BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

)

)

In the Matter of the Request of The Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty for Authority to File Tariffs Increasing Rates for Electric Service Provided to Customers In its Missouri Service Area

File No. ER-2024-0261 Tracking No. JE-2025-0127

ORDER GIVING NOTICE AND SETTING A DEADLINE TO INTERVENE

Issue Date: February 27, 2025

Effective Date: February 27, 2025

On February 26, 2025, The Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty filed tariff sheets designed to increase its gross annual electric revenues by a total of approximately \$152 million, with the net increase being approximately \$92 million as approximately \$60 million is already being recovered on customer bills through Liberty's Fuel Adjustment Clause and its Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery.

This notice follows after Liberty determined there was an error in the tariff sheets it filed on November 6, 2024, to which the Commission previously gave notice and set an intervention period. Due to the change in the requested gross increase to annual electric revenues, the Commission is re-issuing notice and re-opening the time for intervention. Parties already granted intervention need not reapply for intervention.¹

¹ Parties already granted intervention include: Empire District Retired Members & Spouses Association, LLC; IBEW Local Union 1474; Influent Energy; Midwest Energy Consumers Group; and Renew Missouri.

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. The Commission's Data Center shall provide a copy of this order to the county commission of each county within the service area of The Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty.

2. The Commission's Public Policy and Outreach Department shall make this order available to the members of the General Assembly representing the service area of The Empire District Electric Company d/b/a Liberty and to the news media as appropriate.

3. Applications to intervene shall be filed no later than March 20, 2025, with the Secretary of the Missouri Public Service Commission or in the Commission's Electronic Filing and Information System.

4. This order shall be effective when issued.



BY THE COMMISSION

Tancy Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

Charles Hatcher, Senior Regulatory Law Judge, by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2016.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 27th day of February, 2025.

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 27th day of February 2025.



Wy Dippell

Nancy Dippell Secretary

MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION February 27, 2025

File/Case No. ER-2024-0261

MO PSC Staff

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov Jefferson City, MO 65102

Office of the Public Counsel (OPC) Marc Poston 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 opcservice@opc.mo.gov

County of Barry, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 700 Main, Suite 2 Barry County Courthouse Cassville, MO 65625 bccommission@centurytel.net

County of Barton, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 1004 Gulf, Room 104 **Barton County Courthouse** Lamar, MO 64759 countyclerk@countyofbarton.com Stockton, MO 65785

County of Cedar, Missouri **County Commission Clerk**

113 South St., Cedar County Courthouse P.O. Box 665 clerk@cedarcountymo.gov

County of Christian, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 100 W Church, Rm. 206 **Christian County Courthouse** Ozark, MO 65721 kaybrown@christiancountymo.gov

County of Dade, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 300 W Water St. Dade County Courthouse Greenfield, MO 65661 dade@sos.mo.gov

County of Dallas, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 102 S Cedar, Dallas County Admin. Blda. PO Box 436 Buffalo, MO 65622 dallas@sos.mo.gov

County of Greene, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 940 Boonville, Rm. 113 Greene County Courthouse Sprinafield, MO 65802 sschoeller@greenecountymo.gov

County of Hickory, Missouri

County Commission Clerk Hickory County Courthouse, Spring and Dallas P.O. Box 3 Hermitage, MO 65668 countyclerk@hickorycomo.com

County of Jasper, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 302 S Main St., Rm 102 Jasper County Courthouse Carthage, MO 64836 jbartosh@jaspercountymo.gov

County of Lawrence, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 1 E Courthouse Sq., Ste. 101 Lawrence County Courthouse Mt. Vernon, MO 65712 lawrence@sos.mo.gov

County of McDonald, Missouri County of Newton, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 602 Main St., McDonald Co. Courthouse PO Box 665 Pineville, MO 64856 mcdonald@sos.mo.gov

County Commission Clerk 101 S. Wood St. Newton County Courthouse P.O. Box 488 Neosho, MO 64850 newton@sos.mo.gov

County of Polk, Missouri

County Commission Clerk 102 E Broadway, Rm 11 Polk County Courthouse Bolivar, MO 65613 clerk@polkcountymo.gov

County of St. Clair, Missouri County Commission Clerk 655 Second St., St. Clair County Courthouse P.O. Box 525 Osceola, MO 64776 stclair@sos.mo.gov

County of Stone, Missouri

County Commission Clerk PO Box 45 Stone County Courthouse Galena, MO 65656 scocelmore@gmail.com

Empire District Retired

Jefferson City, MO 65101

terry@healylawoffices.com

Members & Spouses

Association, LLC

Terry Jarrett

306 Monroe St.

Influent Energy

1100 Main St. 4th Fl

Kansas City, MO 64105

Andrew Zellers

County of Taney, Missouri

IBEW Local Union 1474

Overland Park, KS 66202

6803 West 64th Street

mea@blake-uhlig.com

Michael Amash

Suite 300

County Commission Clerk PO Box 156 Forsyth, MO 65653 donna.neeley@co.taney.mo.us

Empire District Retired Members & Spouses Association, LLC **Douglas Healy**

3010 E. Battlefield, Suite A Springfield, MO 65804 doug@healylawoffices.com

IBEW Local Union 1474

Garrison Howell 6803 West 64th Street Suite 300 Overland Park, KS 66202 grh@blake-uhlig.com

Liberty (Empire)

Diana Carter 428 E. Capitol Avenue, Suite 303 400 West Market Street, Suite Jefferson City, MO 65101 diana.carter@libertyutilities.com Louisville, KY 40202

Liberty (Empire) W. Duncan Crosby 2700

Liberty (Empire) Monica Braun 300 West Vine Street, Suite 2100 Lexington, KY 40507 andy.zellers@influentenergy.com monica.braun@skofirm.com

> Liberty (Empire) Jermaine Grubbs 601 S. Joplin Ave. Joplin, MO 64801 jermaine.grubbs@libertyutilities.com

Liberty (Empire)

Lindsey Ingram Lexington, KY 40507 l.ingram@skofirm.com Liberty (Empire)

Matthew Parsons 300 West Vine Street, Suite 2100 300 West Vine Street, Suite 2100 Tim Opitz Lexington, KY 40507 matt.parsons@skofirm.com

duncan.crosby@skofirm.com

Midwest Energy Consumers Group

308 E. High Street, Suite B101 Jefferson City, MO 65101 tim.opitz@opitzlawfirm.com

MO PSC Staff

Eric Vandergriff 200 Madison Street Jefferson City, MO 65101 eric.vandergriff@psc.mo.gov

Renew Missouri

Nicole Mers 915 Ash Street Columbia, MO 65201 nicole@renewmo.org Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Nancy Dippell Nancy Dippell Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.