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November 8, 2021 
 
 
 
Mr. Ryan Silvey 
Public Service Commission 
200 Madison Street 
PO Box 360 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
 
Dear Ryan: 
 
This office has received your Final Order of Rulemaking for the following regulations:  
 

• 20 CSR 4240-120.140 New Manufactured Home Manufacturer’s Inspection Fee  
• 20 CSR 4240-123.030 Seals  
• 20 CSR 4240-123.040 Approval of Manufacturing Programs  
• 20 CSR 4240-125.040 Manufactured Home Installer License  
• 20 CSR 4240-125.050 Limited Use Installer License  

 
Executive Order 17-03 requires this office’s approval before state agencies release proposed 
regulations for notice and comment, amend existing regulations, rescind regulations, or adopt new 
regulations. After our review, we approve the submission to the Joint Committee on 
Administrative Rules and the Secretary of State.  
 

Sincerely, 
  
 
 
 
Andrew T. Bailey 
General Counsel 
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Title 20 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

Division 4240 – Public Service Commission 
Chapter 125 – Manufactured Home Installers 

 

ORDER OF RULEMAKING 

 
 
By the authority vested in the Public Service Commission under section 700.692, 
RSMo 2016, the commission withdraws a proposed amendment as follows: 
 

20 CSR 4240-125.040 Manufactured Home Installers License is withdrawn 
 
A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed amendment 
was published in the Missouri Register on September 1, 2021 (46 MoReg 1630). 
This proposed amendment is withdrawn. 
 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: The public comment period ended October 1, 2021, 
and the commission held a public hearing on the proposed amendment on October 
4, 2021. The commission received a timely written comment from the Manager of 
the Manufactured Housing and Modular Units of the Missouri Public Service 
Commission (Manager). Justin Smith and Karen Bretz, representing the Manager, 
appeared at the hearing and offered comments. In addition, Thomas Hagar and 
Jamie Smith, representing the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association, 
appeared at the hearing and offered comments. 
 
  
COMMENT #1: The Manager’s written comment explains that the current rule 
requires an applicant for a license as a manufactured home installer to pay a fee 
of $150. The proposed amendment will increase that fee to $225. The Manager 
anticipates this fee increase will generate an additional $5,400 per year to help 
fund the Manufactured Housing Program (Program). The Manager further 
explained that the Program is primarily funded through the imposition of fees, 
which by law, must be sufficient to cover all costs incurred in the administration of 
the Program. The fees established in this rule have not been increased in nearly 
twenty years, and in recent years annual fee collections have not been sufficient 
to cover the costs of the Program. The Program has operated at a deficit for fiscal 
years 2015 through 2020. As a result, the Manager has had to draw down the 
balance of the Manufactured Housing Fund, which stands at $228,204 as of June 
30, 2021.     
 
RESPONSE: The commission will make no change in response to this comment.  
 
COMMENT #2: Jamie Smith, current president of the Missouri Manufactured 
Housing Association, and Thomas Hagar, also associated with the Missouri 
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Manufactured Housing Association, opposed the increase in fees. Mr. Hagar 
questioned the need for a fee increase at this time. He believes that the industry 
is recovering from a period of decreased sales and that as sales increase in the 
coming years, the Manager will collect more fee dollars, even without an increase 
in the fee rate. He point out that in the most recent fiscal year, 2021, the Program 
was able to operate without a deficit and he expects that trend to continue into the 
future. Mr. Smith, who is also general manager of Clayton Homes of Lebanon, a 
manufactured housing dealership, expressed particular concern about the 
proposal to increase the fees charged to manufactured home installers. (That 
proposed fee increase for installers is pending in the proposed amendment of 
commission rule 20 CSR 4240-125.040.) He explained that there is a shortage of 
licensed installers and he opposes a fee increase that might make it more difficult 
to find people willing to undergo the training and financial cost of becoming a 
licensed installer.     
 
RESPONSE:  Following the public comment hearing, the Manager filed a 
recommendation advising the commission to withdraw the proposed amendment, 
thereby leaving the installers fee at $150. The commission agrees with the 
Manager that given the described shortage of licensed installers, it would be 
inappropriate to raise this fee at this time. This proposed amendment will be 
withdrawn. 
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