess of the IRS’s ruling amount shall be placed
in a nonqualified trust;

(E) The trustee or investment manager(s) shall invest the tax-qual-
ified trust assets and nontax-qualified trust assets only in assets that
are prudent investments for assets held in trust and in a manner
designed to maximize the after-tax return on funds invested, consis-
tent with the conservation of the principal, subject to the limitations
specified as follows:

1. The trustee and investment manager(s) shall not invest any
portion of the tax-qualified or nontax-qualified trust’s funds in the
securities or assets of the following:

A. Any owner or operator of a nuclear power plant;

B. Any index fund, mutual fund, or pooled fund in which
more than fifteen percent (15%) of the assets are issued by owners
or operators of nuclear power plants;

C. Any affiliated company of the utility; or

D. The trustee or investment manager’s(s’) company or affil-
iated companies (This limitation does not include time or demand
deposits offered through the trustee or investment manager’s(s’)
affiliated banking operations.);

2. The nontax-qualified trust shall be subject to the prohibitions
against self-dealing applicable to the tax qualified trust as specified
in the Internal Revenue Code; and

3. A utility’s total book value of investments in equity securities
in all of its decommissioning trusts shall not exceed sixty-five percent
(65%) of the trust funds’ book value; and

(F) All income earned by a trust’s funds shall become a part of
that trust’s funds.

[(5)](6) The utility shall take every reasonable action to provide rea-
sonable assurance that adequate funds are available at the nuclear
generating unit’s termination of operation, so that decommissioning
can be carried out in a safe and timely manner and that lack of funds
does not result in delays that may cause undue health and safety haz-
ards.

[(6)](7) The utility shall maintain its nuclear generating unit(s) in a
manner calculated to minimize the utility’s total cost of maintenance
and decommissioning, consistent with the prudent operation of the
unit.

(8) At the time a tariff(s) is filed by a utility, which proposes any
change in rates due to changes in the estimate of decommission-
ing cost or the funding level of its nuclear decommissioning trust
fund(s), the utility shall file the following minimum information
in support of the need for changes in its tariff rates:

(A) An updated decommissioning cost study which estimates
the cost of decommissioning and the funding levels necessary to
defray these costs. This study shall contain the following informa-
tion:

1. Detailed quantities and unit prices in current dollars for
each system of the nuclear generating unit to be decommissioned;
2. A detailed breakdown between radioactive contaminated

systems and those systems which are not contaminated by
radioactivity;

3. Funding levels which are computed on a levelized basis
and which accrue future decommissioning costs over the remain-
ing licensed life of the nuclear generating unit. The utility shall
include the earnings rate and inflation rate assumed in the cost
study as compared to those assumed in any previous study;

4. A detailed description of any facilities that were added to
or deleted from the cost study filed in the previous case;

5. The beginning date for the expenditure of funds for
decommissioning assumed in the study shall be no later than the
expiration date of the unit’s current Nuclear Regulatory
Commission (NRC) license; and

6. The study shall consider and evaluate all reasonable prac-
tices or procedures which would reduce the ultimate cost of
decommissioning; and

(B) A summary description of the reasons (for example,
changes in regulation, technology, or economics) that brought on
the need to change the decommissioning cost estimate.

[(7)](9) Upon the filing of the appropriate tariff(s) as set /in 4 CSR
240-3. 180] forth in this rule, the commission shall establish a
schedule of proceedings which shall be limited in scope to the fol-
lowing issues:

(A) The extent of any change in the level or annual accrual of
funding necessary for the utility’s decommissioning trust fund; and

(B) The changes in rates which would reflect any change in the
funding level or accrual rate.

[(8)](10) For a fund intended to be tax qualified, after receipt of any
commission order modifying the annual decommissioning funding
requirements, the affected utility shall apply for an adjusted IRS rul-
ing in a timely manner, seeking deductibility of the new annual
decommissioning cost accruals consistent with the effective dates
given in the order. Pending final IRS approval, the utility shall be
authorized to continue funding at the level which existed prior to the
commission order provided that the utility will take all appropriate
action to preserve the tax deduction of the amounts subsequently
approved in the IRS ruling.

