
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

When working with a utility 
regulated by the Missouri Public 
Service Commission, it is important 
the customer provide the 
following information:
• Name and proof of identification

• S������ ��� ������� �������

• C������ �����������

In order to establish or maintain 
service the customer should:

• P�� � ������� �� ��������

• P�� ���� ���� �� ����

• F����� ������� �� ������� 
   ������������

• P������ ��� ������� ������ �� 
  ����� ���������

• P�� � ���� ���������� � �������� 
  ����� ������

While not required, you may want 
to contact the utility company 
several weeks before you move.

Missouri Public Service Commission
Governor O�ce Building

200 Madison Street
P.O. Box 360

Je�erson City, Missouri 65102
Toll-Free Hotline: 1-800-392-4211

www.psc.mo.gov
www.beenergye�cient.org

E-mail: pscinfo@psc.mo.gov

The following brochure from the Missouri
Public Service Commission is 
designed to provide residential customers 
with information regarding their rights 
under Chapter 13 of the Commission’s 
rules and regulations. 
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AS A RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMER OF A 
UTILITY REGULATED BY THE MISSOURI 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION YOU 
HAVE CERTAIN RIGHTS.  FOR EXAMPLE:
• If utility service is denied, the company 
must provide an explanation to you verbally 
and/or in writing for the refusal and advise 
you as to what steps are necessary to resolve 
the denial and to receive service.     
• You have the right to speak to qualified 
utility personnel during normal business 
hours.
• You have the right to question and dispute 
all or part of a charge.  The utility 
company is then required to investigate 
promptly and thoroughly; and attempt to 
resolve the dispute in a manner satisfactory 
to both parties.
• You have the right to file an 
informal/formal complaint against the 
utility company with the Public Service 
Commission.

• A utility shall postpone service 
disconnection for a time not in excess 
of 21 days if the service disconnection 
will aggravate an existing medical 
emergency of the customer, a member 
of his/her family or other permanent 
resident of the premises where service 
is rendered.  Any person who alleges a 
medical emergency shall, if requested,  
provide the utility company with 
reasonable evidence of the necessity.

• At least 24 hours before a service 
disconnection, a utility company shall 
make reasonable efforts to contact the 
customer to advise the customer of the 
proposed service disconnection and 
what steps must be taken to avoid it.

The Missouri Public Service Commission’s 

Consumer Services Unit handles thousands

of calls a year and saves Missouri customers 

involved in utility-related problems hundreds 

of thousands of dollars. 

Specialists can help you with:
• Improper termination of utility service
• Incorrect or unauthorized charges on the 
  utility bill
• Problems with reading the utility meter

IMPORTANT 
WEATHER RELATED INFORMATION:

• Under the Missouri Public Service 
Commission’s Cold Weather Rule, utilities 
cannot disconnect heat related utility service
to customers when the National Weather 
Service predicts, for the following 24 hour
period, that the temperature will drop below 
32 Degrees Fahrenheit.  This applies when 
the Cold Weather Rule is in effect from 
November 1 to March 31.

• Under the state Hot Weather Law, cooling
related service cannot be disconnected when
the National Weather Service predicts, for
the following 24 hour period, that the
temperature will rise above 95 Degrees 
Fahrenheit or that the heat index will rise 
above 105 Degrees Fahrenheit.  The Hot
Weather Law is in effect from June 1 to
September 30.

• Customer deposits for utility service
• Poor service quality
• High bill complaints
• Problems with delayed service connection
• Problems with back billing