[(9)](11) Distributions may be made from a nuclear decommission-
ing trust fund only to satisfy the liabilities of the utility for nuclear
decommissioning costs relating to the nuclear generating unit for
which the decommissioning fund was established and to pay admin-
istrative costs, income taxes, and other incidental expenses of the
trust fund. The utility shall not use proceeds of the trust for the pur-
pose of filing for an updated tax ruling or to qualify the trust.

[(70)](12) Each utility shall file with the commission the detailed
plan required by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) for the
decommissioning of its nuclear generating unit when that plan is filed
with the NRC. Before any distribution of decommissioning trust
funds are made for the decommissioning of its nuclear generating
unit, the utility must notify and obtain commission approval of its
intent to make this distribution.

(13) The utility or the trustee shall file reports quarterly to the
commission. The reports shall contain the following information:

(A) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s)
based on a carrying cost (book) value;

(B) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s)
based on a market value;

(C) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based
on a carrying cost (book) value;

(D) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based
on a market value;

(E) A summary of the trust account including the utility’s con-
tributions, incomes, expenses, and a weighted average after-tax
return for the quarter;
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(F) A portfolio summary per asset class by amount and per-
centage;

(G) A detailed report of daily transactions; and

(H) Any other information the commission orders the utility or
trustee to provide.

(14) The utility or the trustee shall file reports annually to the
commission that contain the following information:

(A) An asset maturity schedule;

(B) A summary of the trust’s portfolio of investments including
a listing of each security detailing the carrying cost, current mar-
ket value, maturity date, estimated annual income, and the yield
to maturity;

(C) A copy of all correspondence including income tax returns
and tax exempt rulings concerning the trust with the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) or any state revenue agency; and

(D) Any other information the commission orders the utility or
trust to provide.

[(77)](15) The utility shall conduct the decommissioning of its
nuclear generating unit in accordance with NRC requirements and
must not knowingly allow any procedure that would unreasonably
endanger human life or the environment.

[(712)](16) Upon termination of the trust, the utility shall file with the
commission the appropriate tariff(s) to reflect the termination of pay-
ments into the decommissioning trust fund, as well as refund or cred-
it any over collection of these funds.

[(73)](17) Upon proper application and after due notice and hearing,
the commission may waive any provision of this rule for good cause
shown.

[(14)](18) The commission may adopt further amendments as it
deems necessary for the sound management of the trust fund(s), con-
sistent with the purpose of this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.292, RSMo [2000] 2016.
Original rule filed Nov. 27, 1989, effective March 26, 1990.
Amended: Filed May 4, 1993, effective Dec. 9, 1993. Amended:
Filed Aug. 16, 2002, effective April 30, 2003. Amended: Filed Nov.
7, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars (3500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service
Commission, Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200
Madison Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360. To be
considered, comments must be received at the commission’s offices
on or before January 17, 2019, and should include a reference to
Commission Case No. EX-2018-0389. Comments may also be sub-
mitted via a filing using the commission’s electronic filing and infor-
mation system at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing
is scheduled for January 28, 2019 at 10:00 a.m., in Room 310 of the
Governor Office Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri.
Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional
comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this pro-
posed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission ques-
tions.

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri

Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline I-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-20.105 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Rate
Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule updates language and streamlines provisions
formerly in Chapter 3.

(1) Every electrical corporation, as defined in section 386.020,
RSMo, engaged in the manufacture, generating, furnishing or trans-
mission of electricity for light, heat, or power within Missouri is
directed to have on file with this commission a schedule of all rates,
rentals, and charges of whatever nature made by the electrical corpo-
ration for each kind of service it renders which are in force, together
with proper supplements covering all changes in rate schedules
authorized by this commission, if any.

(2) Every electrical corporation is directed to publish all of its sched-
ules of rates with this commission as follows:

(A) To keep all of its schedules of rates established and filed with
this commission in its main or principal operating office and in each
division office which is now or may be established;

(B) To keep at each of its branch business offices where contracts
for service are made or payment for customer’s service is received,
copies of all of its established schedules of rates which apply within
the area served; and

(C) That all schedules of rates, at all times during business hours,
shall be readily accessible to the public and shall be immediately pro-
duced for inspection upon the demand of any person. The production
for inspection of schedules of rates shall be accompanied by such
assistance on the part of the proper representative of the electrical
corporation having a schedule to determine accurately the rate or
charge applicable to any particular kind of electrical service.

(3) All schedules of rates, rentals, and charges, or rules relating and
applying to service rendered in connection with the supplying of
electrical energy for light, heat, and power or for any service ren-
dered in connection with electrical energy supply, lawfully on file
with the commission will be considered as continuing in force and
may be amended in the manner provided in this rule.

(4) All schedules of rates must conform to this rule or they will be
subject to rejection by the commission when tendered for filing. The
commission reserves the right to direct the reprinting of any schedule
at any time.

(5) In classifying rates for electrical service the following uniform
system of classification will be followed as closely as practical:

(A) All lighting rates for residences, business places, theaters,
public buildings, and the like will be placed under the head of com-
mercial lighting;

(B) All power rates, including rates for battery charging, will be
placed under the head of commercial power; and

(C) All rates for street lighting, including municipal street lighting
and the free lighting of public buildings as is done in connection with
street lighting will be placed under the head of street lighting.

(6) All schedules of rates filed with the commission shall bear a
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number with the following prefix: PSC Mo. Rate schedules shall be
numbered in consecutive serial order commencing with a No. 1 for
each electrical corporation (for example, the first schedule PSC Mo.,
No. 1). The prefixes and numbers shall be printed on schedules as
required by section (9) of this rule. For convenience the prefix is
referred to as PSC.

(7) All sheets except the title page must show in the marginal space
at the top of page or sheet, the name of the electrical corporation
issuing the PSC No., the number of the schedule and the number of
the page or sheet. At the bottom of the sheet in the marginal space
must be shown, the date of issue and effective date, and the name,
title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued.

(8) The title page or sheet, if loose leaf, of every schedule of rates
shall show—

(A) The full corporate name of the issuing electrical corporation;

(B) The PSC number of the schedule in bold type in the center of
the marginal space at top of the page and immediately under it in
small type the PSC number(s) canceled;

(C) A brief description of the service areas from and to or within
which the schedule applies;

(D) When a schedule rate is governed by a general publication, the
reference to the general publication by its PSC number must be
given. The following phraseology, as the case may be, will be used:
“Governed except as otherwise provided herein by schedule PSC
Mo. No., which schedule, revised and added pages or sheets or
superseding issues thereof is hereby made a part of this schedule.”
The rate publication referred to must be on file with the commission
and be kept at every place where the schedule making reference is to
be kept for public inspection;

(E) The date of issue and the date effective. If the schedule or any
portion is made to expire on a specified date, the following clause
must be used: “expires, unless sooner changed, canceled, or extend-
ed”;

(F) On every schedule, supplement or revised or added sheet
issued on less than thirty (30) days’ notice, by permission of the com-
mission, the following notation must be shown: “Issued on
days’ notice to the public and the commission under special permis-
sion of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, No.  of date
__ .7 Ifissued in compliance with an order of the commission, the
following notation must be shown: “Issued on __ days’ notice to
the public and the commission under order of the Public Service
Commission of Missouri, of date __ , in Case No. __ ,” when
issued by authority of any section of this rule, the notice must be that
required by the particular section granting permission;

(G) On the upper left-hand corner of a schedule of fewer than
three (3) pages and on schedules issued in loose-leaf form, the
words, “No supplement to this tariff will be issued except for the
purpose of canceling this tariff.” A schedule, not in loose-leaf form,
of three (3) or more pages shall include the words, “Only one sup-
plement to this schedule will be in effect at any one time”; and

(H) On the marginal space at the bottom of page will be given the
name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued,
the date of issue, and the effective date.

(9) The schedule shall contain in the order named—

(A) Table of Contents. Provide full and complete statement in
alphabetical order of the exact location where information under the
general headings or subjects will be found, specifying the page of
item numbers. If the schedule contains so small a volume of matter
that its title page or interior arrangement plainly may disclose its con-
tents, the table of contents may be omitted;

(B) Description of Territory. A more lengthy description of the ter-
ritory to be served than can be briefly set forth on the title page will
often be necessary; any items in this category which bear any rela-
tion to the various rates should be explained under this heading;

(C) Classification of Service. Under this heading the kind of ser-
vice separately grouped for commercial lighting, commercial power,

and street lighting will be set forth in the order named together with
a detailed statement of the rate(s) in connection with same. A definite
separation must be made between prompt payment discount and
quantity discount and stating the manner in which they are computed
clearly. If guarantees of any nature are required or a minimum charge
made, the principles upon which they are based must be stated. In
this case give the company’s charges or deposits for meters. If penal-
ties for delayed payments are exacted, the same must be stated. State
whether current is estimated or metered and if so, how. State the
company’s practice in regard to lamp renewals. If a charge is made
to the consumer for installing and connecting the service wires, this
should be stated. State the character of the service, whether twenty-
four (24)-hour or limited until midnight, whether the service is lim-
ited to certain hours of the day, on-peak, off-peak, optional service,
auxiliary service, breakdown service, and the like. The kind of cur-
rent, such as alternating or direct, together with the voltage, phase
and frequency must be given in all cases;

(D) Rules. Under this heading will be set forth all rules which
apply to contracts for furnishing electrical energy for light, heat, and
power, and all of the company’s rules in any way relating to service,
together with any particular regulations relating to a special contract
for service rendered which have not already been stated in connec-
tion with the description of rates under section (5) of this rule; and

(E) Definition and Explanation of Reference Marks. Under this
heading, as its name implies, shall be given the necessary description
of any reference marks employed in connection with the rate tables,
that is, explain the meaning of watt, kilowatt hour, horsepower, and
the like. If symbols or abbreviations are used, explain their mean-
ings, such as kilowatt hour for K.W.H.; ampere for amp. When rat-
ings are used based on capacity installation or a percentage of capac-
ity installation, a table of equivalents for estimating these ratings
must be given. For example, one (1) sixteen (16)-candle power car-
bon filament lamp equals about fifty-five (55) watts. If terms maxi-
mum demand, load factor, rated capacity, peak, and the like, are used
in the schedule, these should be explained under this caption. All
definitions of terms and explanation of terms or symbols, abbrevia-
tions or reference marks should be arranged in logical sequence and
in a manner that they will be readily understood.

(10) If a schedule or supplement to a schedule is issued which con-
flicts with a part of another schedule or supplement of a schedule
which is in force at the time and which is not canceled in full, it
specifically shall state the portion of the other schedule which is can-
celed and the other schedule, at the same time, shall be correspond-
ingly amended, effective on the same date, in the regular way; and
the supplement to the amended schedule shall be filed at the same
time and in connection with the schedule which contains the new
rates, rentals, or charges.

(11) If a schedule is canceled with the purpose of canceling entirely
the rates, rentals, or charges named in the schedule or when through
error or omission, a later issue failed to cancel the previous issue and
a schedule is canceled for the purpose of perfecting the record, the
cancellation notice must not be given a new PSC number, but must
be issued as a supplement to the schedule which it cancels, even
though the schedule at the time may have a supplement in effect.

(12) If a schedule or a part of a schedule is canceled, the cancellation
notice shall make specific notice to the PSC number of the schedule
in which the rates, rentals, or charges will be found; or if no rates,
rentals, or charges are in effect, it shall state so. Cancellation of a
schedule also cancels a supplement to the schedule in effect, if any.
If a schedule is canceled by a similar schedule to take its place, the
cancellation notice must not be given by supplement, but by notice
printed in a new schedule.

(13) A change in a schedule shall be known as an amendment and
excepting amendments to schedules issued in loose-leaf form, shall be
printed in a supplement to the schedule which it amends, specifying
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the schedule by its PSC number. The supplement shall be reissued
each time an amendment is made and shall always contain all the
amendments to the schedule that are in force. Supplements to sched-
ules shall be numbered consecutively as supplements to the schedules
and shall not be given new or separate PSC numbers. An amendment
must always be printed in the supplement in its entirety as amended.

(14) A schedule which contains reissued items brought forward from
a previous issue which has not been in effect thirty (30) days or a
supplement which brings forward reissued items without change
from a former supplement or schedule, must bear the notation

“Effective , except as noted in individual items.”
“Example: Issued , 20 . effective
, 20 , except as noted in individual items.”

Reissued items brought forward without change must show in a con-
spicuous form and convenient manner the following: “Reissue” in
black face type; the effective or the date upon which it becomes
effective; in PSC Mo. No. “or in supplement No.

to PSC Mo. No. .”  When the reissued item
became effective in a former supplement to the same schedule, the
PSC number may be omitted, but the supplement number must be
given.

(15) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, there shall be at no
time more than one (1) supplement in effect to any schedule and the
effective supplement to a schedule of twenty (20) or more pages may
not contain more than twenty percent (20%) of the number of pages
or sheets in the schedule, including the title page, a supplement to a
schedule of fewer than twenty (20) pages or ten (10) sheets may not
contain more than four (4) pages or two (2) sheets, including the title

page.

(16) All changes in and additions to schedules issued in loose-leaf
form must be made by reprinting both pages of the leaf or sheet upon
which the change is made. When no change or addition is made on
one (1) of the pages reprinted, it must bear the notation, “No change
in this page.” Those pages or sheets shall not be given supplement
numbers, but must be designated “First revised page or sheet,”
“Second revised page or sheet,” and the like and must show the
name of the issuing corporation and the PSC number of the schedule,
the issued and effective dates and the name, title and address of the
officer by whom issued.

(17) If a new schedule is filed on statutory notice canceling another
schedule and after that filing and prior to the effective date of the
new schedule, a supplement to the schedule to be so canceled should
be lawfully issued, the rates, rentals, or charges in that supplement
could not continue in effect for the thirty (30) days required by law
because the cancellation of the schedule also cancels the supplement
to it. In this case the supplement containing changes not included in
the schedule that is to become effective may be issued as a supple-
ment both to the schedule in effect and to the schedule on file that
will effect a cancellation and be given both PSC numbers. In other
words, such an issue must be a supplement of each of the schedules
and copies must be filed accordingly. A supplement issued under this
rule containing reissued items shall note in connection with each
item, in addition to the effective date required by this rule, that the
reissued items expire on the date on which the new schedule will
apply in lieu thereof; and the reissued items must not be brought for-
ward in a subsequent supplement to the new schedule. This supple-
ment may not contain any changes except those lawfully made by
supplement to the schedule which is to be canceled by the schedule
that has been filed and that is also supplemented; and no other kind
of a supplement to a schedule that is on file and not yet effective may
be made effective within thirty (30) days from the effective date of
the schedule without special permission of the commission.

(18) The provisions of section (16) of this rule as to the number of
supplements to a schedule that may be in effect at any time and the

volume of supplemental matter they may contain need not be
observed in connection with a supplement issued under sections
(14)-(18) of this rule.

(19) In case of change of ownership and operation of any electrical
corporation’s property or of the electrical corporation in possession
and operating the property, the electrical corporation taking over the
operation of the properties, if the existing rates would otherwise
remain legally effective, shall issue immediately and file with the
commission, with PSC number, an adoption notice substantially as
follows:

(A) “The (name of the electrical corporation) hereby adopts, rati-
fies, and makes its own, in every respect as if the same had been
originally filed by it, all schedules, rules, notices, concurrences,
schedule agreements, divisions, authorities, or other instruments
whatsoever, filed with the PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION, State
of Missouri, by the (name of the electrical corporation), prior to
(date), the beginning of its possession. By this notice it also adopts
and ratifies all supplements or amendments to any of the above
schedules, etc., which (name of the electrical corporation) has
heretofore filed with said commission. This notice may be made
effective as of the date it is filed with the commission.”;

(B) In the event that the successor corporation does not intend to
adopt some of those schedules, rates, rules, notices, concurrences,
authorities, or other instruments, the notice shall specify those which
are not adopted, and the successor corporation as to such exceptions
shall give the cancellation or withdrawal notice provided in this rule;

(C) The adoption notice shall stand and be effective as to all of the
local issues of the predecessor electrical corporation; and

(D) In case of a receivership, the receiver shall be deemed as con-
tinuing in force the schedules and rules of the corporation whose
property s/he has in charge.

(20) Schedules and schedule supplements shall be filed with the com-
mission by the proper officer of the electrical corporation designated
to perform that duty; and supplements must be on file with the com-
mission or accompany the schedule or supplement.

(21) All changes in rates, charges, or rentals or in rules that affect
the rates, charges, or rentals shall be filed with the commission at
least thirty (30) days before the date upon which they are to become
effective. The title page of every rate schedule or supplement and the
reissue on any page or sheet must show a full thirty (30) days’ notice
except as otherwise provided in this rule. The proposed change shall
be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred
(100) words or less, of the effect of the change on the company’s cus-
tomers. A copy of any proposed change and summary shall also be
served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection
and reproduction during regular office hours at the general business
office of the utility.

(22) Each electrical corporation has the duty of filing with the com-
mission all its schedules of rates and supplements or any rule relative
to them which may be announced by the commission, under penalty
for failure to do so. The commission will give consistent assistance
as it can in this respect, but the fact that the receipt of a rate schedule
or a supplement to a rate schedule is acknowledged by the commis-
sion, or the fact that a rate schedule or supplement to a rate schedule
is in the files of the commission, will not serve or operate to excuse
the electrical corporation or municipality from its responsibility or
liability for any violation of the law or of any ruling lawfully made
which may have occurred in connection thereunder with the con-
struction of filing of a rate schedule or supplement.

(23) Thirty (30) days’ notice to the commission is required as to
every publication relating to electrical rates or service except where
publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by per-
mission, regulation, or requirement of the commission.
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(24) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will
be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free
from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days
required by law before the date upon which the schedule or supple-
ment is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or
for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by
the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a
schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission
is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and
a full statutory notice must be given of any reissue. No consideration
will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days’
notice required. In these cases the schedule will be returned to the
sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made
which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon
which that schedule or supplement was received and the date of the
attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on
short notice under special permission of the commission, literal com-
pliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, regula-
tion, or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

(25) When a schedule is rejected by the commission as unlawful, the
records will so show and that schedule should not in the future be
referred to as canceled, amended, or otherwise except to note on the
publication issued in lieu of that rejected schedule, “In lieu of

, rejected by the commission;” nor shall the number
which it bears be used again.

(26) Rates, charges, or rentals or regulations relating to them, pre-
scribed by the commission in its decisions and orders, after hearings
upon formal complaints, shall in every instance be promulgated by
the electrical corporation against which those orders are entered, in
duly published and filed rate schedules, supplements, or revised
pages or sheets of schedules, and notice shall be sent to the commis-
sion that its order in Case No. has been complied with
in item , page , of schedule PSC Mo. No.

; or supplement to schedule PSC Mo. No. ;
or reissued page or sheet No. to schedule PSC Mo. No.

(27) Schedules and supplements shall be filed in numerical order of
PSC numbers. If in any instance this procedure is not observed as
required by these rules, a memorandum must accompany the sched-
ule so filed with the commission explaining omission of missing
number(s).

(28) Electrical corporations are directed, in filing schedules, to trans-
mit one (1) copy of each rate schedule, supplement, or other charges
or regulations for the use of the commission. Schedules sent for fil-
ing must be addressed to Public Service Commission, PO Box 360,
Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(29) All schedules filed with the commission shall be accompanied
by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which
shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2016. Original
rule filed Nov. 7, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission,

Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200 Madison
Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received at the commission’s offices on or
before January 17, 2019, and should include a reference to
Commission Case No. EX-2018-0389. Comments may also be sub-
mitted via a filing using the commission’s electronic filing and infor-
mation system at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing
is scheduled for January 28, 2019 at 10:00 a.m., in Room 310 of the
Governor Office Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri.
Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional
comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this pro-
posed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions.

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline I-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title S—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 20—Division of Learning Services
Chapter 100—Office of Quality Schools

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 20-100.120 Advanced Placement and International
Baccalaureate Fee Payment Programs. This rule authorized the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to receive a
grant award through the Federal Advanced Placement Fee Payment
Program and to approve requests for the purpose of defraying the
cost of Advanced Placement (AP) exam fees and International
Baccalaureate (IB) exam fees for low-income students. This rule
established the administrative procedures to approve requests for pay-
ments to pay a portion of the costs of AP exam fees and IB exam fees
for students enrolled in these programs.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded due to the reauthorization of
Public Law 114-95, the Federal Advanced Placement Fee Payment
Program grant has ended. Missouri public schools are now able to
utilize Title I and/or Title 1V funds for this expense.

AUTHORITY: section 161.092, RSMo Supp. 2014, and section
178.430, RSMo 2000. This rule previously filed as 5 CSR 50-
200.050. Emergency rule filed June 17, 1998, effective June 28,
1998, terminated July 24, 1998. Original rule filed June 17, 1998,
effective Dec. 30, 1998. Moved to 5 CSR 20-100.120, effective Aug.
16, 2011. Amended: Filed Feb. 29, 2016, effective Oct. 30, 2016.
Rescinded: Filed Nov. 5, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, ATTN: Denise
Farinella, Director of Gifted Education, Office of Quality Schools,
PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480 or email
Denise.Farinella@dese.mo.gov. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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